We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Rye not so sure about the George” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George in Rye
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved Rye not so sure about the George”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Room was billed as superior - oh dear not in my world.

The bed was far too soft and my friend described it "like sleeping in a hammock". We both had the worst nights sleep ever. Mostly for me because of the bed but also because the hotel was so noisy. We were told it was fully booked but everyone and their friend must have passed our room in various forms of boots.

I booked this little over night trip for a rest and came home exhausted.

Food was average at best and beware the lure of the word discount in the "shop next door". Check your bill before you leave.

Would return to Rye but look for an alternative venue - although the location of the George is very good

Room Tip: Ask for a hard bed and a quiet located room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w6fkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
I thank you very much indeed for your constructive comments. The George in Rye is a quintessential English Hotel and I am sure will remain so for many years to come. Your comment has been most helpful and I am grateful for you pointing them to me and I hope you will be kind enough to let me know when you are next visiting the hotel so that I will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in person and see that you do have a pleasant stay. Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    344
    140
    58
    33
See reviews for
130
906
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We visited the George in rye to celebrate our one year anniversary. I commented on the booking that it was our anniversary and we were given a beautiful quiet room with a great bath and shower. The room was spotless and spacious.

We also had dinner and breakfast and really enjoyed the food. Nice bar area although if seated in the bar the tables for couples are very close together.

The staff were friendly, nothing too much trouble and after asking for a DVD player and iron we had these within minutes.

Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Room 45 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaE535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Such lovely feedback and we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to review your visit to The George in Rye. We receive so much amazing and terrific feedback from guests upon checking out and then a very small fraction of this will ever reach Trip advisor and so we are grateful. This passionate team here will be delighted to hear your comment when I speak to them and I can tell you that it does help and they work so hard day to day to meet every guest expectation no matter how different from one to the next. And it’s so wonderful to know that now the George In Rye is that little bit more special to you. As Henry James, American author who lived nearby nearby wrote “Experience is never limited, and is never complete,” he must have meant The George In Rye!
Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have just stayed at The George and I can honestly say I had the best time of my life.Literally everything about The George is perfect.The ambiance.The people.The food.The drinks.All perfect.I have stayed at The George on numerous occasions and each time it gets better.I'm not sure how this is possible as it was amazing when I first went there.I recommend The George and cannot overstate how gorgeous this place is.Brilliant.Fabulous.Perfect.Amazing.Sensational.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 96MrBignose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Fellow Tripadvisor,
WOW! Sounds like you had a super fantastic time here in Rye at The George!! We do see ourselves as a hidden gem that the masses still have not discovered – Antique shopping, cobblestone streets, Sunday papers, a pint of Harvey’s, and a romantic evening in a buzzing atmosphere and the trouble is trying to decide whether to eat in the Bar or Grill! Decisions Decisions! Rye’s most famous resident of the 1920s, E. F. Benson felt the town’s garden parties and bridge evenings made the perfect backdrop for arch rivals Miss Mapp and Lucia, to enter an all singing all dancing acerbic tongued war for social supremacy. So pleased you enjoyed your time here and please come a visit us again soon. Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Can see why the George is rated well as a hotel...great character, comfy bar with good beers and a perfect location bang in the centre of a fascinating town. We took the javelin train from St Pancras and so avoided parking issues; the George is only minutes walk from Rye station. The room was quirky with its own set of mini (steep) stairs...excellent.

Can also see why the restaurant doesn't score as well...breakfast was a huge disappointment as everything in the buffet was stone cold and we weren't late arriving. Asked for a menu to choose something else but nothing appeared...no-one seemed to have one. This bit needs urgent attention unless it was an aberration

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footprint99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

and as an extra bonus Wednesday is market day. Rye was simply beautiful in the sun shine. We needed two trips round the one way system before we drove through the arch to find the High Street.
The staff were very efficient and helpful.
We thoroughly enjoyed our meal in the hotel restaurant.
An experience we would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Came back last night after a fabulous stay at the George.The rooms are beautifully appointed as is the whole hotel.The bars and seating areas are welcoming and with open fires and a comfortable bar area.The bedrooms are delightful we stayed in a courtyard room upstairs...great character and history in the whole hotel.the shop next door is owed by them and you can buy bits and pieces they use in the hotel.
Rye is a lovely place to visit...put it on your bucket list....
My only complaint was we didn't stay long enough..
We were with friends who enjoyed their stay too.Special thank you to the staff who all did their jobs very well...we went on a travelzoo offer which was fabulous value..

Room Tip: Any of them !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heather109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The George In Rye in the not too distant future, and if we can be of any assistance whatsoever either prior to or during your visit, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me. As you have seen, located in the centre of Rye, East Sussex, the hotel was recently renovated to create one of the most stunning hideaways on the south coast. The building dates from 1575 and has enviable heritage; it even has an original Georgian ballroom used for lavish weddings and banquets. An eclectic and contemporary design has been given to this historic fabric using a wide range of antique and modern furniture, materials and local art. The result is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. Come and see us again soon….. Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was my third time staying at the George. This time we stayed in a superior room at the back on the upper level which was peaceful. The room was comfortable, clean and very welcoming with some nice extras touches.

Our evening meal was delicious and staff were very helpful and our food arrived promptly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lumpyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Such lovely feedback and we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to review your visit to The George in Rye. We receive so much amazing and terrific feedback from guests upon checking out and then a very small fraction of this will ever reach Trip advisor and so we are grateful. This passionate team here will be delighted to hear your comment when I speak to them and I can tell you that it does help and they work so hard day to day to meet every guest expectation no matter how different from one to the next. And it’s so wonderful to know that now the George In Rye is that little bit more special to you. As Henry James, American author who lived nearby nearby wrote “Experience is never limited, and is never complete,” he must have meant The George In Rye!
Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#3 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Property: The George in Rye
Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing