We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Regent Motel & Bar(Rye)(Great Value!)
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Winchelsea(Winchelsea)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rye Lodge Hotel(Rye)(Great Value!)
US$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveller rating
578
249
62
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
249
62
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking permitsankey suitejolly sailorwatchbell streetcobbled streetslovely hotelthe main hotelcamber castlecosy barfull englishbreakfast and dinnertwo night staycomfortable bedlovely roomshort breaksmall hotelscallops
Filter
Updating list...
444 - 449 of 901 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

On Travel Zoo deal. Not sure why they need to do this as the seemed to be full though only specific rooms were available and ours did have disadvantages as our bathroom had limited headroom. Bedroom small but adequate. Breakfast good. We also used the restaurant for dinner one evening and that was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LMK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked one night dinner bed and breakfast in room 25 for 2 adults, 1 child and a dog. Set in a beautiful location, we had been warned that there may be an issue parking as filming was taking place in the road outside, however on arrival the receptionist issued us with a parking permit and pointed us in the direction of where to leave the car, no hassle at all. Our room was a deluxe double with an extra bed and was just about big enough to fit us in, however it was beautifully decorated and very clean. We quickly showered and went out to wander around rye until we were booked for Dinner. Our son ate first from the childrens menu and he was more than impressed with his bolognaise and ice cream. As we couldn't take the dog in the restaurant we left our son in charge and went for dinner. The restaurant was light and spacious and surprisingly cool on a very hot evening. There were no restrictions on what we could order and the menu had many choices including a bottle of wine to share from the house wine list. We had Rye bay scallops, prawns, steak and chicken with apple tart for desert. The food and service from start to finish was brilliant.Breakfast in the morning was equally high standard and they were happy for us to take a bowl of cereal to our son in the room which was very helpful. All members of staff were very helpful and polite and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank fussyrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Dad and I stayed at the Hope Anchor in Rye, and whilst I agree that the parking was limited it is very clear on the hotel's website that this is the case-therefore guests should factor this in when choosing this hotel. We arrived about 1pm and there was a space which was great.

We had room 21 up in the eave's so it was hot because the weather is very hot and, as it we had the windows open, there was road noise from the orbital road that runs around the old town. This was drowned out by the noise of the fan provided in the room and with the bathroom window open we had a fair breeze through the room.

We had dinner on the first night-£60 for three courses and a bottle of wine which was amazing value as the food was delicious. I had the fillet steak and it was cooked to perfection which I rarely (excuse the pun) get as I like it bleu/mooing! We ate elsewhere on the next night but spent almost the same amount and frankly the hotel meal was more of a fine dining experience so really good value.

The female staff at the hotel are really wonderful-nothing is too much trouble and they were kind enough the lay us a table in the lounge for both breakfasts and the dinner we had, so that my dog could be with us as it was too hot for him to be put in the car, as we would normally do. I thought this was excellent service as many 'dog friendly' places we have stayed have not been as accommodating.

We would definitely come back to the Hope Anchor and are looking forward to October when we are next looking for a couple of nights away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Why this hotel is No1 ranked by Tripadvisor is a complete mystery.
The location is a nightmare for travellers arriving by car, parking close to hotel for late arrivals is virtually impossible, necessitating parking below hill and negotiating circa 50 steps overgrown with bramble.
2nd floor room was stiflingly hot and stuffy, traffic noise was constant thru night.
Waiter at breakfast spoke little English resulting in order of "full English with poached egg, no tomatoes" and being presented with poached egg & tomatoes!
Very little to recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank eltell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hotel lived up to its reputation, good food and excellent service at all meals over the four nights we stayed. We were upgraded to the apartments across from the main building, plenty of room, bedroom, bathroom, sitting room and dressing room, good choice if your budget allows it. The bed, breakfast and dinner option which includes a bottle of house wine (from a selection of 12) is great value at £140.00 per night per room.

The only problem is parking, very restrictive and the seagulls which actively decorate your car

Room Tip: Go for the apartment seperate from the main hotel building.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bobrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews