We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family getaway”

Review of The Mount

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
View from the Wool Room
Dining Room
Dining Room with open fire
The Hall
The Hall
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Stairs
West Hall   (Entrance)
Enclosed patio
View from the Moat Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard G
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family getaway”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We would definitely recommend The Mount. A beautiful old building with lots of character. We had a fantastic stay with all the family. Everyone, inluding the teenagers, enjoyed it! We were a party of 10 and there was lots of space, so were never under each others feet. Even the bad weather didn't put a dampener on things. Will hopefully be going back one day...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Many thanks Richard for your review and hope to see you again.

Bernie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gailkerr2...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous house”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a wonderful weekend at The Mount for my mums 60th birthday, the house is fabulous, full of character and so spacious. The kids loved exploring all the rooms, playing in the wonderful gardens and the great play room outside. There was plenty of room outside and inside for dining for our party of 13, ranging in age from 6 months to 60. The weekend we were there was incredibly hot, thankfully the house remained lovely and cool. We made a trip to camber sands one day and walked over the fields from the house to Rye another. Bernie and Heather were great and very accommodating, very quick to reply to messages, the whole booking process was very efficient. Thank you so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for big family gatherings and celebrations”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We have just got back from a three night stay at The Mount and I must say we had a great time. We were there with family to celebrate a 60th birthday and with 12 adults, a toddler and a baby we were a big party. However, The Mount veritably swallowed us up. At no point did we feel crowded or on top of each other. Everyone had their own room, all of which ooze character and original features whilst being comfortable and well appointed. The two sitting rooms have more than enough seating with the option of a wood-burning stove in one. For television watchers there were two choices. Then a wonderful big kitchen with Rayburn and conventional cooking options and every bit of equipment you could possibly need. We easily produced all meals for the entire gathered multitude with minimum effort and a great long kitchen table completed the picture. We took advantage off the magnificent dining room and even lit the fire in the inglenook fireplace on the evening of the grand birthday dinner. I have never stayed anywhere with such a wonderful selection of crockery, cutlery and glassware - it made everything so easy. Everything had been thought of and Bernie's relaxed and welcoming approach made us feel entirely at home. The location is spot one and a quick stroll across the field found us in Rye and all it has to offer. I would highly recommend The Mount for a stress free, relaxing weekend with the added joy of a spectacular building seeped in character and history. We had a great time and would definitely go back again if we are lucky enough to get a chance.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spirited7...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Perfect but dont forget to DUCK!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful house 500 years old with low beams, and charming throughout, well stocked kitchen basics, a range type cooker made it very welcoming in the kitchen, in the morning, it had a warm cosy feel to the house with plenty of space for everyone to enjoy their area, we had the men watching footy, and the women could escape to another sitting room to admire the beautiful sunsets. good size dinning room that sat everyone around, and a large kitchen table too, Bernie kindly left us a cake, and when we thought we were getting low on supplies she came along with more, we didn't actually need them, the house has everything you need to have a great time ,games room, BBQ, seating, 2 fridges !!! with amazing views and a short walk over the field to Rye, also next door was a farm shop/tea room which although was expensive, was ideal for an emergency purchase, they did the most delicious ice cream, and there was a Costcutter less then 5 min drive away I would thoroughly recommend this house, for a large groups of family/friends, and Bernie was a very thoughtful host, we hope to return again in the winter and sit around the log fires !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Charm of the house and all the space it gave us
Liked least: near a busyish road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian R
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect house for a family Christmas.”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We returned for our second Christmas week at the Mount - with a new addition to the extended family! Once again the house was perfect and so full of character. It's even cosier now as it has full oil fired central heating but we still enjoyed using the log burner and open fire on special evenings. The owner is very helpful and welcoming. The kitchen is lavishly equipped - very important for all those Christmas meals. The house felt very festive with a decorated tree and outside lights! More happy Christmas memories for all 3 generations!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex23454...
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful cottage, will be back! Very close to everything and stunning inside. Even had a home made caked baked fresh for us all!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie Q
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely family holiday! ”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Booked The Mount for a long weekend break for our family of 11 to celebrate my parent's ruby wedding anniversary. Email communication was a bit difficult at times but that was only a small matter. The house itself was full of character, the older relatives were fascinated with the place! Facilities and amenities were great - everyone enjoyed the games room which also had toys to entertain our one year old nephew. The weather was perfect so we were able to make use of the BBQ and lovely garden. Bernie had mentioned that her daughter could cater a three course dinner for us (including the washing up!) so we availed of this for one night as a surprise for my parents which was well worth it! We had a wonderful relaxing stay at The Mount with great memories of a special time together!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing