We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Food, super. Bed, comfortable. Bathroom, fantastic. Service, excellent, barman, charming. All absolutely wonderful. We had a two night special deal stay which was great value for money. We will come back. All staff were very, very helpful. One of the best places I have stayed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank aderocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    223
    57
    6
    1
See reviews for
57
634
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here in December as we were meeting friends in the George Hotel, which was fully booked. That was our good fortune. The location is terrific with a great view and at the top of the town so there is a nice walk along the cobbled streets and past the church into the centre of the town. The staff were extremely friendly and the room was spacious and well appointed.
I noted with amusement comments about guests banging their heads on beams and negotiating narrow stairs. As a 6'1" male I can confirm there are low beams and I did make contact a couple of times, there are also narrow stairs, no real surprise it's an 18th Century Inn not a Holiday Inn!
Unreservedly recommended and will be my number 1 choice in Rye in the future. Friends tell me the restaurant is good too.

Room Tip: We had a large room with a kingsize and a single in it overlooking the river side in the 'annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrynEastSx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel is always very welcoming with excellent service. Rooms are lovely, especially the bigger rooms. We go to this hotel quite a lot. I only have one slight moan re this visit, the DJ on New Year's Eve was not able to set up until quite late and as such ruined the celebrations a bit. Maybe next year the DJ could be allowed to set up earlier and have a bit of background music. The music was not very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Cosy, quirky accomodation; Fresh cooked food in generous portions; Impeccable service with a smile - you'll find it all here. It's the little touches that make it extra special - extra sauce with the main course because it was so good; top quality ice cream on dessert menu - not just an afterthought. Best vegetarian 'full English' I've had on holiday - and the fried bread was a real treat. Excellent value for money. Ideal two night - blow away the cobwebs getaway. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Room 5 - is a cosy nest for 2, with great views out towards the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbuckner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

My wife and I, together with friends took advantage of The Hope Anchor "mid-week" special for our annual get together. What a wonderful time we had. Because of the age of the building and its history it is unusual, each room is so very different but all that one requires of an hotel room is provided for. We were even shown a selection of rooms so that we could choose which one we would like to be in. I believe the hotel uses the word "quirky" in one of its own write ups, it is rather, but in the best possible ways. Once one has stayed there the relaxed and informal nature of their own website can be felt. Both we and our friends all found the beds particularly comfortable, even those that "brag" about getting up between six and seven in the morning didn't wake until 8.20! All the staff are so friendly, helpful and charming making you feel so welcome throughout your stay. It is also worth noting that the staff all appear to be well trained, including, unusually these days, at table. The restaurant menu provides an excellence in choice, presentation and quality, there is even an extensive choice of house wines! It is not often these days that one can truly say, "excellent service, value for money and thoroughly enjoyable" but The Hope Anchor achieves that. Our group was depleted due to sickness but we have all agreed that we will revisit in the New Year.

Room Tip: Allow the staff to guide you, if it is windy they will put you in room away from it, if you want a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Meldrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

This Hotel is in a great quiet location in the Historical town of Rye. Close to all the attractions but the bed and pillows (in our room) need upgrading. Meals and staff were excellent. The heating was too hot in our room but we managed to open a window which helped.

All in all pretty good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladignac le Long, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Well what can we say! The food from the restaurant is faultless and very good indeed ! If like us you like your French fries thinly cut ! then ask for skinny chips. The staff are very friendly and can not do enough to make your stay very special indeed. All the rooms we have stayed in are clean and comfortable and if like us you want something a bit special then either the cottage or the admirals apartments are first class. The manager(Chris) is always on hand to add the extra touches where required to make your stay a memorable one !!! Thank you everyone and see you next year !!

Room Tip: All rooms have unique character !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope Anchor Hotel

Property: The Hope Anchor Hotel
Address: Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although famous for its past, the Hope Anchor is known locally for its stunning views across the Quayside, Romney Marshes, Camber Castle and beyond to the sea. Most of our rooms enjoy these panoramic views and to be honest they need to be seen to be believed. Although beautiful all year round the sunsets in summer bring locals young and old to enjoy alfresco dining accompanied of course with a glass or two of wine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hope Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Anchor Rye
Hope Anchor Hotel
The Hope Anchor Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing