We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit over-priced, but worth the extra.”
Review of Rye Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We went there as a visit to my parents. My wife booked the hotel on the premise of the spa and pool. The location is superb. Landgate takes some beating. The hotel oozes olde worlde charm. The names of the rooms after a wine are cute.
Stadard of the rooms excellent. Best nights sleep in a long time. Woken up by seagulls sqabbling over fish. When you consider our neighbour is the M3, the gulls were an opera!
The spa is...er...different. The first cold wirlpool bath I have ever known. The pool is standard but a good cold plunge after the sauna.
Breakfast was OK. Would have prefered a few more options, but the smoked Haddock and poached eggs were excellent.
Parking a real plus. Anyone who knows Rye as I do will know that proper parking is worth paying the extra for.
All in all,.while not the overall experience I was perhaps hoping for, we will be back.

Room Tip: None I can think of.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WILLIAM1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
There are newer reviews for Rye Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is stuck in a time warp.

The positives:
Staff are very eager to please.
The position is excellent. Most of Rye's "attractions" are within walking distance.
Free car parking
Nice towels and pleasant toiletries
Lots of milk sachets, teas and coffees.

The rest
Imagine Groundhog Day returning you to the Queen's jubiliee daily.
Everywhere there are pictures of the Queen, menus from dinners 10-20 years ago and the most awful kitsch pictures and furniture.
We were in the "Attic Suite" reached up 2 flights of stairs and then a cramped and very steep final set that I had to struggle with a suitcase up. No lifts and no assistance. Understandable, as the staff were in their 60s, 70s and possibly 80s.
The suite itself had 2 areas and a bathroom.
The bath had a shower attachment but no curtains so a shower was impossible. Taps when turned on obviously activated a pump to get water up to the attic. The noise was similar to standing 10 yds from a helicopter and at night was positively frightening.
The ceiling was at angles into the roof. In 3 days I managed to hit my head at least ten times. Once quite severely. It was impossible to reach the bed without contortions.
The room also had a sofa and good tv.

We chose this hotel because it was advertised as having a pool and spa facilities. We went the afternoon we arrived. The receptionist looked slightly surprised when we asked about it and said we should collect towels from her and she would turn on the sauna and the spa pool. We did.
On reaching the "Venetian" spa it was clear we were probably the first users for a very long time.
The steam "closet" was broken, the jacuzzi was the same temperature as the pool and the pool itself was absolutely freezing. We did swim while waiting for the sauna to warm up a bit. It was never really hot but was better than the temp of the pool. The sauna is however a bit of a safety hazard. It is tiny and the sauna coals are unprotected. Most residents are pensioners and would it be very easy to slip and fall onto them. One window in cabin was cracked.
When we went to the shower/changing room showers were less than wonderful.
We visited the pool twice more and the towels we left under the bench each time (as instructed) were still there on our last visit.

We ordered in advance the full cooked breakfast which cost £12.50 each.
The dining room is frozen in time, again the 50s.
The cold buffet "sideboard" was packets of cereal, prunes in syrup, tinned grapefruit segments, individual yoghurts and apples, pears and bananas.
Only bread available was brown or white toasted sliced bread.
Cooked breakfast served to you from a choice of classic english or smoked haddock/kippers.
Again, the room, the food, the service seemed like a time machine trip back to 1955. Some may like it but it felt like a B&B, not a hotel.

The "champagne bar" had a tiny fridge with a couple of beers and cokes. Don't go expecting bar facilities as usual in a hotel

Essentially this place is for those in their 70s. One younger French family looked perpetually embarrassed.

I think this is the Britain UKIP is yearning to return to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alanmills405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry-de-Courcy, Owner at Rye Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay but i disagree with many points in your review.

You say “everywhere there are pictures of the Queen”. There is only one picture of the Queen on the rear staircase, not surprising perhaps as when Queen Elizabeth I visited Rye in 1573 she dubbed it Rye Royal. Also Rye is an ancient Cinque Port and Queen Elizabeth the Queen mother was lord warden of the Cinque Ports until her death. Rye has always had a Royal connection and I do not think that one picture of our Queen is excessive.

The menus displayed in our picture gallery are historic in that one is a menu from the EF Beson society of Mapp Lucia fame and a Royal dinner attended by the King and Queen of Greece in aid of the Mary Rose trust. Im sorry you don't find this interesting no one forces you to look at them.

I am sorry that you feel that the period furniture and classic pictures are “awful kitsch” but many people admire the period style of the furniture and the pictures, in many cases, are prints of classic masterpieces which sell today for million of pounds!

You are correct the Attic suite is reached by 2 flights of stairs and has some sloping ceilings but I think you'll find the clue is in the name! The bathroom in that room has a pump in order to increase water pressure for the bath and shower. I will investigate why it was so noisy - perhaps there is a fault with it that the hotel is unaware of. We do not have a lift but assistance with luggage is always available.

The staff are offended that you think they are all in their 60’s, 70’s and 80’s. in reality our staff range from 17 years old upwards. We have one long standing member of staff who is in his 60’s and it is the hotels policy (and present day legislation) that we do not discriminate against race, sex or age! Im sorry you disagree with our policy.

The leisure center is used every day and the pool is always above 80F. We do not have a Jacuzzi. The spa bath that you refer to as a Jacuzzi is the same temperature as the pool and water flows from this into the pool. You say the Sauna is "tiny" - it seats 6 people - how many people did you want to get in there?

With regard to the Champagne Bar we stock 18 different vintage and non vintage Champagnes,
7 white wines, 2 rose, 7 red wines, a full range of aperitifs, a full rage spirits and liqueurs, 6 single malts, 5 brandy’s, and a selection of beers ciders and soft drinks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

One of these gems you find from time to time. Right on the high part of the town and beautiful for walks. Locate it on a map before you try and find it on sat nav as these streets are medieval. Park at the front to check in - then take directions to the car park.

Room Tip: You may have to eat out. The fish and chip shop 250 yards along the road is the best.Try the bakers...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My boyfriend and I went to Rye Lodge a few days ago. We were greeted by friendly staff and were taken to a small but clean room. After using the spa facilities , we discovered our Television was faulty. We were moved to another room (this one was spacious and modern) without a fuss. The hotel is old fashioned in its approach which made the service faultless and personal. Rye itself was a beautiful place to visit too with the beach close by. We will definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loulou3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My best friend and I just needed a little chill out time and this was the perfect place, Many thanks to Suzi, Tony and Micheal for making us feel so special. Fantastic location for exploring Rye, we enjoyed the most wonderful afternoon tea,fresh sandwiches, very tasty home made scones and fruit cake, all washed down with a bottle of champers and the delightful and charming company of Tony who served us.Micheal was very kind and made sure we knew all the places to visit for our evening entertainment, he was back at breakfast, with his very caring and attentive personal service. Suzi was also very delightful, you could tell she had so much pride working at the lodge and even arranged with Tony for our room to have a vase of spring flowers delivered. Breakfast was very tasty, one of the best and again the staff and service was exemplary. Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry-de-Courcy, Owner at Rye Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for you kind words. I will pass your thanks and comments on to the staff in question.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at this lovely hotel. We had booked the romantic getaway package, which included a deluxe double room, chocolates, flowers and champagne on arrival, a meal at a local restaurant and breakfast in the morning. We were lucky to be upgraded to the Champagne room, which is a lovely big room with a massive bathroom. The room overlooks the front of the hotel and has a balcony, with views of the Romney Marsh area. The room was clean and well serviced, if a little dated. The hotel itself was well run and the staff very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was good and it was nice to have it brought to our room.

The hotel does have a small pool, spa pool and sauna. We've marked the hotel as a 4 only, as the sauna wasn't working, the pool was cold, as was the spa bath.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would return in the future.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 1980slw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry-de-Courcy, Owner at Rye Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and im glad you enjoyed your stay. The Spa is only open to hotel guests and as such during quieter times when it is not being regularly used we switch the sauna off. We will always switch it back on for guests upon request as it only takes about 15 minutes to get back up to temperature. I'm sorry this wasn't explained to you when you checked in and i will take this up with the reception staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My girlfriend bought me present for my birthday...1night in this old fashion hotel...We paid even extra for bigger room, but we got the smallest cheapest upgraded room...View from hotel room was to the car park and shi..ty roof..I couldn’t wait to go to spa in this hotel but when we come there...first impression was horrible....cold water, aroma therapy didn’t work sauna was off and whirlpool was off as well....absolutely terrible...for 125 pound for 1 night I expected a little bit more...One good aspect of the hotel...They allowed to have a dog there and quiet a good breakfast...But that’s it....Not coming again!!!!

Room Tip: Dont go there..there is many better hotels with better value
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 923ondrejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry-de-Courcy, Owner at Rye Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Im very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. The spa is for the exclusive use of guests staying at the hotel. As such it is not used all the time and during quiet times the sauna and whirlpool are turned off to conserve energy. They will of course be turned on for guests upon request. Im sorry you were not aware of this. The pool temperature (today) was 83 degrees (28 C).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
992 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Lodge Hotel

Address: Hilders Cliff, Rye TN31 7LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £95 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rye Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rye Lodge Hotel is an award winning 20 bedroom hotel situated within the heart of the ancient town of Rye. Rye Lodge is the only hotel in Rye with Spa facilities and free off street parking for all its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rye Hotel Rye
Rye Lodge Hotel East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing