We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Couple stopover”
Review of Rye Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We used a Groupon voucher and upgraded to a Superior Room which was well worth it. The room was very large with French doors opening up onto a balcony with decking and table and chairs. Unfortunately, the weather was not suitable to sit out in. The bathroom was very pretty with a large mirror and beautiful period coving.

The room was generously equipped with toiletries, plenty of bottled water, the bonus of a mini fridge and a large Samsung tv. We did need to leave the windows open as the room was a little warm for our liking but otherwise a good nights sleep in a comfy bed.

This quaint old fashioned hotel has a certain charm and we will return later in the year. With the added bonus of its own car park at the back and literally a short walk to shops and restaurants you cant go wrong. We opted for breakfast in bed in the morning and it was served promptly at no extra charge. The staff are welcoming and helpful and provided a map of Rye too. If you want to be central with all the comforts of home, we recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 it is spacious but does not have views only the car park at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 351sandraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry-de-Courcy, Owner at Rye Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Im pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a comfortable nights sleep. Good to hear you took advantage of breakfast in bed. Next time you stay i hope the weather is better for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

I booked this hotel via groupon for our child free night away.The staff were very welcoming.The hotel is a family business and the family are obviously very involved and interested in their business and had to gone to a lot of trouble over the years decorating the hotel and obviously cared a lot about it. The decoration was not to my taste,but there you go.The little pool was very pleasant and warm.We did not use the sauna or spa pool as they appeared to have been turned off as we didn't go in until after 19.00.The receptionist did offer to turn it back on. I think the power must have been connected to the lights in the changing rooms as we couldn't find the light switches,so if you want to use the showers just ask them otherwise you will have shower in the dark.The hotel is in a great location to explore rye and the surrounding area.The breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice and was all cooked from scratch as required.we had a very nice stay and is slept very well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My girlfriend and me stayed at the Rye Lodge hotel from Friday (Valentines day) to sunday. The hotel has great surroundings, because it was Scallop week many restaurants in Rye were fully booked but we did get a table at the oast house playden which I can highly recommend
.
Back to the hotel, it is beautiful with bags of character and a great atmosphere and a bonus of an indoor pool and sauna. I have read elsewhere that the pool was cold…..i can say it was not cold when we were there and was lovely to have a swim before going for breakfast and to unwind in the evening.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody wanting a romantic break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maverick1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry-de-Courcy, Owner at Rye Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

I'm so glad you both had a romantic valentines weekend at Rye Lodge Hotel. The weekends can be very busy in Rye especially when its Valentines day and Scallop week! Im pleased to hear that the Playden Oasts restaurant looked after you well. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We visited Rye in March 2013 whilst visiting family in the UK. The town is very beautiful and only about one and a half hours from London by car and about one hour from Dover so it’s the perfect place to stop if you’re driving in from France. Being January the town was quiet and upon checking in at Rye Lodge Hotel we were offered an upgrade. Our room (Deluxe) was very nice indeed – large, high ceilings and a HUGE bed! Breakfast was good – had the choice of continental or full English. All the staff were very friendly and polite. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalmatiacharter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry-de-Courcy, Owner at Rye Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Danny, Thank you so much for your review. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the free upgrade. Please do visit us again when your next in England

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and me stayed at the Rye Lodge hotel from Friday to sunday. The hotel has great surroundings, both inside the hotel, but also the neighbourhood. A great place to have time for each other while relaxing. The Hotel proclaims that they will "pamper" for couples, and I must say they live up to the promise.
We had a great weekend, and will definitely recommend this for other couples, and in general.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel offered adequate facility's for a very pleasant stay.We found the hotel staff extremely professional,helpful and friendly.with reference to the comment about the temperature in the room,I found an ingenious device on the end of the rad.which when twisted,adjusted the temp.in the room!,we will be back. C.H Mayfield

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

For our anniversary we wanted something a little different so headed to Rye for two nights. The Rye Lodge Hotel was at the top of our list - mainly for the fact it was the only hotel with a pool and sauna and it was mid priced compared to other hotels in the area. Booking was easy and as we were coming from Scotland by train we had asked for a taxi to be booked to pick us up from Rye Railway Station. Driving up to the hotel you can’t help to notice the Tudor style black and white front to the Lodge and its handy having the building set back from the road as it meant the taxi could drop us right at the door. There’s also a free residents only car park to the rear of the building for anyone driving in.

Heading inside we were greeted by very friendly reception staff and shown to our room. We’d splashed out a bit for The Collegiate Room (Room 1) and found it to be bright, airy and very spacious with its high ceilings, large bay window with views towards the monastery, huge bed and plenty of comfy seating (usually missing from a lot of rooms). I had stated when booking that it was for our anniversary so it was a lovely surprise to find a small bottle of champagne, chocolates and flowers waiting for us. I will be honest that the décor wasn’t to my taste (well really just the bedspread and colour of the seating as I loved the little fireplace) but that said, the room was clean throughout and I did also love the en-suite bathroom with its green tiling and of course the complimentary toiletries.

As there was no additional charge we decided we’d have our breakfast in our room both mornings – this meant we didn’t have to be in a rush to get ready – very handy having the dressing gown and slippers in the room. We’d both gone for the Continental breakfast – can’t really go wrong with cereal fruit juice and coffee! After spending the days exploring Hastings, Folkstone and the Rye Nature Reserve it was nice getting the chance to have a swim and relax in the sauna. You’re really spoilt for choice with places to eat – I can recommend The Ambrette Restaurant and the Landgate Bistro.

Would be nice to visit again during the Summer months when we’d get the chance to sit outside, enjoy the view and explore more of the area.

Room Tip: I can definitely recommend The Collegiate Room (Room 1)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeavenlyCharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Lodge Hotel

Address: Hilders Cliff, Rye TN31 7LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £97 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rye Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rye Lodge Hotel is an award winning 20 bedroom hotel situated within the heart of the ancient town of Rye. Rye Lodge is the only hotel in Rye with Spa facilities and free off street parking for all its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Rye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rye Hotel Rye
Rye Lodge Hotel East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing