We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Again”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Paid our 3rd visit to Hope Anchor Hotel in April just a quick note to say thanks to all the staff for making our stay pleasant and thoroughly comfortable.
The food was excellent as always and the staff very professional we will be back well done.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claytondad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    224
    57
    6
    1
See reviews for
59
637
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here in the Sankey Suite with a Travelzoo voucher. The hotel is situated high above the surrounding countryside which allows super views. Parking is limited. It is easy to walk into Rye and wander in the town which has a number of interesting shops to mull over. The welcome at the hotel was very good and the breakfast was exceptional. We did not need to eat until the evening!

Room Tip: Try the Sankey Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Hope & Anchor. We have stayed twice previously but this visit was exceptional. The staff really are top class, nothing is too much trouble and they are very inobtrusive.
We were lucky to stay one night in the cottage across the road, fab! The hotels situation is perfect for wandering round old town Rye.
Also our evening meal was spot on and breakfast extremely good. Well done to all concerned and we will return again before too long.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgers222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights for my wife's birthday and it was a lovely experience .
We stayed in the port holes and it was a very cosy and comfortable room.
Nice little extras in the room which were a lovely touch.
The breakfast was fantastic and the staff made it a very personal experience,
We would not hesitate to stay here again. The location is also great really did enjoy Rye.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if you are over 6 feet tall :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Margaret's Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a brilliant overnight stay in the cottage next door to the main hotel. It is tastefully decorated in a quiet location. The views from the front of the hotel are amazing. We sat with a bottle of wine in the sunshine ... who could ask for more? It is possible to walk to the harbour in Rye from 3 different pathways so it is ideally situated. We ate in the hotel. The meal was fresh and tasty served by friendly efficient staff. There was bread with oil, thyme flavoured or ordinary butter to start. We had scallops cooked just right then I had the Romney Marsh lamb and my husband had the steak with a stilton cheese sauce. The breakfast next morning was excellent. Our only regret was not booking a second or even third night!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 732kent2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

There really is no need to Hope that you will enjoy your stay at this hotel.You Will.We enjoyed an overnight stay which was a pleasure from start to finish.The welcome was friendly,the room was great,the dinner was exceptional & the breakfast delicious ! In case that's not enough,the location is perfect.Stay there !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Legend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is fabulous in all aspects from the owner down to junior members of staff. The rooms are great, we had The Sankey Suite and friends had The Jolly Sailor. Spotlessly clean, fluffy white towels, great extras. The food was sensationalt, I am a poached egg fanatic and here they are the best! Dinner was superb with a choice to suit all tastes and perfectly cooked. Thank you Chris and staff for looking after us so well. We recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesandStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope Anchor Hotel

Property: The Hope Anchor Hotel
Address: Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although famous for its past, the Hope Anchor is known locally for its stunning views across the Quayside, Romney Marshes, Camber Castle and beyond to the sea. Most of our rooms enjoy these panoramic views and to be honest they need to be seen to be believed. Although beautiful all year round the sunsets in summer bring locals young and old to enjoy alfresco dining accompanied of course with a glass or two of wine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hope Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Anchor Rye
Hope Anchor Hotel
The Hope Anchor Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing