We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Motel & Bar(Rye)(Great Value!)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveller rating
578
249
62
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
249
62
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking permitsankey suitejolly sailorwatchbell streetcobbled streetslovely hotelthe main hotelcamber castlecosy barfull englishbreakfast and dinnertwo night staycomfortable bedlovely roomshort breaksmall hotelscallops
Filter
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 901 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night and were so appreciative of the consideration and care shown by all the hotel staff. From our initial welcome at reception, to our departure on next day nothing was too much trouble. The staff were courteous, friendly and accommodating at all times. We stayed in a small room overlooking the harbour which was completely adequate and well furnished for our needs. The hotel was spotless throughout and the meals in its restaurant were of excellent quality.(Not once were our glasses of water allowed to empty before a refill was offered!) Superb service and care -(and the internet was free and worked consistently.) Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent two nights here ( having researched on Trip advisor and other sites) , on the 28th and 29th of May.
We were in the 'Captains Cabin' which had views over the river Brede and Rye harbour. The room was lovely, a nice chair to sit by the window and look at the view,with coffee,tea and a selection of biscuits to hand.
The food is superb,the restaurant is very busy,and is popular with non-residents so you will need to book a table.We ate there twice.
Though at the top of the town it is very easy to get too and from by foot.
Very good base to walk to the Rye harbour nature reserve (http://www.wildrye.info/reserve/) and Camber Castle (http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/daysout/properties/camber-castle/prices-and-opening-times ).
All in all a lovely stay, with attentive and very helpful staff.
Thank You

Room Tip: Get the rooms overlooking the town . 'Captains Cabin' being one of them.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonGoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

To all the wonderful staff at the Hope Anchor
My wife and I came along on Friday 30th May 2014, our room was lovely and comfortable, clean with a great view, but the highlight of this hotel is, in our opinion, the food. My wife had Mushroom soup, and I had Tiger prawns in garlic and coriander, to follow my wife had the best fillet steak she has ever eaten, I had Chicken with roasted tomatoes, garlic and pesto, rosemary potatoes, followed by Eton Mess, and the cheeseboard with port. The wine was a lovely pinot grigio. The meal was a triumph, breakfast was a beautiflluy poached free range egg and thick cut ham, my wife had a full English. Followed by a long walk around the town. Earlier in the month we dined at a michelin star restaurant called Le Chapelle in London, the Hope Anchor was better, our Daughter is a Chef currently working at The Gherkin in London, and she recommended and paid for our stay. We cannot justify in words how good this place is. Wonderful, thank you very very much, we will never forget our stay, and will return some day.
Jim & Carol Leaver
London

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwl6558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were recommended to stay here by friends and so pleased we were. The hotel is in an imposing position in the old town, both of which have character in spades. Our deal included three nights, dinner, bed and breakfast including a bottle of wine from a reasonable selection including a £17 Shiraz and an £18 Riesling. All for £140 per night for two people throughout the summer (not weekends). The cost is even cheaper in the winter.
Food was of excellent quality and beautifully cooked to order. There were no off-limit items on the menu which included fillet steak and sea bass.
All the staff were really friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel is also dog friendly and management are happy for your pet to join you in the bar as well as in your room. Obviously, dogs are not allowed in the restaurant.
Parking in Rye is at a premium and the streets are very narrow. But the hotel offers a free parking pass and we were always able to park within 100 metres of the front door.

Room Tip: The Jolly Sailor (Room 28) on the first floor was full of character, had a large 6ft bed, and offered reasonable space. The floor was on the tilt, unsurprising in a 250-year-old inn. We were also told that 'The Cottage' would also be a good choice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IsleofWightFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We went on a Travel Zoo deal after I had heard some great reports of the hotel and restaurant. Well, where do I begin. We had the most marvellous time. It was a wedding anniversary cellebration and when we checked in we were told that we would be staying in "The cottage". It turned out to be the most gorgeous little cottage adjacent to the hotel. We had our own courtyard, lovely lounge, kitchen and upstairs a bedroom and bathroom. The sun was blazing through the place, Idyllic. Could not believe our luck. We were so impressed with the restaurant. Staff very good, attentive and helpful. I eat mainly fish so I was delighted with the menu choice. Scallops and then seafood medley. I was in Heaven. We had a wonderful night. So quiet and peaceful. A great breakfast the following morning. We did two days walking and we were not dissapointed. A lovely Canal walk and Camber Sands. The shops in Rye are a delight to browse. A most enjoyable stay. To be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenwadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews