We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night at Hope Anchor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hope Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great night at Hope Anchor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Booked at table at Hope Anchor for Saturday night. Based on reviews on TA. Was not disappointed. Made very welcome as we checked in. We went for a 3 course meal for two which included bottle of house wine. All for £60. Excellent value. Great service worth there number one rating

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GaryRW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    217
    57
    6
    1
See reviews for
57
624
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Hope Anchor is an excellent example of what a good, small, independent British hotel should be like.

We have recently returned from a 2-day mid-week break — which was excellent value. As it was a Special Offer one might have expected the staff to not bother too much but nothing was further from the truth. The staff — each and every one of them — were incredibly friendly, welcoming, helpful and professional. The food was excellent and could not be faulted in any way. Rye is a delightful old town with some really lovely individual shops and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just returned from two nights at this hotel, located at the end of a cobbled street with views overlooking the quay. They weren't just dog tolerant, they really were dog friendly. Both us and our friends had a dog each and they were made to feel welcome, with the bar manager even giving them treats. We stayed in Room 25 - perfectly nice with very comfy bed, but mind your head on the sloping roof and your legs on the end of the wooden bed. All meals were superb with a fish and meat special every night-we had a deal which included a bottle of wine from a varied selection - both bottles we had were good. Staff make this hotel outstanding though, they were all friendly and helpful. We will return and have decided on rooms we would like to try - all in the main hotel are dog friendly. There is also a private dining room if you travel with a larger party.

Room Tip: Look at website first to request your favourite. Room 24 has shower not bath - we changed to 25 whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevinjan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Rye is a medieval town formally a port but is now located about 3 miles from the coast. The town itself is full of interesting characterful buildings, pubs, restaurants and eclectic shops in narrow cobblestone streets perfect for the visitor looking for something different.
The Hope Anchor hotel is located at the top end of the town with a view extending over the low ground to the sea. Like all the other buildings in Rye it is over 200 years old with each room being quirkily unique. No 'holiday inn' bland standard here!
The staff are the friendliest and most obliging you are ever likely to meet. The restaurant serves first class food with specialities being offered every night. We also took advantage of an offer which included a bottle of house wine with dinner. All in all a really enjoyable experience. Would I recommend this hotel, most definitely. Parking can be a problem but the hotel will provide you with a parking permit allowing parking in the street. Finally the price, definitely a bargain.

Room Tip: Every one will be different that's all I can say. Boring it won't be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have just returned home from another wonderful 3 day break at the Hope Anchor. This time we stayed in the Admirals Apartments and I can honestly say we could not fault anything. The décor, furnishings amenities and the views were all first class and we loved having the separate lounge. We were again impressed with the meals and the general ambience in this lovely hotel and the one thing that stands out above all others is the staff. They are so friendly, helpful and professional. Our next visit is in the planning stage already!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We have had many excellent meals at Hope Anchor so when planning our wedding it was the perfect choice. From the time of the initial planning with Hanna, our wedding co-ordinator, to the actual event we received the very best attention. On our wedding day nobody could find fault with the food, service and attention to detail. This is a small family run hotel and our party of 40 people was an ideal size for these premises, enabling all our guests to stay as part of the wedding package we chose. We cannot recommend the Hope Anchor highly enough and give special thanks to Chris the manager, Hanna and all the staff for making our day perfect in every way.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms on website but would recommend the jolly sailor/the sankey suite or the appartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was our first trip to Rye and what a gem we found!! Great staff, great location, great accommodation, great food. I advise anyone looking to stay in the Rye area stays here. There is nothing I would change. We will be back again asap.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wells G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#3 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope Anchor Hotel

Property: The Hope Anchor Hotel
Address: Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although famous for its past, the Hope Anchor is known locally for its stunning views across the Quayside, Romney Marshes, Camber Castle and beyond to the sea. Most of our rooms enjoy these panoramic views and to be honest they need to be seen to be believed. Although beautiful all year round the sunsets in summer bring locals young and old to enjoy alfresco dining accompanied of course with a glass or two of wine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Hope Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Anchor Rye
Hope Anchor Hotel
The Hope Anchor Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing