We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of The Kings Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Head
Ranked #8 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of August for one night. It was faultless, beautiful room - very comfy bed! Very clean, nice toiletries. We had an evening meal and it was delicious! My husband had the super king size burger... My goodness I've never seen a burger like it! I had the goats tarts which was really scrummy. As a vegetarian this place caters well for veggies! I'm always impressed. For pudding we was both so full BUT had to have the homemade honeycomb ice cream.... Oh my it was heaven....And then the breakfast, I can't believe we was hungry but we tucked in. Good orange juice and yummy yogurts! I had poached egg on toast and my husband had everything! Once again faultless. I can't find anything to moan about. We have eaten here a few times and always very very good food, efficient staff, nothing to much trouble, warm welcoming, relaxed atmosphere. Well done Steve, Lisa and the rest of the staff that make up the hard working team which makes this place as it is. Well done! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clumps82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    45
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
62
176
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

After what would have been the worst holiday in history we fell upon the kings head to be greeted with what turned out to be the most amazing time.Steve ,Lisa and their wonderful team delivered second to none service.The food was magnificent , the rooms spotless and the decor beautifully presented .We will definitely be back and would recommend to anybody to pay a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggie996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just got back from 2 nights at the kings head. Fantastic food both in the evening and breakfast with great service. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was very friendly. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hev500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Just had the best pub lunch ever. The menu was very impressive. The food was all homemade . Enormous portions that was very well presented, excellent value for money and great service. Can't praise it enough. Loads of parking space at the rear of the pub and 2 gardens. I would highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just come back from two nights at the Kings Head and have had a lovely, relaxing stay.
The owners, Steve and Lisa were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us and that goes for all of the staff. We stayed in one of the cottages with our daughter and it was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We booked a table for dinner on one night and again the food was excellent. It is about a 10 minute walk down to the town centre and after an evening strolling around beautiful Rye we opted to take a cab back as the walk back is uphill, but this was our preference. There is a large car park at the rear and we would highly recommend staying here. Disregard reviews from before March 2014 because the whole place has been recently refurbished to an excellent standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We passed this place on our way to Rye and decided to stop for lunch. Excellent decision. The new owners looked after us really well. Very good service, great interiors and some fabulous food and lovely local ales. Probably the most tasty Ploughmans I have had for a long time. I can strongly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Filholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Really lovely place we stayed in the Parisian room beautifully decorated and we eat in the restaurant I can recommend the crispy duck for a starter, Neptune's platter for mains.
the breakfast was excellent too,
we thought our room being on the main road would be noisy but we slept like babies. we have booked for next year already

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.7 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
River Haven Hotel
0.6 mi away
The George in Rye
0.8 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 39 in Rye
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Property: The Kings Head
Address: Rye Hill, Rye TN31 7NH, England (Formerly Top O' The Hill)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head Inn has undergone extensive refurbishment ready for re opening early 2014. We have 5 luxurious modern individually designed en suite cottages each with private entrance, tea & coffee making facilities, TV, and free Wifi, plus 5 beautiful en suite rooms with the same level of quality as the cottages but with the added bonus of staying in the 300 year old Coaching Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top o` The Hill Hotel Rye
The Kings Head Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing