We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was our first trip to Rye and what a gem we found!! Great staff, great location, great accommodation, great food. I advise anyone looking to stay in the Rye area stays here. There is nothing I would change. We will be back again asap.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wells G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
There are newer reviews for The Hope Anchor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here as we attended a wedding where all the guests stayed at the Hope Anchor, we arrived early on the Friday lunchtime and wandered around the lovely Rye streets and did some touristey things that afternoon, then we had a standard table d'hote meal on the Friday evening with a few of the other early arrivals and for an all inclusive meal it was excellent, beatuifully cooked, well presented and excellent service, the wines were excellent and definately not over priced.

The wedding reception the next day was again faultless, food was hot well cooked all round a lovely occasion

Breakat both days was very good........ample buffet or cooked "full english" excellent.

Rooms were querky in such an old building low ceilings, uneven floors and no standard layout,, which added to the charm. They were clean and had all the usual 3-5 star facilities

Thoroughly recommend it for a weekend away or as we had the base for a wedding or family event

Room Tip: some rooms have a view of the harbour and accross Romney Marshes ask the reception
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We visited Rye for two nights after our rather hectic wedding weekend. We chose the Hope Anchor on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed in the Admirals Appartment (ground floor) which is totally seperate to the main hotel, but only approximately 20 metres away. The bedroom was the biggest bedroom we have ever been in, and the bathroom matched. There was a freestanding bath which fitted two perfectly, as well as a walk in shower etc. Located at the end of Watchbell Street (on the top of the hill) in the old part of Rye, it afforded stunning views of the river. We ate in the restuarant for two nights. The staff were very professional and welcoming and the food was very good. Cannot comment on the bedrooms in the main hotel but we were extremely pleased with our appartment. Recommended.

Room Tip: Admirals appartment costs a little more, but is worth it! Totally seperate from the main hotel but o...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The only small negative about this place is encountered before you check in. Access by car is quite tight; some of the lanes that my GPS sent me up really didn’t look like roads at all, more like cobbled paths. When you get there, there are some parking spaces dotted about outside, but it’s not a car park as such. We were lucky enough to find a space, but the receptionist had to come out and check that we weren’t blocking someone’s access.

Anyway, once we’d dumped the car, the rest of the stay was delightful. We were in one of the apartments which are just across the road, and they are excellent. We had the downstairs one which was very big, with a large bathroom and a private patio area at the back. Our friends had the upstairs one and that was very good as well.

We had drinks and dinner in the hotel and the food and service were fantastic. We had drinks before dinner, two bottles of wine and four 3-course dinners and the bill was £55 per head. All four of us commented on how good the food was and how attentive the staff were.

We then retired to the bar, where a very friendly barman served us some very reasonably priced brandies before we retired for the night.

Breakfast was excellent too, the usual spread of cold stuff, and a particularly well cooked full English.

Rye itself is well worth going to as well. It’s the town that time forgot, with lots of traditional old shops and pubs.

If you’re going there, I thoroughly recommend this hotel as your base.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinyredcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Spent two nights with my sister at The Hope Anchor Hotel and found the staff incredibly kind and helpful, the food was just lovely and the bottle of wine (included in our package) was very nice indeed. Our room was extremely clean, pleasant and quiet and we thought the hotel was outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayformaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the harbour view room which had an excellent en- suite. The room was a little on the small side but was spotlessly clean throughout. We had dinner both nights both of which were of very high quality. The location was great for peace and quiet but still in the centre if you didn't want to drive. Overall you cannot beat the value of this hotel and we are surprized it is only rated 3 stars as we have stayed in lesser four stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed in RoofTops room in September 2013. Of our 9 nights in the UK, this was our favorite hotel. The staff was first rate. We were greeted warmly right away and all our questions were answered so nicely. We opted to eat at the hotel since we were too tired to find another restaurant. The meals was delicious and the wait staff was very attentive and friendly. Breakfast was even better. Hotel is very convenient to shopping areas, Castle Rye, and old church (a must see! don't forget to leave a small donation!). However, hotel is on end of a street overlooking town and countryside. So it is a convenient but quiet location - no traffic noise. You must stay here if you are visiting Rye!

Room Tip: RoofTops room was nice. It is small so we had to put one suitcase on the other for the night.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorkToTravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
992 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope Anchor Hotel

Address: Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £89 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although famous for its past, the Hope Anchor is known locally for its stunning views across the Quayside, Romney Marshes, Camber Castle and beyond to the sea. Most of our rooms enjoy these panoramic views and to be honest they need to be seen to be believed. Although beautiful all year round the sunsets in summer bring locals young and old to enjoy alfresco dining accompanied of course with a glass or two of wine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hope Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Anchor Rye
Hope Anchor Hotel
The Hope Anchor Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing