We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Boutique Hotel ..Put Rye on your list..”
Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Came back last night after a fabulous stay at the George.The rooms are beautifully appointed as is the whole hotel.The bars and seating areas are welcoming and with open fires and a comfortable bar area.The bedrooms are delightful we stayed in a courtyard room upstairs...great character and history in the whole hotel.the shop next door is owed by them and you can buy bits and pieces they use in the hotel.
Rye is a lovely place to visit...put it on your bucket list....
My only complaint was we didn't stay long enough..
We were with friends who enjoyed their stay too.Special thank you to the staff who all did their jobs very well...we went on a travelzoo offer which was fabulous value..

Room Tip: Any of them !
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The George In Rye in the not too distant future, and if we can be of any assistance whatsoever either prior to or during your visit, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me. As you have seen, located in the centre of Rye, East Sussex, the hotel was recently renovated to create one of the most stunning hideaways on the south coast. The building dates from 1575 and has enviable heritage; it even has an original Georgian ballroom used for lavish weddings and banquets. An eclectic and contemporary design has been given to this historic fabric using a wide range of antique and modern furniture, materials and local art. The result is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. Come and see us again soon….. Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,390)
There are newer reviews for The George in Rye
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was my third time staying at the George. This time we stayed in a superior room at the back on the upper level which was peaceful. The room was comfortable, clean and very welcoming with some nice extras touches.

Our evening meal was delicious and staff were very helpful and our food arrived promptly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lumpyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Such lovely feedback and we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to review your visit to The George in Rye. We receive so much amazing and terrific feedback from guests upon checking out and then a very small fraction of this will ever reach Trip advisor and so we are grateful. This passionate team here will be delighted to hear your comment when I speak to them and I can tell you that it does help and they work so hard day to day to meet every guest expectation no matter how different from one to the next. And it’s so wonderful to know that now the George In Rye is that little bit more special to you. As Henry James, American author who lived nearby nearby wrote “Experience is never limited, and is never complete,” he must have meant The George In Rye!
Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Room and bathroom spotlessly clean and lots of handy extras included. Really comfortable room. Excellent food at dinner and breakfast, and all staff were attentive and friendly. We can highly recommend this hotel and we will stay again. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42 and it was very comfortable and quiet. Large bathroom with large bath and showe...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here for one night staying in a first floor room over the courtyard. Positives: The room was nice, the restaurant and bar great, they made great mohitos! It's right in the centre of Rye which is lovely. Negatives: bathroom fine, although there was a hole in the flooring. The bed was a bit soft for us and the pillows uncomfortable so not a great nights sleep but may be fine for others, and we had very noisy people above us all night, not the hotels fault just think we were unlucky. Apart from a bad nights sleep we had a lovely time. Would we stay here again? Yes we would

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Huckers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have always loved Rye having pretty much grown up going to Camber stands so both Rye and the surrounding areas hold some great memory's! Shame i really can not say the same thing about this hotel ! we where so pleased when we arrived but shortly after with no warning from the hotel it was taken over by a very large and loud wedding party! that completely ruined my night! :-(

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
I thank you very much indeed for your constructive comments. The George in Rye is a quintessential English Hotel and I am sure will remain so for many years to come. Your comment has been most helpful and I am grateful for you pointing them to me and I hope you will be kind enough to let me know when you are next visiting the hotel so that I will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in person and see that you do have a pleasant stay. Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on 02.03.2014 for our anniversary. We got the deal through Groupon and had a wonderful time. The receptionists were really helpful and friendly, our room was number 40 which was a luxury suite and wow was it lovely! The bed was huge and soooo comfortable, and the bath was amazing! We had dinner in the restaurant there, and it was delicious. A little pricey, I thought at first (however the boyfriend said it was his treat) and after tasting how amazing the food was, it was so worth it! We also had a cocktail afterwards which was lovely. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the staff were all very friendly. As much as we would love to come back again, I dont think we would be able to afford it (as I would need to have another luxury room for that bath ;-), however if the deal ever came up again we would buy it straight away. I could not recommend enough and hope to go back some day.

Room Tip: Room 40 is very quiet :-)
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmas0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for three nights to celebrate a birthday and booked a luxury room. When we arrived, we were shown to room 40, which is outside in the courtyard. Initially I was not keen on the location, but the room grew on me and the bathroom to die for. Huge shower and a funky metal bath.

The hotel bar is buzzy in the evenings and one of the best places we found to drink in Rye. We ate in The Grill, which was very good. There was an excellent choice for breakfast and without exception, the staff were friendly and efficient and made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: The outside rooms are quiet and cosy, they provide a brolly for when it rains.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennypieceReadingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback!! We are so pleased to hear that you did enjoy attending a wedding at The George in Rye. Our original Georgian Ballroom is unrivalled for its elegance and is truly one of the most romantic wedding venues in Sussex and Kent. Stylishly restored 450-year-old inn with an excellent restaurant in one of England's most picturesque near-the-seaside towns so it’s no wonder that the weddings and private parties are so popular! Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,358 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £104 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing