We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Returned once more to the Hope Anchor and took my husband for the first time - staying the last few times with friends. We only stayed one night having got a great deal on Groupon and we wanted to try the Ambrette restaurant (this too was excellent). As usual the Hope Anchor was as inviting as always and I look forward to another stay very soon (as soon as The Tuscan Kitchen reopens). That seems like as good a reason as any!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moregirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    229
    58
    7
    1
See reviews for
60
644
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Midweek break here was excellent experience. Breakfast cooked to order and served with a smile, very good dinner menu incorporating local fare, a reasonable and varied wine list - could not have wished for more. We had the Admiral's Apartment a few yards away from the front door of the hotel and it was very comfortable. It appears that the hotel has recently been redecorated to a very high standard and our bathroom had certainly been redone. Staff friendly and helpful throughout.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernice288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We would agree with all the earlier comments - lovely hotel in a lovely setting. Good food, good service. We stayed in a junior suite - bath in the bedroom, quirky !! Could do with more storage area over the basin. Parking could be a problem but we had no difficulties during our two days there. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed every moment of our stay, the staff were so professional at what they do. The room was fantastic (I won't say which one in case I have trouble rebooking) The food was of a very high standard, as I'm writing this I'm missing it. Say no more but well done to the management and team Big thank you all and I /we hope to see you soon. Dave db

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DiddydeBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester kent
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The approach to this hotel in a car can be somewhat hair-raising up narrow cobbled streets and sharp blind bends so be prepared for that. The hotel restaurant cannot be faulted on it's food and service in a very nicely appointed restaurant. Prices are very reasonable for the quality and service offered. 4 stars for that. Would have got 5 stars if table cloths had been used rather than wooden surfaces.
The accommodation, unfortunately, did not match up to other reviews.
The room, number 2, was very small with a lop-sided single wardrobe r exulting in a door which would not stay open to view yourself in a full length mirror on the inside of the door.
The bed frame was one foot narrower than th mattress which resulted in the mattress overhanging both sides which resulted in sagging sides to an otherwise good mattress. There was no dressing table, just a table for the tea/coffee making equipment. The room looked rather tired and the furniture had obviously come from a second hand jumble sale or similar. To contract this the small shower room/toilet had been revamped with nice wall tiles but the designer had overlooked the fact that there was only a small glass shelf to put anything on (do designers never stay in hotel rooms with their female partners?). The shower pressure was somewhat poor.
If you intend visiting then make sure you are not given room 2.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2. More suitable for a single person occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rochester604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

While visiting the UK for our nephews wedding a friend told us we should visit the town of Rye to experience old world English charm. The top reviews on Tripadvisor led us to the Hope Anchor Hotel. We did not book online but simply drove up to see what, if any, rooms they had available. A very pleasant receptionist, Anastasia, showed us a choice of rooms - we chose a nice room with a four poster bed, a comfortable sitting room and en-suite bathroom.

What was even better? The price for a two night weekday stay was on offer and included not only breakfast but a 3 course evening meal including a bottle of wine for both nights. Our evening meal was truly excellent as where the breakfasts . The service at all times was terrific and the staff could not have been more accommodating.

The quality and quantity of included toiletries was better than most four and five star hotels.

Special thanks to Anastasia, Lily and Holly for making our stay so enjoyable.

Rye is truly worth the time to stop and visit - be sure to visit the The Rye Town Model in the Heritage Center by the Quay to get a great historical overview as well as a great orientation to the must see places to visit.

Room Tip: Room 3 with a four poster bed, separate sitting room with additional TV and en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernardhhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

after navigating the cobbled streets of Rye you come upon a rather tired looking building, 'The Hope Anchor Hotel', but don't be fooled, step inside & you are sure to be amazed, it truly is a 'gem', the interior is welcoming, comfortable & tasteful, the staff are friendly & attentive, the rooms are quirky, comfortable & beautifully decorated & it doesn't stop there, we booked in to the restaurant for a meal & were more than pleased that we did, the food was delicious......as was the breakfast the next morning......will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazzle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
951 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,291 reviews
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope Anchor Hotel

Property: The Hope Anchor Hotel
Address: Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although famous for its past, the Hope Anchor is known locally for its stunning views across the Quayside, Romney Marshes, Camber Castle and beyond to the sea. Most of our rooms enjoy these panoramic views and to be honest they need to be seen to be believed. Although beautiful all year round the sunsets in summer bring locals young and old to enjoy alfresco dining accompanied of course with a glass or two of wine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hope Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Anchor Rye
Hope Anchor Hotel
The Hope Anchor Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing