We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Saltdean
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I only stayed for one night and would recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to visit Rye. Helpful staff, room was all we needed with a lovely view over the river and nice touches were slippers, toiletries and bottled water. Not easy to find and parking is interesting if you have a larger car. The inclusive breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices but coffee lovers might want to stick to tea.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    227
    57
    6
    1
See reviews for
59
640
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed as part of a travelzoo deal, we were in a twin bedded room, full of character. The bed was really comfortable and the linens of excellent quality. Lots of little extras in the room, like bottled water, nice smellies, slippers, biscuits. Breakfast was absolutely outstanding and I really appreciated the veggie option of a full English. Rye is a lovely town and I can highly recommend a visit and a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Traditional hotel at the end of several cobbled roads in the town. Ease of access to the visitor would be greatly improved by a small change to the driving instructions on the hotel's website. The words "drive up Mermaid Street" should be replaced by the words "turn right up the steep, narrow cobbled street (Mermaid Street)". This is because, first of all, it looks like Mermaid Street might be pedestrianised and, secondly, you can't see the street sign until you have gone past. Once you miss this turn, it becomes a problem.

We had quite a small room but can't complain as it was advertised as such. The food was excellent and booking dinner at the same time as booking the room offered a very significant saving on the menu price on the night.

Staff were very friendly and helpful but wi-fi more than a little dodgy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Hope Anchor hotel has a lovely old-fashioned feel to it but has all mod-cons. The staff are professional, attentive and polite and the service in the restaurant is excellent as is the food.The hotel is in a wonderful position overlooking the town, which is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try the room with the four-poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
410 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

On Travel Zoo deal. Not sure why they need to do this as the seemed to be full though only specific rooms were available and ours did have disadvantages as our bathroom had limited headroom. Bedroom small but adequate. Breakfast good. We also used the restaurant for dinner one evening and that was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LMK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked one night dinner bed and breakfast in room 25 for 2 adults, 1 child and a dog. Set in a beautiful location, we had been warned that there may be an issue parking as filming was taking place in the road outside, however on arrival the receptionist issued us with a parking permit and pointed us in the direction of where to leave the car, no hassle at all. Our room was a deluxe double with an extra bed and was just about big enough to fit us in, however it was beautifully decorated and very clean. We quickly showered and went out to wander around rye until we were booked for Dinner. Our son ate first from the childrens menu and he was more than impressed with his bolognaise and ice cream. As we couldn't take the dog in the restaurant we left our son in charge and went for dinner. The restaurant was light and spacious and surprisingly cool on a very hot evening. There were no restrictions on what we could order and the menu had many choices including a bottle of wine to share from the house wine list. We had Rye bay scallops, prawns, steak and chicken with apple tart for desert. The food and service from start to finish was brilliant.Breakfast in the morning was equally high standard and they were happy for us to take a bowl of cereal to our son in the room which was very helpful. All members of staff were very helpful and polite and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussyrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Dad and I stayed at the Hope Anchor in Rye, and whilst I agree that the parking was limited it is very clear on the hotel's website that this is the case-therefore guests should factor this in when choosing this hotel. We arrived about 1pm and there was a space which was great.

We had room 21 up in the eave's so it was hot because the weather is very hot and, as it we had the windows open, there was road noise from the orbital road that runs around the old town. This was drowned out by the noise of the fan provided in the room and with the bathroom window open we had a fair breeze through the room.

We had dinner on the first night-£60 for three courses and a bottle of wine which was amazing value as the food was delicious. I had the fillet steak and it was cooked to perfection which I rarely (excuse the pun) get as I like it bleu/mooing! We ate elsewhere on the next night but spent almost the same amount and frankly the hotel meal was more of a fine dining experience so really good value.

The female staff at the hotel are really wonderful-nothing is too much trouble and they were kind enough the lay us a table in the lounge for both breakfasts and the dinner we had, so that my dog could be with us as it was too hot for him to be put in the car, as we would normally do. I thought this was excellent service as many 'dog friendly' places we have stayed have not been as accommodating.

We would definitely come back to the Hope Anchor and are looking forward to October when we are next looking for a couple of nights away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope Anchor Hotel

Property: The Hope Anchor Hotel
Address: Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although famous for its past, the Hope Anchor is known locally for its stunning views across the Quayside, Romney Marshes, Camber Castle and beyond to the sea. Most of our rooms enjoy these panoramic views and to be honest they need to be seen to be believed. Although beautiful all year round the sunsets in summer bring locals young and old to enjoy alfresco dining accompanied of course with a glass or two of wine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hope Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Anchor Rye
Hope Anchor Hotel
The Hope Anchor Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing