We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were only passing through Rye (such a beautiful little town!) and stayed one night at the Hope Anchor. It's lovely and worth every cent, as it's not cheap to stay there. We had the softest, most comfortable bed, a lovely big room with views and a huge bathroom. The service was excellent, the breakfast was superb. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the Hope Anchor for one night in Room 2, which is obviously not the best room in the hotel but we had taken advantage of a Groupon offer and there are very few hotels where you could stay for under £50 per night for a room and breakfast. As mentioned in earlier reviews, there are some issues with the room but none that couldn't actually be resolved to be honest. We decided to book evening meal in the hotel as the restaurant has very good reviews and we certainly weren't disappointed...the food was delicious. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful (especially Magda) and this, together with the hotel's convenient and pretty location amongst the cobbled streets, made for a very enjoyable short break. The Ypres Castle Inn is within easy walking distance and worth a visit on a sunny afternoon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzi054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I were looking for somewhere to get away for a couple of days in March and found this one whilst searching on "dog friendly" hotels. Tucked away along cobbled streets behind the main Parish Church (worth a trip up the tower if you're reasonably able bodied for the panoramic views over the town and surrounding countryside). It is a slightly worn but well maintained hotel. We were allocated the "Harbour View" room on the end on the first floor. It had the usual amenities, with a four-poster bed, which was comfortable and didn't aggravate my back problem, which is always a plus. The room wasn't huge but with a little rearranging we managed to fit the dog's crate in. The food was very good indeed and their offer of Bed, Breakfast and three course dinner, with a bottle of wine for £110 per night when you stay at least two nights is excellent value. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and we are very tempted to return later in the year. The only small quibble was that the free Wifi was as others have commented somewhat variable in it's service.The area is scenic and we enjoyed some nice dog walks including one across paths and fields to the beach at Camber Sands. The town is quite upmarket and there were quite a few restaurants we would try out if we had been on a longer stay. Overall a nice base for exploring the area and I see they have extended their offer through the summer months for a price of £140 per room, which given the quality of the food I think most people would still see as good value!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sawf93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We took advantage of the Spring special offer and booked Apartment B for 2 nights. I couldn't fault the room- the bed was super comfortable and having the additional sitting room was an added bonus. The bathroom was beautifully done with a deep bath- it might be a problem for someone with poor mobility- and a lot of additional touches provided.
Dinner was included and I honestly can't see how such great food is included in this offer- amazing value for money. The specials on both nights meant that the menu was varied and everything we had was very good quality. The wine (also included!) came from a good range and like everything else was well served by friendly and attentive staff.
Parking was fine, possibly not good when Rye is super busy but we found space just outside to park.
All in all a great hotel, brilliant value and quality and well placed to enjoy the views and the citadel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Apartment B - could not have been better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spent two nights here with friends and would hand rated it excellent but couldn't because of the bedroom/ bathroom. We had room 27 which was right at the top of the building(no lift) up two flights of steep, narrow stairs. The bedroom was nicely appointed but there were sloping ceilings everywhere and the bath was also directly under a sloping ceiling. We are both tall and in our 60's so using the bath and shower ( attached to taps) was a nightmare. We would have asked to change rooms but knew the hotel was full. Our friends had room 2 which was uncomfortably small. The staff were all very friendly and professional. Breakfasts were quite good, although the kippers were disappointing as was the orange juice. We ate in the hotel on our second evening and it was very good. A three course dinner including wine and coffee for £30 a head. We all had the Romney Marsh lamb and it was delicious.
We hope to return in the autumn to take advantage of their special offer and choose our rooms,apparently the apartments are very good, and just over the road.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed with friends for 2 nights and were amazed at the charm and professionalism of all the staff we met. The breakfast was to order and plentiful and the dinner offered good food from a comprehensive and well selected menu. For a change from a lot of restaurants the simply very good without the over elaborations often offered. The one fly in the ointment was the miniscule bedroom ( number 2 )we were given , nothing to praise poor bed , no room to move etc. excepting the shower room which seems to have been newly installed. I friends seem to have had an even worse experience in room 27.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Returned once more to the Hope Anchor and took my husband for the first time - staying the last few times with friends. We only stayed one night having got a great deal on Groupon and we wanted to try the Ambrette restaurant (this too was excellent). As usual the Hope Anchor was as inviting as always and I look forward to another stay very soon (as soon as The Tuscan Kitchen reopens). That seems like as good a reason as any!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moregirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,447 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope Anchor Hotel

Address: Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £67 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although famous for its past, the Hope Anchor is known locally for its stunning views across the Quayside, Romney Marshes, Camber Castle and beyond to the sea. Most of our rooms enjoy these panoramic views and to be honest they need to be seen to be believed. Although beautiful all year round the sunsets in summer bring locals young and old to enjoy alfresco dining accompanied of course with a glass or two of wine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hope Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Anchor Rye
Hope Anchor Hotel
The Hope Anchor Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing