We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, wonderful location and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful location and friendly service”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed for a 2-night break at this very pretty hotel in a beautiful, quaint cobbled street in Rye. We were going to eat out one of the nights, but the food in the hotel was so good on the first night, that we decided to eat in on the second night as well. The fish I had on the first night was beautifully cooked. The vegetarian option I had on the second night was not as good however, but the mushroom soup was delicious. The corridors in hotel are in need of some upgrade, but the bar and restaurant areas and the rooms themselves are fine. We had a pleasant room with a harbour view. If you are early birds you might get disturbed by the noise from the kitchen extractor fans , but we had enough wine for it not to bother us! The service was excellent , swift, but without being obsequious. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a short break in a lovely location and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzandury518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    224
    57
    6
    1
See reviews for
59
637
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We had a fantastic break at the special offer rate. The food was delicious in the hotel; the barman was a joy so a pre-dinner drink in the bar was a real highlight of the trip. The room was comfortable clean: not fancy, but everything worked and was spotless.
Had a great weekend and would highly recommend - I'm sure we'll be going back.

Room Tip: We loved our room right at the top of the hotel with lovely views over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed two nights in this delightful small hotel in the equally delightful town of Rye. We went for my birthday, but as I do not like a fuss the staff were very discreet.They also kept all my surprises secret from me. Our room had a four poster bed and was a good size with lots of storage space and with lovely views from 3 large windows. We also had a small sitting room and a very warm spacious bathroom. On entering the room I was greeted by Champagne on ice, a bouquet of flowers and a large box of chocolates - all arranged by the hotel. The food was superb as we dined on both evenings, we were joined by friends on the second evening - another surprise! The hotel is located on cobbled streets and there was plenty of parking. We did not use our car as Rye is very compact. Rye is the town in which E F Benson based the Mapp and Lucia novels which were made into a TV series, and we had great pleasure in seeking out the locations used.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night break at this lovely small hotel.We stayed in the Jolly Sailor room which was very comfortable. The entire stay was extremely relaxing and pleasurable due in no uncertain terms to the very friendly and helpful staff. Everyone we met went that extra mile to ensure that we had an enjoyable time. The food at breakfast and dinner was excellent with an extensive menu choice.
We shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We enjoyed one night here, paying £140 for DBB for two, which seemed pretty good to us, having just paid about twice as much in a more pretentious place on the south coast.

The room was comfortable, the bathroom a bit in need of refurbishment, the views great and the service good.

Dinner and breakfast were both much better than average. The bacon was properly cooked, for example - I can't stand flabby bacon where the fat is uncooked.

Altogether a good stay.
We'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontpellierOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The title says it all really! I have just returned from a 3 day break playing golf in Rye and have mixed feelings about posting a review; as too many good reviews will only encourage others to book the room that I may want! The rooms are fine, but not fantastic, the location and the staff, are both excellent! What can I say about the food? superb value in the Bed, Breakfast & Evening Meal option. There was virtually nothing that I would not have had as a first choice on all parts of the menu, and the House wine (included) consisted of 7 or 8 reds and the same number of whites (all good quality wines). It is hardly a surprise that so many people were returnees!! I will be back :o)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

A charming hotel in the lovely small and ancient town of Rye. The pleasant and happy staff are reflected in terrific service provided. The restaurant menu is more than good. We took the special two day offer which included dinner. We wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: The room 'Castle View' had a modern bathroom with a large old world bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vianded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope Anchor Hotel

Property: The Hope Anchor Hotel
Address: Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although famous for its past, the Hope Anchor is known locally for its stunning views across the Quayside, Romney Marshes, Camber Castle and beyond to the sea. Most of our rooms enjoy these panoramic views and to be honest they need to be seen to be believed. Although beautiful all year round the sunsets in summer bring locals young and old to enjoy alfresco dining accompanied of course with a glass or two of wine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hope Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Anchor Rye
Hope Anchor Hotel
The Hope Anchor Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing