We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boutique Hotel in the UK!”
Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We have just returned from a two night mid-week stay at The George. We stayed in Room 9 which was very spacious and well kitted out. However I imagine from the attention to detail we experienced throughout the hotel, you would be pleased whichever room you picked. The beds were extremely comfortable and the Frette sheets were excellent. I loved all the REN products in the bathrooms and the copies of Larousse Gastronomique, Marie Claire and Homes and Property magazines in the bedroom were great too - whoever owns The George, really knows exactly who their customers are! We ate in the restaurant a lot. I would almost suggest that if you are a foodie that you would even come to The George for the restaurant alone as it is UNBELIEVABLE to get this level of food in such a small, remote medieval town is great! The chef was so accommodating to our off the menu request of 'coriander butter' instead of the other traditional sauces on offer to accompany our steaks. One night I had a starter of Spiced Beetroot and Gorgonzola risotto which was sublime and as for the Cinnamon Poached Pears and Brown Bread Ice-Cream (!) it was the most delicious dessert I have ever eaten. The breakfast too was exquisite – just baked croissant’s and pain au chocolate, freshly squeezed juices, home-made yogurt and a fry-up to beat all fry up’s! We have come away, two very relaxed, well fed guests!

Room Tip: If you join their website you will be emailed about any cut-price offer they do. Like half price on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrightenedFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

We booked as a treat night away, via a discount voucher so we weren't expecting anything more than a traditional room and a nice meal in the restaurant. We are fairly local but we had never visited before.

Parking is a pain but we got a space on the road outside at 6 and didn't need to move until 10am the next morning. Check in was a bit ...unpolished. The young man was polite and pleasant but he needed more training and it wasn't very slick, none the less, we were shown to our room 41 which was just amazing, it was totally stunning and we loved it.

A round 2.5m bed and a double roll top bath down stairs, it was just the perfect night.

Dinner was expensive but lovely, again slightly inconsistent service but they a 4 waiters that served us were pleasant and polite. it just needs to be a bit more polished, it charges london prices but it isn't london service.

The setting and design of the restaurant and bar are beautiful.

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to someone else it was great!

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 170,606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at the George for one night during January 2012. From the start, we were made to feel welcome and the dinner was one of the best I have ever had. The room was warm and comfortable and the bed likewise.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed here on an overnight bed & breakfast basis. The room (No.31) was amazing with its double ended bath & separate walk in shower. It was a family room with a little cabin style double bed which was cute for toddler’s maybe? The master bed was lovely & comfortable & v good quality but the mattress was in two parts so not so good for snuggling! The breakfast was great with a good variety to choose from. The hotel reception staff were excellent & only too happy to help - I felt as though nothing would have been too much to ask for. The hotel had a lovely relaxed feel about it. I would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMollyPippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed at the George for one night, and my only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Everything was perfect from when we first arrived, from reception (Jenny) to checking out.

Dinner was excellent, with a number of decent wines you can try by the glass. However it's probably not the best idea to open one of the external doors on a Jan evening! Breakfast was equally as good.

The room (42) was great, seems that individual thought has gone into each of them. I enjoyed the fantastic shower, and admired a lot of the design touches.

Would wholeheartedly recommend (in fact I have already!)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Julian K,

Thank you for your lovely feedback!! we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We had a delightful stay. Our room, a junior suite, was wonderful. Plenty of space and very tastefully decorated. The welcome on our arrival was friendly.

Our evening meal was excellent. My starter was just superb. My wife had a fish soup that she absolutely adored. We took a drink back to our room. Breakfast the next morning was just as good.

We did have to park a short walk away, but the hotel make no secret of this fact on their website.

I am surprised that other reviewers found the staff unfriendly. We thought the opposite and were very satisfied with the level of service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonjeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you very much! Excellent Feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I've just had a fantastic stay at The George in Rye with my wife. After reading reviews about miserable staff, average food and steep staircases we were a little apprehensive about our stay. From the first contact at reception (Garry) through every member of staff, the impression was friendly and professional. I don't understand how reviewers can dismiss staff so easily. We saw the same staff from our arrival (mid afternoon), into the evening and through to breakfast, which just shows how incredibly hard they all work, yet they still managed to remain courteous, even when one resident ordered them to bring pastries to their table at breakfast time, despite being capable to get them themselves! Other reviewers mentioned noisy rooms, creaky stairs etc. Yes, we heard people in other rooms, but the building is over 300 years old! You'd creak at that age! If you want a noiseless environment try checking into a faceless modern hotel instead. Food - we had great tasting food in the restaurant for the evening - potted shrimp pate, hot gambas and seabass for mains, all excellent, as was the breakfast. Even the cocktails in the bar, pre-dinner were great, on a par with The Grand Hotel Bar in Brighton. The biggest problem with the George in Rye is tearing yourself away! We only booked for one night, we needed a week! Hopefully we'll easily get a room, as all the grumpy, fussy, moaning reviewers will book into Faceless Manor.com

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizwiz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Owner at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Thanks very much for your review and for backing the architectural quirks of such an old building. Very glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully see you for a couple more nights next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £99 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing