We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely short break, we would definitely return here again”
Review of The Kings Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kings Head
Ranked #7 of 40 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just come back from two nights at the Kings Head and have had a lovely, relaxing stay.
The owners, Steve and Lisa were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us and that goes for all of the staff. We stayed in one of the cottages with our daughter and it was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We booked a table for dinner on one night and again the food was excellent. It is about a 10 minute walk down to the town centre and after an evening strolling around beautiful Rye we opted to take a cab back as the walk back is uphill, but this was our preference. There is a large car park at the rear and we would highly recommend staying here. Disregard reviews from before March 2014 because the whole place has been recently refurbished to an excellent standard.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Head
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We passed this place on our way to Rye and decided to stop for lunch. Excellent decision. The new owners looked after us really well. Very good service, great interiors and some fabulous food and lovely local ales. Probably the most tasty Ploughmans I have had for a long time. I can strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Filholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Really lovely place we stayed in the Parisian room beautifully decorated and we eat in the restaurant I can recommend the crispy duck for a starter, Neptune's platter for mains.
the breakfast was excellent too,
we thought our room being on the main road would be noisy but we slept like babies. we have booked for next year already

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We booked for 4 nights as we wanted to explore the area. We only booked last minute & some of the other "top hotels" in the area were fully booked, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The owners/ staff were very friendly, the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in in a hotel and the rooms were well decorated and very clean. The food also surpassed expectations and the service was friendly and efficient. I would definitely recommend staying here, t's a short walk into Rye centre but benefits from a good location with parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We could not fault the Kings Head. We stayed in cottage 4, and it was quiet, comfortable, clean. Love the decor. We also ate in the restaurant and the meal was sooo yum! I had pork belly, my boyfriend had lamb shank. Both were delicious and we could have drank the gravy!

Staff were polite and attentive.

It was great for us as a base for camber sands, a short drive away, and we had a nice wander around Rye the following day. We hope kings head continues to do very well, and would definitely like to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Char R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

we stayed at the Kings Head Inn for 1 night. We were recieved very friendly and got a large room (room 2).
The room was very luxurious, the bed was the best bed we ever slept in in an Inn. We also had our diner at the Kings Head and the chef/owner cooked the biggest home made burger we ever had and it was delicious. It was simply to much to eat it completely. The staff was very friendly.
Fam. Jaquet, Holland

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Evert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Well what can I say......what a beautiful place to stay for whatever occasion,we stayed here when it was the Top O' The Hill and WOW what a change for the better I must say.We stayed in the White Room for our 23rd wedding anniversary on July 11th....the room was absolutely beautifully decorated.lovely en-suite shower room too......cant fault it,would 100% recommend it.

The food was of an excellent standard and plenty of choice.The staff were more than happy to help and couldn't do enough for you......very lovely family.

There is ample parking at the rear of the accommodation.

Thank you to all for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
992 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George in Rye
0.7 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
788 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Address: Rye Hill, Rye TN31 7NH, England (Formerly Top O' The Hill)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range: £84 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head Inn has undergone extensive refurbishment ready for re opening early 2014. We have 5 luxurious modern individually designed en suite cottages each with private entrance, tea & coffee making facilities, TV, and free Wifi, plus 5 beautiful en suite rooms with the same level of quality as the cottages but with the added bonus of staying in the 300 year old Coaching Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top o` The Hill Hotel Rye
The Kings Head Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing