We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hotel lived up to its reputation, good food and excellent service at all meals over the four nights we stayed. We were upgraded to the apartments across from the main building, plenty of room, bedroom, bathroom, sitting room and dressing room, good choice if your budget allows it. The bed, breakfast and dinner option which includes a bottle of house wine (from a selection of 12) is great value at £140.00 per night per room.

The only problem is parking, very restrictive and the seagulls which actively decorate your car

Room Tip: Go for the apartment seperate from the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bobrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for one night. Our room was very quaint - sloping ceilings etc. but had some lovely views and was very comfortable EXCEPT that one part of our bedding - either the bottom sheet or the mattress - had not been dried properly and smelt badly. We were too tired to do anything that night but mentioned it in the morning. I'm sure the proprietor will sort it out but we did feel that for something as unpleasant as this we should have had a little more apology - maybe foregoing the small charge for our water at dinner would have been appropriate.
Having said that, our dinner was excellent and in many ways I would like to stay at the Hope Anchor again. I am fairly sure our less than pleasant experience was an exceptional one-off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JMJ630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Me and my wife stayed at the Hope Anchor for one night, we stayed in one ofthe apartments which are situated just across the narrow cobbled street. The apartment was large luxurious and had its own patio area with gorgeous views. It is close to the town, we enjoyed the stay very much and found the staff very helpfull.
breakfast was top class very enjoyable we would definatly stay again. The only problem is the parking limited spaces on the narrow street.

Room Tip: Apartments are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Malcolm & Rosemary enjoying two nights at Hope Anchor Hotel, Rye. Lovely dinner last night with Rosemary's parents, Jonathan and our children (all staying at Camber Sands) to celebrate Peter's 84th birthday. Relaxing walk through medieval streets of Rye this morning. Charming mini suite with view across water meadows to the sea.

Room Tip: Room 23 is a mini with small sitting area, double bed with bath and separate shower room. Views to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great rooms, and bathrooms complete with all those little extras that make it feel special, our room no 25 had views over the town countryside and out towards the sea. the room had excellent Wi-Fi for which there is no charge, we had breakfast, sandwiches, room service and dinner all of which were excellent quality meals. Service was attentive without being overbearing and the cost was very reasonable.
We would use this hotel again when touring in this area
Rye is a stunning town full of independent traders. but if you have an hour or two to spare go to Whinchelsea it is about ten minutes by car and well worth a visit

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor may have sloping ceilings with limited height in places
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a lovely two night stay on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis staying in room 6 The Harbour View (four poster bed and en-suite with a bath and shower). The hotel is located at a top of a hill and short walking distances to the the Rye town attractions and shops. Excellent and varied menu choice for all three courses of our evening meals. Well cooked food and good portion sizes. The breakfast was very good with a varied and comprehensive range of fruit yoghurt's, cereals, and pastries, plus an excellent cooked breakfast on each morning. Good views from the hotel room, and also the small beer garden at the front of the hotel. We found the hotel quiet both within and outside. What we were impressed with was the courteous and professional customer service that was provided by all the staff and the owner we had contact with. Overall an excellent package and we will no doubt go back to this hotel when we have another short break break in this area of England. Thank you to the Hope Anchor Hotel for making our mini break such a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOODYBLUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights on a bed/breakfast/evening meal basis ( which included a bottle of house wine every evening!)
It was great value for money, arranged directly with the hotel.
The bedrooms are all individual ranging from 4 poster suites with own lounge to smaller doubles on the top floor, some with great views over the town and Romney marshes to the distant sea. The interior looks recently refurbished with new carpet throughout the building, the dining room is stylish and the bedrooms ( we looked at 3) had all been refitted and decorated recently. It is a unique and characterful building in an excellent position in this remarkable historic town.
The outside paintwork needs attention and parking is limited ( to be expected, given the location )
We moved room on the first night as the window blinds in room 23 did not provide enough darkness.
The staff are all excellent. Everyone is charming, interested in their guests and happy to be working here!
The food is outstanding, the breakfasts are consistently good, with cooked to order bacon & eggs etc, always fresh and of high quality.
The evening meal is of restaurant quality, with a comprehensive 3 course menu even offering fillet steak with no surcharge! Supported by daily specials of fish of the day( sea bass, bream etc) and a meat dish ( duck, or roast for example ) the desserts were also excellent.
I could not fault any aspect of the service we received during our stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,445 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope Anchor Hotel

Address: Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £66 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although famous for its past, the Hope Anchor is known locally for its stunning views across the Quayside, Romney Marshes, Camber Castle and beyond to the sea. Most of our rooms enjoy these panoramic views and to be honest they need to be seen to be believed. Although beautiful all year round the sunsets in summer bring locals young and old to enjoy alfresco dining accompanied of course with a glass or two of wine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hope Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Anchor Rye
Hope Anchor Hotel
The Hope Anchor Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing