We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous George”
Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous George”
Reviewed 30 June 2008

My husband and I are regular visitors to The George. Since the refurb it has become our favourite UK retreat - we love exploring the area and find the hotel fabulously informal, while being extremely well-run. The place has been miraculously transformed by the Clarkes - the rooms are gorgeous with luxurious touches, the bar and restaurant equally so. The food is fantastic and we are always assured of a warm welcome. Other people clearly share our view - booking ahead is advised!

  • Liked — Beautiful hotel with warm welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JessimaeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    368
    149
    60
    35
See reviews for
141
969
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We stayed here last year just after they finished the renovation (room 16), and it was so lovely we decided to go back for our wedding anniversary last month. The staff at this hotel are extremely helpful and charming without being smarmy. Our room, 1 this time, (we peeked through the door on our last visit and could not resist booking it this time) was gorgeous. It was beautifully decorated and had a fabulous bathroom with 2 shower heads in the huge shower area and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The food was great, so simple, fresh and delicious. There is nothing negative to say about this hotel apart from that it is annoyingly popular and often fully booked and I am dying to go back there again for another wonderful, relaxing stay.

  • Liked — The comfort of the bed and the fabulous decoration
  • Disliked — That my bed does not feel that way
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank f-for-farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penshurst
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We loved our weekend at The George in Rye. We had read the many glowing reviews about the stylish design, the food, and the intimate atmosphere, so we arrived with high expectations. We were not to be disappointed. Everything the critics have written about this little jewel is true. The room was beautiful. The food was delicious and the staff were welcoming and constantly attentive. We will certainly visit The George again.

Linn Macdonald

  • Liked — warm friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Meadow-Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2008

Previous review is interesting as we were under impression they welcomed 'locals' at lunchtimes?

Anyway booked a weekend here as blast from past as stayed about 15 years ago and heard the refurb was lovely . The room we had (7 I think) was a bit small (as were the attic ones all those years ago) but quite well organised. Seems a bit domestic to be chic but obviously they are getting lots of bookings due to affluent weekenders and weddings. Parking down near station is a bit of a pain but that is Rye. Food was 'average' and no better that I would expect with access to local seafood etc. Room rates pricy and I can think of get away places that are better value for money.
will not go again.

  • Liked — bathrooms
  • Disliked — parking issues
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We recently stayed at The George for our 10th aniversary. We rarely make the effort to get away, but my husbands mother decided to treat us by taking the kids for the weekend, and I can not imagine a better place to escape to. My husband had been told about the George by a friend of his at the office and we had been tipped off that room 8 was the one to go for. We were not disappointed, it was fabulous. All the home comforts you could wish for and a bed that makes it impossible to go downstairs for breakfast, we slept through on day one! The food was fantastic, the chef came from Moro, one of my favourite restaurants. On Sunday morning we had a late breakfast, checked out and went down to the beach for the most relaxed Sunday morning paper session ever on Camber Sands. So perfect. Could not resist a cheeky pint at the bar before getiing back to my very fraught mother in Law on Sunday evening.

  • Liked — bed
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellsviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We stayed in The George for a romantic weekend away, and thought Rye was an excellent location - not far from London, lots to do, and plenty of good restaurants.

Our room (25) was a good size (although the sloping ceilings in the bedroom and bathroom were an issue for my 6' 3" boyfriend), and tastefully furnished.

In terms of food, we arrived at 9pm on the Friday evening and were told the dining room was closed, and were only offered cold snacks (almonds, corn chips, olives) and chips in the bar. It wasn't until we went to bed that we saw that we could have ordered sandwiches from room service.

Breakfast was a little disappointing; the homemade yoghurt was lovely, as was the fresh juice, but our full cooked breakfast was a bit mixed - the sausage tasted cheap & fatty, the bacon was totally dry and overcooked and the mushrooms were leathery.

We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday, but we had a look at the menu and it was cheaper than we expected -£14 or so for main courses.

The outdoor courtyard is a lovely place for drinks or lunch, and the restaurant bar has a good range of surprisingly good English wines - the Chapel Down rose is definitely worth trying!

  • Liked — Location - centrally located in pretty Rye, and the decor - tasteful and comfortable.
  • Disliked — Disappointing breakfast and TERRIBLE WiFi connection - very slow and patchy.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fionapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We've just returned from a very pleasant weekend at the George, where we splashed out on a junior suite, No. 1, which was lovely--spacious and very attractively decorated. If the room was a treat, we'd have to say that this place desperately needs some serious tuning when it comes to service in their restaurant. At dinner, the staff was charming, but we waited an hour before our order arrived, and then it was the main courses--the waiter had somehow or another skipped our starters. The next morning at breakfast, the mood in the diningroom was similarly grim because it took forever to finally be served our cooked breakfast, and when it arrived, we'd run out of coffee, which then took forever to come again. The young staff here are friendly and well-meaning, but for these prices, they really should hire a seasoned always on-the-spot general manager who could assure that you get the service these room rates warrant.

  • Liked — beautifully decorated room
  • Disliked — poor service in the diningroom
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank InveterateExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
972 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Property: The George in Rye
Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing