We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rye Lodge Hotel. Rye”
Review of Rye Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Rye Lodge Hotel, Rye, East-Sussex. Super Cream Tea. lashings of whipped cream and jam. Delicious Homemade Scones and Cakes all baked in-house. Beautifully crisp table linen. Super Birthday Treat. Thank you Tony.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was one of those quirky English hotels with a quaint (champagne) bar, little passageways and staircases, and olde world room fitouts. There is parking right behind the hotel, which in Rye is a big bonus. The hotel is literally a minute away from High Street, and overlooks the Salts and Romney Marsh.

It was a bit hot the night we stayed, but with the windows open, it was just fine. The staff were friendly and efficient, and service was just right.

Breakfast was typical English cooked, and arrived quickly and fresh. Couldn't really complain about anything.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back, that way you have more privacy and a bit more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Lovely large bed! Slept well - which is unusual for me in hotel room!
Friendly staff, hotel porter very good.
Good central location. Lovely and quaint - all Rye is. Not as old and quaint at the Mermaid - but the Mermaid is unaffordable! Rye Lodge expensive too - but I think it is just an expensive town, so it's probably cheaper than a lot of places. The other end of town, down near the harbour, appears cheaper though - or at least the restaurants were. But when booking online, you don't know these things.
Breakfast was overpriced, (not included the room rate) and I didn't like it very much. But I'm not really a breakfast person. But as it was my travel companion's birthday, he chose to have breakfast rather than go out for lunch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere for afternoon tea and stumbled upon the Rye Lodge.
We had initially gone to The George but the staff there were so rude we left.
By the time we got to the Rye Lodge we had almost given up on finding 'proper' afternoon tea and we probably should have!
The hotel looked the part with the chintzy decor in the lounge.
The receptionist seemed pleasant if not a little frosty.
We were pointed in the direction of the lounge and told to sit wherever.
The afternoon tea menu seemed to be standard offering a selection of finger sandwiches, cakes, scones etc.
When we came to order, it transpired there would be no selection of sandwiches or cake. The sandwiches were to be one type and there was only fruit cake.
We ordered the sandwiches (my husband was told by the waiter who also seemed to be the chef, porter and general dogs body that if he didn't like salad he could pick it out!) and scones. Fruit and plain scones were available and we were told that the waiter had cooked them the night before. The tea and coffee arrived shortly after. On pouring the coffee, my cup filled with filter coffee that was clearly ground too finely for the cafetiere.
The sandwiches arrived some time later. My friend's husband and I ate our egg mayo and my husband ate his cheese. My friend couldn't eat the salmon which she said was too bulky. The sandwiches were accompanied by huge piles of cheeselet biscuits!
The scones arrived about 20 minutes after the sandwiches were finished. Tiny, warm, reheated scones which tasted ok, what appeared to be clotted cream, cheap jam in small packets but no butter. The coffee by this time had been replaced and I managed to find another cup and saucer on another table. The scones also had a strawberry cut in half on each plate. Mine were well ripened but my friend couldn't eat hers as it was rotten.
Nothing too awful but for the first 25 minutes or so all we could here was a couple complaining about their filthy room which was covered in dog hair! When the receptionist said the housekeeper couldn't have done a very good job that morning, she was challenged that it looked like a build up of grime. She admitted guests with a dog had been in there for 2 weeks. She didn't confirm but certainly implied that the room couldn't have been cleaned for that time.
During our 'tea' a 'drunk' came in complete with his life in a shopping bag and bought a bottle of cider at the small bar in the lounge. The reception lady came and served him. She gave him a glass and poured the cider but they had no ice despite it being in the high 20s outside and there being no air con, fans or open windows in the lounge. Most of the time we were there, a swarm of flies circled the room. We did go outside for a cigarette and once we had slipped over the cobbles, the terrace area at the front was quite pretty although the outside of the hotel away from the front door looked very run down. The lounge itself seemed clean.
Although we wouldn't go back, we laughed until we cried - the waiter who was quite old and bumbling was very pleasant but at well over 6ft reminded us of John Cleese. It was very 'Fawlty Towers'!! We got the impression he didn't have a clue but managed our order without hitch. For the same price or less, you can get more / better in or around Rye.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry-de-Courcy, Owner at Rye Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

I am sorry to learn that your afternoon tea experience was not to your satisfaction. I have now had the opportunity to discuss your complaint with all the staff in question.

Usually we have fruit cake and sponge cake on the menu but unfortunately we had sold out of sponge cake when you visited. Your feedback has been taken on board and we now have a selection of 4 cakes available (today its Chocolate cake, Fruit cake, Carrot cake and a Coffee cake). Your comments about lack of choice of sandwiches however is incorrect. Smoked salmon, ham, chicken, cheese, tuna, egg mayo and cucumber were all available to order. The comment that the waiter made about the salad was clearly a joke - The sandwiches you ordered (Egg mayo and Smoked Salmon don't have salad in them anyway! Your friend thought we were too generous with the smoked salmon. Surely that is a good thing?

The scones we serve are made freshly on site. The jam we use is of a high quality and comes in little glass jars - not a packet as you state.

The conversation regarding the carpets in a guests room that you listened into was an unacceptable incident and this matter was taken up with housekeeping by management. The couple were immediately upgraded into another room and the room in question was taken off for a deep clean. As this is incident is not related to your review im not going to go into any further detail.

We do not serve "drunks" at Rye Lodge Hotel. The guest you referred to was not drunk and did not 'have his life in a plastic bag'. He was just a customer who bought a bottle of Cider and drank it on our sun terrace.

Again, im sorry your afternoon tea was not to your satisfaction but i do not think its acceptable to be rude about other customers or members of our staff on a public website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at this delightful old fashioned hotel. When we arrived we were given a map to find the free car park which is a bonus in Rye. Our room was clean and comfortable and although the bathroom was on the small size it was perfectly adequate for our stay. We were delighted to find that a fan had thoughtfully been left in our room as it was during the hot weather. The breakfast had a good choice and was cooked to order. The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the attractions in Rye. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riverview00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was a last minute decision to stay in Rye and find somewhere comfortable and central.
The Rye Lodge Hotel worked perfect, It has a private car park (very helpful), the rooms are decorated to a certain era and were clean /spacious. We had to stay in 2 different rooms due to our late booking, there was no doubt the more expensive one with balcony terrace was the better (you get what you pay for).
Breakfast was excellent and the hotel is so well situated to walk to any of the great restaurants around town for dinner.
My only complaint was it was very warm in Rye when we visited and the rooms were hot !
One of the challenges of an older property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ceilings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a KGB deal. We had a nice room(quite old fashioned but very comfortable) the members of staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was cooked to order. It is very convenient and has a car park which is a huge benefit in Rye. If you like modern forget it but for a friendly place to stay Rye Lodge is great!!

Room Tip: We were at the back which was quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alfiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Lodge Hotel

Address: Hilders Cliff, Rye TN31 7LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £97 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rye Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rye Lodge Hotel is an award winning 20 bedroom hotel situated within the heart of the ancient town of Rye. Rye Lodge is the only hotel in Rye with Spa facilities and free off street parking for all its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rye Hotel Rye
Rye Lodge Hotel East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing