We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect place”
Reviewed 23 March 2010

I stayed at The Hope Anchor to celebrate my 50th with 15 girlfriends. We had the most fantastic weekend, well looked after by all the hotel. Great friendly service, lovely clean individual rooms, great food on Friday evening and a reserved lounge for us to chat and laugh (and did we laugh!) for after dinner both for Friday and Saturday. A perfect place, we shall be back! Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moregirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    227
    57
    6
    1
See reviews for
59
640
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This hotel was a surprise packet and one we stayed at for a wedding in Rye. From the outside it looks like any other old English hotel but on the inside it had everything we could have wanted in this beautiful historic town. Our room had a modern feel whilst retaining its olde charm. It had lovely views of the quay and countryside, and was walking distance (less than 10 minutes) to everything in Rye. The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was delicious both mornings. The small bar added a nice touch, too. This isn't a cheap stay nor is it expensive, and we got what we paid for - with a few unexpected extras free of charge.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Its_Small_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed here 25 years ago on our honeymoon and it is still just as friendly and accommodating as it was then. The food is good, the service excellent and we won't hesitate to go back !!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tres0rya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Friendly staff, nice room, lovely breakfast - thanks!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekwright191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We planned a trip to Rye following a write up in the Coast magazine. It actually recommended another 2 Hotels but after I read up on them on Trip Advisor, choose The Hope Anchor Hotel instead. It just had such great reviews. The price was very good as they had a special on which was £99.00 for B&B, Evening meal and a bottle of wine. The food was lovely, the room was very comfortable and the whole stay was very enjoyable. We plan to return later in the year for another stay. I acnnot recommend this hotel highly enough as the staff were also very helpful and polite. 10 out of 10.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnisMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greater london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We chose the hotel in the first place because we had visited Rye in the past and loved it, but had never actually stayed there. What a find this hotel is. We booked for two nights on their dinner,bed. breakfast special package ( recommended) and selected our room from the website but phoned to ensure our choice. Our room the Jolly Sailor was large and had a bathroom with both bath and shower attachments and a seperate shower cubicle. It will soon be second best to the apartments we are told. It is a small hotel and very quaint but what it lacks in stature it makes up for in cleanliness, service and food! We found when we got there it was Rye Scallops Festival Week, very low key but with big weekend plans. We tried the scallops one night and they werer superb, as was all the food. Recommend the tiger prawn starter if on the menu. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lateromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2010

First Class Service and quality. The Service the food the room. Verry Good

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope Anchor Hotel

Property: The Hope Anchor Hotel
Address: Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although famous for its past, the Hope Anchor is known locally for its stunning views across the Quayside, Romney Marshes, Camber Castle and beyond to the sea. Most of our rooms enjoy these panoramic views and to be honest they need to be seen to be believed. Although beautiful all year round the sunsets in summer bring locals young and old to enjoy alfresco dining accompanied of course with a glass or two of wine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hope Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Anchor Rye
Hope Anchor Hotel
The Hope Anchor Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing