We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The George Rye”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The George Rye”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Friendly efficient check-in.Extremely comfortable bed in a very pleasant room.The private table outside would be a joy in warmer days. Very quiet at night.Tea and coffee making facilities good. Room and bathroom both well appointed and very clean. I loved the shower!

Very good food in the evening was somewhat marred by the length of time the main course took to arrive. Thank heavens we had ordered a shared starter to keep us going.Service at breakfast was a bit hit and miss although food was good. Its not rocket science to serve a pot of tea for 2 fairly quickly.

Overall a very pleasant stay.which was reasonably priced with KGB offer, but would be a bit overpriced at normal prices

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for your comments! Very helpful.... sorry the tea took so long as you are right in saying that it isn't rocket science. Wonderful comments on Reception... They will be very pleased to hear!

Many thanks for choosing The George!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    354
    143
    58
    34
See reviews for
132
928
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

This trip was a valentine surprize for my husband purchased through groupon.
First impressions i loved every chair lamp picture cushion.The George was perfect for our relaxing trip.Check in was fine we were a couple of hours early so i kind of knew we wouldnt be shown our room but the receptionist did look on the computer.We left our bag there and went to get some lunch.It was 12.00 so not busy.Unfortunatly this was the one aspect where the George really need to pull things together.We were ignored by the bar man so i went to sit down then thought better of it and asked if it was ok to get some lunch.The guy was polite enough but didnt bring us menus or come and take a drinks order.A couple came in with there baby and sat at the next table.The waiter bought them a highchair took a drinks order and gave them menus and still we sat there.The maitra d ignored us as did a young waitress and then another guy ? restuarant maitra d came by i asked for menus and to place a drinks order as we had been seated for 10 mins.He opologized but im not sure how sincere he was.
Whilst waiting i noticed the wine glass on our table was dirty my husband said mines got lipstick !!!!!!!!!
We were starting to wonder what we had let ourselves in for.Our food arrived club sandwiches with fries which were very nice.To say i was relieved was an understatement.
I really dont understand why there were so many staff the woman that was running the floor was almost redundant my honest opinion is she was disorganized it would of been better to of had a person happy to actually do some work rather than give orders after all she hadnt realised we hadnt been seen she didnt know her own floor .keep the Maitra d for the resturant only.
Now our room, room 4 just up the stairs on the left.We loved it i mean loved it.The bed was ultra comfy i loved the lavender heart (i thought hubby was going to get me one) £15 he didnt!!!! the hotwater bottle the furniture, the box in the wardrobe with the coffee and tea and the ren products in the bathroom.We both slept soundly and were in no hurry to move.
Dinner was much more fun i loved the ginger mai tai again lots of staff getting in each others way but good none the less.Breakfast was good full english,lots of toast juices crossiants i had to lie down as my tummy hurt !!
Would we go back, in a heartbeat cant wait to try a different room.

Room Tip: look at the ballroom for a dreamy wedding venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roo66Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Hello Fellow Trip advisor,

Thank you for feedback! Some wonderful things said and some helpful insights to! We are continually reviewing our performance and product and you have highlighted some issues that are on the mend and we would like to ensure that the guests are always satisfied so we are grateful for you taking to the time write. Glad you enjoyed most of the stay and look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion hopefully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We have just returned from a two night mid-week stay at The George. We stayed in Room 9 which was very spacious and well kitted out. However I imagine from the attention to detail we experienced throughout the hotel, you would be pleased whichever room you picked. The beds were extremely comfortable and the Frette sheets were excellent. I loved all the REN products in the bathrooms and the copies of Larousse Gastronomique, Marie Claire and Homes and Property magazines in the bedroom were great too - whoever owns The George, really knows exactly who their customers are! We ate in the restaurant a lot. I would almost suggest that if you are a foodie that you would even come to The George for the restaurant alone as it is UNBELIEVABLE to get this level of food in such a small, remote medieval town is great! The chef was so accommodating to our off the menu request of 'coriander butter' instead of the other traditional sauces on offer to accompany our steaks. One night I had a starter of Spiced Beetroot and Gorgonzola risotto which was sublime and as for the Cinnamon Poached Pears and Brown Bread Ice-Cream (!) it was the most delicious dessert I have ever eaten. The breakfast too was exquisite – just baked croissant’s and pain au chocolate, freshly squeezed juices, home-made yogurt and a fry-up to beat all fry up’s! We have come away, two very relaxed, well fed guests!

Room Tip: If you join their website you will be emailed about any cut-price offer they do. Like half price on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrightenedFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We booked as a treat night away, via a discount voucher so we weren't expecting anything more than a traditional room and a nice meal in the restaurant. We are fairly local but we had never visited before.

Parking is a pain but we got a space on the road outside at 6 and didn't need to move until 10am the next morning. Check in was a bit ...unpolished. The young man was polite and pleasant but he needed more training and it wasn't very slick, none the less, we were shown to our room 41 which was just amazing, it was totally stunning and we loved it.

A round 2.5m bed and a double roll top bath down stairs, it was just the perfect night.

Dinner was expensive but lovely, again slightly inconsistent service but they a 4 waiters that served us were pleasant and polite. it just needs to be a bit more polished, it charges london prices but it isn't london service.

The setting and design of the restaurant and bar are beautiful.

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to someone else it was great!

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 170606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at the George for one night during January 2012. From the start, we were made to feel welcome and the dinner was one of the best I have ever had. The room was warm and comfortable and the bed likewise.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley Gobion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed here on an overnight bed & breakfast basis. The room (No.31) was amazing with its double ended bath & separate walk in shower. It was a family room with a little cabin style double bed which was cute for toddler’s maybe? The master bed was lovely & comfortable & v good quality but the mattress was in two parts so not so good for snuggling! The breakfast was great with a good variety to choose from. The hotel reception staff were excellent & only too happy to help - I felt as though nothing would have been too much to ask for. The hotel had a lovely relaxed feel about it. I would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMollyPippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed at the George for one night, and my only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Everything was perfect from when we first arrived, from reception (Jenny) to checking out.

Dinner was excellent, with a number of decent wines you can try by the glass. However it's probably not the best idea to open one of the external doors on a Jan evening! Breakfast was equally as good.

The room (42) was great, seems that individual thought has gone into each of them. I enjoyed the fantastic shower, and admired a lot of the design touches.

Would wholeheartedly recommend (in fact I have already!)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Julian K,

Thank you for your lovely feedback!! we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Property: The George in Rye
Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing