We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We went for a midweek break and had a lovely time. Great value for money, lovely room, amazing food and wonderful staff. I am running out of adjectives for this great hotel, cannot say enough positive things about it. The staff make this hotel - warm and friendly - they give the impression that nothing is too much trouble and they make the atmosphere at the hotel so welcoming and relaxed. I honestly don't know how they give such value for money - the food is just top notch; the fish starter is a delight, the Romney Marsh lamb was delicious (although I did feel bad as we walked to Camber Castle via the bridle path and saw the lambs being born) and the desserts are to die for. The room was very clean, roomy and with a comfortable bed. Breakfasts were some of the best I have had. In fact - please don't go to this hotel as I want to keep it to myself! We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 which looked out over the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed one night during a long-weekend. In almost all ways, the hotel was lovely. The location was great, the staff helpful, etc. The only problem was that in our room -- perhaps not a problem in others -- there was just a tub. It did have a shower head, but between not having a shower curtain and having a sloped ceiling over the tub, I really couldn't find a good way to wash my hair.

Given the amount of choice in Rye, we might look elsewhere if we are back again. We might not though, we might just ask for a different room (we had #7).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here just for one night and had a very enjoyable time. The service was very good. We ate in the restaurant and the food was lovely. The waiter was very attentive but not pushy. The room was very good, clean and tidy with brilliant views. We would stay again and would highly recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 525tds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were only passing through Rye (such a beautiful little town!) and stayed one night at the Hope Anchor. It's lovely and worth every cent, as it's not cheap to stay there. We had the softest, most comfortable bed, a lovely big room with views and a huge bathroom. The service was excellent, the breakfast was superb. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the Hope Anchor for one night in Room 2, which is obviously not the best room in the hotel but we had taken advantage of a Groupon offer and there are very few hotels where you could stay for under £50 per night for a room and breakfast. As mentioned in earlier reviews, there are some issues with the room but none that couldn't actually be resolved to be honest. We decided to book evening meal in the hotel as the restaurant has very good reviews and we certainly weren't disappointed...the food was delicious. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful (especially Magda) and this, together with the hotel's convenient and pretty location amongst the cobbled streets, made for a very enjoyable short break. The Ypres Castle Inn is within easy walking distance and worth a visit on a sunny afternoon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzi054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I were looking for somewhere to get away for a couple of days in March and found this one whilst searching on "dog friendly" hotels. Tucked away along cobbled streets behind the main Parish Church (worth a trip up the tower if you're reasonably able bodied for the panoramic views over the town and surrounding countryside). It is a slightly worn but well maintained hotel. We were allocated the "Harbour View" room on the end on the first floor. It had the usual amenities, with a four-poster bed, which was comfortable and didn't aggravate my back problem, which is always a plus. The room wasn't huge but with a little rearranging we managed to fit the dog's crate in. The food was very good indeed and their offer of Bed, Breakfast and three course dinner, with a bottle of wine for £110 per night when you stay at least two nights is excellent value. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and we are very tempted to return later in the year. The only small quibble was that the free Wifi was as others have commented somewhat variable in it's service.The area is scenic and we enjoyed some nice dog walks including one across paths and fields to the beach at Camber Sands. The town is quite upmarket and there were quite a few restaurants we would try out if we had been on a longer stay. Overall a nice base for exploring the area and I see they have extended their offer through the summer months for a price of £140 per room, which given the quality of the food I think most people would still see as good value!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sawf93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We took advantage of the Spring special offer and booked Apartment B for 2 nights. I couldn't fault the room- the bed was super comfortable and having the additional sitting room was an added bonus. The bathroom was beautifully done with a deep bath- it might be a problem for someone with poor mobility- and a lot of additional touches provided.
Dinner was included and I honestly can't see how such great food is included in this offer- amazing value for money. The specials on both nights meant that the menu was varied and everything we had was very good quality. The wine (also included!) came from a good range and like everything else was well served by friendly and attentive staff.
Parking was fine, possibly not good when Rye is super busy but we found space just outside to park.
All in all a great hotel, brilliant value and quality and well placed to enjoy the views and the citadel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Apartment B - could not have been better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope Anchor Hotel

Address: Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £92 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although famous for its past, the Hope Anchor is known locally for its stunning views across the Quayside, Romney Marshes, Camber Castle and beyond to the sea. Most of our rooms enjoy these panoramic views and to be honest they need to be seen to be believed. Although beautiful all year round the sunsets in summer bring locals young and old to enjoy alfresco dining accompanied of course with a glass or two of wine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hope Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Anchor Rye
Hope Anchor Hotel
The Hope Anchor Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing