We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George in Rye
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lodge at Winchelsea(Winchelsea)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claverton Country House Hotel(Battle)(Great Value!)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,509)
Filter reviews
1,509 results
Traveller rating
842
404
162
64
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
842
404
162
64
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roomchateaubriandshop next doorren productshigh streetlovely hotelstation car parkjunior suiteroll top bathpoached pearcattle marketbreakfast serviceboutique hotelwedding partyscallopswine listlamb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
988 - 993 of 1,509 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Had high expectations after reading reviews and was left somewhat disappointed. Room wasn't ready upon arrival, even though we were within check-in time and reception staff disorganised. A little tired, would benefit from a bit of time and money spent on it, felt grubby in areas....carpets dirty in communal area and bedroom. Good restaurant though menu limited. Cute hotel though feel like its past it's prime in current condition.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a_scott95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at The George as a birthday treat and were really looking forward to a romantic time away. I really wanted to love this place and there are some good aspects, however several aspects of the stay including customer service were sadly lacking.
The welcome was friendly and check in was efficient and the communal areas including the lounge were warm and welcoming.
We stayed in room 45 which was tucked away, quiet and cosy. It was beautifully furnished with fabric wallpaper and lovely soft bed linen. It had subdued lighting which was nice and created a romantic atmophere, which was just want we wanted.
However we had a few issues during our stay which turned what could have been an amazing stay into an annoying experience. Firstly the room didn't have an iron or ironing board despite there being adequate storage for one. Requiring a request to reception to have one delivered, which normally wouldn't be a problem. However it took over an hour for it to arrive. Resulting in us not being able to relax and unwind prior to dinner as we were sat waiting for a knock at the door.
Secondly on closer inspection in natural daylight what we thought was a cosy romantic space the night before looked tired in places and quite grubby. Please see the attached pictures of the headboard and a scatter cushion. I dread to think what these stains are, but in an establishment charging such room rates I would expect the rooms to be cleaner.
We also ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious as one would expect when paying £50:00 per head. However the service was really poor and the restaurant had a very odd atmosphere. We were sat in the upper portion of the restaurant and it felt like eating in a coffee shop, with staff coming and going, chatting and laughing with each other. Despite the restaurant being almost empty with only 4 other tables occupied, the waits beween courses were lenghty and it was at times really difficult to get anyone's attention as they were too busy chatting. My partner had to leave our table to grab our wine from the ice bucket and we had to ask for our water to be replenished which is bonkers when you have several staff standing chatting and an empty dining room. We just felt they weren't paying any attention to serving us. It was also difficult to concentrate on eating with staff setting up the breakfast service and laughing and joking all around us. It was certainly not to the standard we were used to at that price.
I really wanted to like this place but even upon complaining in person following dining and having e-mailed the operations manager with no response, the staff have been apathetic at best. I would certainly advise anyone considering staying at The George to save your money and go somewhere else until they sort out their customer service.

Room Tip: Room 45 was very nice, but make sure you ask if they have cleaned the stains off the headboard before you book.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Selondonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Just got back from a lovely night away to celebrate my girlfriends 19th birthday, I purchased a travel zoo voucher well in advance and managed to get a Superior sweet for just £135, this includes £50 to spend at dinner and unlimited breakfast so the cost was nothing to worry about. Our room was plenty spacious and very well cleaned and kept. Food was just right. Something that I did like was the fact we are only 19 but were treated like proper adults with the service we expected. A*

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammphilpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We purchased a Travelzoo voucher - £135 for a 3 course dinner, bed & breakfast - and decided to use it overnight on 24/25 November. We'd celebrated our Ruby wedding anniversary the week before and chose Rye because after our wedding 40 years ago we couldn't afford a honeymoon but, on a whim, had driven down to Rye one day. We thought it a quaint place and always intended to return for a stay. Anyhow, 40 years later we did! What a great hotel The George is. The thing that struck us was that ALL the staff, from the ladies on the reception desk to the servers in the restaurant were so pleasant and friendly. Our evening dinner was excellent and our bed very comfortable. We had room 23 which isn't in the main building, and the walk across the yard was a bit chilly it being November, but the room itself was spacious and beautiful, with a very comfortable bed, and flat screen t.v. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel are slightly smaller, so I was informed. Our room (23) was spacious, but you have to trek across the yard.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irenepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I really can't fault this lovely hotel. Lovely old building, beautifully decorated, warm and homely. Chairs in the sitting room that you want to curl up and go to sleep in. Lovely REN treats in the bathrooms. A delicious meal on our first night - beautiful scallops, prawn linguine, sea bass. And lovely friendly staff. Unfortunately we were ill on our second day (nothing to do with the hotel) and the staff couldn't have been nicer, even leaving hot water bottles and magazines outside our room which was a lovely and thoughtful surprise. I frequently heard people requesting particular rooms that they'd obviously stayed in before or being greeted by name by the staff, this is obviously a very popular place. And rightly so.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews