We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good old fashioned comfort and service in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rye Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned comfort and service in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Simply the finest hotel in Rye. Friendly staff, beautifully appointed rooms and a small indoor pool and sauna ....plus parking!

Rye is the perfect place for a relaxing break. So many interesting shops and galleries to browse in and even more restuarants and cafes to while away the hours and all of this right on the door step of Rye Lodge Hotel.

Room Tip: Their standard room is far more superior than standard - so any room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    241
    91
    35
    10
See reviews for
72
536
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were recommended to your hotel and it certainly lived up to expectations. However, just a couple of points we wanted to make you aware of:-
1. It said there would be many 'fragrancies' in the room but found there were no more than the average hotel.
2. The fans in the bathroom were very loud and we could here the next door room's fan every time they put it on.
3. Thought it a bit much to charge extra for breakfast. Whilst this was adequate and enjoyable, my wife was given a very small portion of scrambled eggs.
Otherwise, it was a lovely spacious, comfortable room and fabulous bath. All very clean as it should be.
Parking was good also and plenty of room.

Room Tip: would spend extra ang go for a front room next time (Champagne Room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer190761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

This place seems ok from the pics they show, and it is quite pricey.

I phoned to see what was available and was told only the most expensive room was available, that wasn't true as I could see online they had two standard rooms free. We fancied going into the area of Rye as it looked nice so booked up.

Upon arrival we are given our key, directed to the car park and pretty much left alone. No problem there to be fair.

The room. Well to say it is old fashioned is a huge understatement. Proper old school. Big room, with table and chair to sit at. Clean enough. It was a VERY warm room, the windows were open but it made no difference, sweltering. We put on a fan all day and night to try and get some air movement, and that was ok. Comfy bed.

Bathroom. Not that great. A shower you needed to constantly fiddle with to get a constant temperature. Clean enough but when I pay that sort of cash I want it immaculate. A bit grubby and needs a refresh. Sealant around the bath needs redoing and so do some of the tiles. Window doesn't open.

Facilities. To be fair, we didn't order breakfast at £12.50 because I think that is just a ridiculous amount for breakfast. Can't comment on the bar as the only time we wanted it, 9.15 on the Thursday night, no one was about. The swiming pool, a big feature they advertise was not heated, it's indoors and not heated so unusable really.

Overall it's ok. Fairly clean, fairly tidy but expensive for what it is and really old fashioned. Would I go back, no, not really. I like fairly modern attire, and this really isn't.

Oh, and we were in room 6

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HunterTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
443 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

First the good things.the hotel is well located for Rye high street and all the local attractions; it's a very short walk away (about 2 mins), there is also a good free car park at the back of the hotel so parking isn't a problem ( which is not true of the rest of Rye).

On the minus side this is more a large guest house then hotel. Rooms are antiquated and are very noisy; we didn't get a sleep in over the weekend due to the noise from the adjoining bedrooms. The pool is very small you can't really swim more than 2 or 3 strokes in it. There is a minbar but oddly didn't have any fruit juice in it for the mornings. Given we paid over £130 a night the standard needs to improve.

Would only recommend if you need to stay in Rye and say the Mermaid hotel is full ( where we last stayed on a previous visit)

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Me and my boyfriend went there twice last year. Very nice hotel - nice sauna, nice swimming pool, nice service, nice breakfast. Close to all restaurants and the village shops. Very convinient location for kitesurfers :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaLoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Just got back from this charming, where the service was second to none, we have never, had such an excellent personal service anywhere like this, so I don't like to pick out any slight faults, because the pros outweigh the cons by far, but here goes, we stayed for 2 nights in a room superior deluxe breakfast included, as it was the only room left that would suit my needs, as a disabled person I asked for a room with a separate shower unit, this was the only room left so even though it was a bit pricey for us I thought why not(only live once) while the room was large and spacious we were very well situated the room was also very peaceful when we arrived in the room first thing we noticed it was a bit chilly and that the heated towel rail wasn't working a couple of bulbs had gone in the bathroom, and the minibar contained only coke or mineral waters, my wife took a sauna, and it had trouble heating up also the steam bath wasn't working, but the next day the heating became too much the room became very hot, ( maybe their was a slight problem with the heating)? I did inform the charming lady at reception on the first day about the towel rail and light bulbs she was more than helpful I didn't mention the minibar because to be honest I we didn't need it, everything else was superb the breakfast was delicious ,the champagne bar service and champagne were first class. When I asked for a restaurant booking it was done without any hassle. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a bit of pampering without hesitation. So as I say for us just a little overpriced for a room which was good but not in our opinion superior deluxe but that is only our opinion, I would like to take this opportunity, on behalf of my wife and myself to thank the staff for being so friendly and helpful, typically British, as it used to be.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Decided to break our journey in Rye and spent a very comfy night here. The pool was a lovely surprise and we enjoyed cream tea with champagne so much we decided against dinner out. It was a real feast! Very clean fresh room with a lovely view. We will stop off at Rye Lodge on purpose next time we pass through Sussex.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Lodge Hotel

Property: Rye Lodge Hotel
Address: Hilders Cliff, Rye TN31 7LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rye Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rye Lodge Hotel is an award winning 20 bedroom hotel situated within the heart of the ancient town of Rye. Rye Lodge is the only hotel in Rye with Spa facilities and free off street parking for all its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rye Hotel Rye
Rye Lodge Hotel East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing