We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who could ask for anything more?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Cosy, quirky accomodation; Fresh cooked food in generous portions; Impeccable service with a smile - you'll find it all here. It's the little touches that make it extra special - extra sauce with the main course because it was so good; top quality ice cream on dessert menu - not just an afterthought. Best vegetarian 'full English' I've had on holiday - and the fried bread was a real treat. Excellent value for money. Ideal two night - blow away the cobwebs getaway. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Room 5 - is a cosy nest for 2, with great views out towards the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbuckner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

My wife and I, together with friends took advantage of The Hope Anchor "mid-week" special for our annual get together. What a wonderful time we had. Because of the age of the building and its history it is unusual, each room is so very different but all that one requires of an hotel room is provided for. We were even shown a selection of rooms so that we could choose which one we would like to be in. I believe the hotel uses the word "quirky" in one of its own write ups, it is rather, but in the best possible ways. Once one has stayed there the relaxed and informal nature of their own website can be felt. Both we and our friends all found the beds particularly comfortable, even those that "brag" about getting up between six and seven in the morning didn't wake until 8.20! All the staff are so friendly, helpful and charming making you feel so welcome throughout your stay. It is also worth noting that the staff all appear to be well trained, including, unusually these days, at table. The restaurant menu provides an excellence in choice, presentation and quality, there is even an extensive choice of house wines! It is not often these days that one can truly say, "excellent service, value for money and thoroughly enjoyable" but The Hope Anchor achieves that. Our group was depleted due to sickness but we have all agreed that we will revisit in the New Year.

Room Tip: Allow the staff to guide you, if it is windy they will put you in room away from it, if you want a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Meldrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This Hotel is in a great quiet location in the Historical town of Rye. Close to all the attractions but the bed and pillows (in our room) need upgrading. Meals and staff were excellent. The heating was too hot in our room but we managed to open a window which helped.

All in all pretty good value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Well what can we say! The food from the restaurant is faultless and very good indeed ! If like us you like your French fries thinly cut ! then ask for skinny chips. The staff are very friendly and can not do enough to make your stay very special indeed. All the rooms we have stayed in are clean and comfortable and if like us you want something a bit special then either the cottage or the admirals apartments are first class. The manager(Chris) is always on hand to add the extra touches where required to make your stay a memorable one !!! Thank you everyone and see you next year !!

Room Tip: All rooms have unique character !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Having enjoyed a two night stay last year my wife and I decided to go again this year so have just returned from another two night break, we paid £110.00 per night for dinner bed and breakfast including a decent bottle of wine with dinner each evening.

Dinner and breakfast were both excellent and all the staff and very helpful and friendly.

This time we stayed in the Hidden Treasure Cottage, but to be honest we were a bit underwhelmed, quite small even for two people and no views of Rye to speak of.

We would return to this hotel for it's excellent value but would choose a different room next time.

Room Tip: We would try a room in the main hotel next time as we weren't keen on the cottage but some other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawnandkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have just returned from our four night stay at The Hope Anchor, my husband and I love this place we go at least twice a year. The midweek special includes a 3 Course Dinner and a bottle of Wine each evening. The restaurant is first class, the food outstanding. All the hotel staff make you feel so welcome. We stayed in the hidden treasure cottage which is at the side of the hotel, it is really quirky a totally amazing stay and great value all round. If you are going to Rye this is the place to stay at, you wont find better value.

Room Tip: Try the cottage for plenty of space, not suitable for the elderly, as the stairs are awkward. Also b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 250candylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

After a very busy week, we had a two day break here and it was just what he doctor ordered.

The staff were helpful and friendly, it felt like they really want to look after you and make your stay a comfortable one.

We had room 7 which was small but very nice. The room is equipped with a flat screen TV and comes with complementary tea coffee & Biscuits. WE found the room to be very clean and comfortable. There is an En-Suite Bathroom with a lovely deep bath that has a shower attachment on it. There is also a selection of complementary toiletries there.

On our first night we ate in the Bar, choosing from the bar menu, there was a good selection and the food was delicious, good value and decent sized portions. The bar itself has a wide selection of drinks, including a couple of local real ales.

On the second night we dined in the restaurant enjoy a superb 3 course meal. With drinks. Again there was a nice wide selection on the menu and a range of specials. Delicious!

Breakfast is served 8 til 10 and there are cereals , rolls, croissants, fruit along with the option of a cooked breakfast, all was fresh and delicious!

The Hotel itself is situated at the top of Rye at the end of a quaint cobbled street, there is no dedicated car park as such. There is plenty of car parking space but it is on street and if you are late arriving then it might be fun finding a spot. The Hotel will give you a parking permit so there are no worries about traffic wardens.

In conclusion all I can say is we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikblak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,447 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope Anchor Hotel

Address: Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £67 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although famous for its past, the Hope Anchor is known locally for its stunning views across the Quayside, Romney Marshes, Camber Castle and beyond to the sea. Most of our rooms enjoy these panoramic views and to be honest they need to be seen to be believed. Although beautiful all year round the sunsets in summer bring locals young and old to enjoy alfresco dining accompanied of course with a glass or two of wine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hope Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Anchor Rye
Hope Anchor Hotel
The Hope Anchor Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing