We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of The Kings Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Head
Ranked #8 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We booked for 4 nights as we wanted to explore the area. We only booked last minute & some of the other "top hotels" in the area were fully booked, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The owners/ staff were very friendly, the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in in a hotel and the rooms were well decorated and very clean. The food also surpassed expectations and the service was friendly and efficient. I would definitely recommend staying here, t's a short walk into Rye centre but benefits from a good location with parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    45
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
62
176
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We could not fault the Kings Head. We stayed in cottage 4, and it was quiet, comfortable, clean. Love the decor. We also ate in the restaurant and the meal was sooo yum! I had pork belly, my boyfriend had lamb shank. Both were delicious and we could have drank the gravy!

Staff were polite and attentive.

It was great for us as a base for camber sands, a short drive away, and we had a nice wander around Rye the following day. We hope kings head continues to do very well, and would definitely like to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Char R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrik-Ido-Ambacht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

we stayed at the Kings Head Inn for 1 night. We were recieved very friendly and got a large room (room 2).
The room was very luxurious, the bed was the best bed we ever slept in in an Inn. We also had our diner at the Kings Head and the chef/owner cooked the biggest home made burger we ever had and it was delicious. It was simply to much to eat it completely. The staff was very friendly.
Fam. Jaquet, Holland

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Well what can I say......what a beautiful place to stay for whatever occasion,we stayed here when it was the Top O' The Hill and WOW what a change for the better I must say.We stayed in the White Room for our 23rd wedding anniversary on July 11th....the room was absolutely beautifully decorated.lovely en-suite shower room too......cant fault it,would 100% recommend it.

The food was of an excellent standard and plenty of choice.The staff were more than happy to help and couldn't do enough for you......very lovely family.

There is ample parking at the rear of the accommodation.

Thank you to all for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed for weekend short break, with wife, child and dog. Can not fault the accommodation, clean, well decorated and nice size room (cottage room).

Food was excellent and service was faultless, the waitresses and bar staff where polite and went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Would highly recommend if visiting Rye or the surrounding locations

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We went for a meal at the Kings Head on Sat Eve end June as we were staying in Rye for weekend we were recommended to book before hand as it can get busy which we did and good job to as it was packed and very busy, a very very good sign We were not disappointed the ambiance was lovely and the hotel had been redecorated to a very high standard. The food was just lovely , so delicious and such a good choice we enjoyed it so much we ended up being naughty and having two bottles of delicious wine as well, we joked with the staff that we would roll down the hill back into Rye After we left and got half way down the hill we found one of the waitresses chasing us ( we think it was Lucy ) I had left my mobile on the table and she had chased us for a good distance to give it back to me wonderful of her to go to that effort and so kind to it would have been easy not to bother so Thank you soooo much Great place great meal great customer service. Would recommend it 100%.

Room Tip: Only had meal here but. If went again would def stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 90barbarag90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. Very friendly, efficient and attentive staff throughout. We ate in the restaurant and the food and surroundings were excellent. Our room was the Beach Hut room.
It was very well decorated and appointed. When we went to bed we discovered that in a cupboard approx. 4 feet from where you lay your head is a gas boiler. This boiler ignites and runs for about 20 seconds every 15 mins or so, all night. For us this alone completely spoiled what was until that point a faultless experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Paul

We are so pleased that the service and food you experienced at our pub was up to a good standard , as for the noise from the boiler this is unfortunate and we take all customer complaints seriously I can assure you the matter of the boiler being noisy will be addressed as soon as possible in fact I have made provisions for this to be done within the next few weeks .
As a family business we take pride in our accommodation and would like to apologise most sincerely for your loss of sleep and would love to welcome you back in the future .

Kind Regards

Lisa & Steve Tindall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.7 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
933 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
River Haven Hotel
0.6 mi away
The George in Rye
0.8 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 39 in Rye
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Property: The Kings Head
Address: Rye Hill, Rye TN31 7NH, England (Formerly Top O' The Hill)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head Inn has undergone extensive refurbishment ready for re opening early 2014. We have 5 luxurious modern individually designed en suite cottages each with private entrance, tea & coffee making facilities, TV, and free Wifi, plus 5 beautiful en suite rooms with the same level of quality as the cottages but with the added bonus of staying in the 300 year old Coaching Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top o` The Hill Hotel Rye
The Kings Head Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing