We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the queen room - a small but perfectly sized room , for one night. One of the comfiest beds I've stayed in. Great welcome at reception , really nice members of staff who seem to enjoy what they do.

Has dinner at the grill downstairs , great food but the restaurant was pretty hot to sit in!

Breakfast (included) was great. Has a lovely court yard in the middle of hotel too which was nice.

Would definitely visit again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank binkyboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    360
    145
    59
    35
See reviews for
135
946
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We chose the George as our perfect weekend escape from London and it definitely delivered all we were after - a luxurious room that was comfortable and spacious with lovely touches (cashmere-covered hot water bottle, bespoke tea and coffee, Ren toiletries). Our dinner in the Grill was superb and our breakfast was equally fantastic. The bar and common rooms have a great local atmosphere, and the location is smack in the middle of town within easy walking distance of the rail station. Staff were very friendly and accommodating (my husband cycled to Rye and they allowed him to lock the bike in their storeroom). Our only negative of the entire stay was that we were kept awake - firstly by a few drunks who camped in the outdoor area. We were assured this is not allowed after 10pm but unfortunately were awoken at midnight, however after a quick call to the front desk they did move on. Sadly, we were still kept awake until 4am by a family with young children in the room above ours... walls/floors seemed very thin. However, I admit we were probably unlucky and the staff did everything to ensure we had a comfortable, restful stay. The rest of our time was so lovely I would still return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aelliott21921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sissinghurst, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

An eclectic mix of old and new that marry perfectly. We arrived at The George and were met by friendly helpful staff. Before you can wave a magic wand we were chilling on the large sofa with a glass of good quality Sauvignon in hand. The room had an East African feel to it with the velvet cushions blinds and amazing head board. Our bathroom could have accommodated a banquet for 10 easily. A wonderful free standing bath and a walk in shower. High quality products from the toiletries to the tea and coffee supplies. After a wonderful nights sleep in the comfortable bed with goid quality linen we were both refreshed to enjoy the wonderful variety offered at breakfast. The restaurant is awesome. The Grill are staff attentive but distant enough not to be too intrusive. We have eaten in the restaurant before highly recommend it but now we will definitely be recommending a sleep over to! Thank you

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FairyKisses5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A great lunch on day out in Rye.... there were so many great dishes on the modern menu it was hard to choose. The bar and restaurant have a great atmosphere, especially when the great fire in the bar is roaring. The dover sole and Half pint of Prawns were great, and my friend had fabulous squid and Salt Marsh Lamb

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonRandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

For a change, we decided to stay closer to home rather than do a foreign city break. With fingers crossed on good weather, we set to Rye and stumbled on The George. This was truly a lovely hotel in an idyllic setting. Our room was modern, spacious and tastefully decorated with all the amenities for a comfortable stay. The restaurant at the George is a must. The food and wine were excellent with very good service from staff with a friendly and "can do" attitude.

Room Tip: Stayed in a luxury room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendricks62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a wonderful time during our stay at The George. The location was excellent for exploring the town of Rye and the local sights. The reception staff were warm and welcoming, as were the restaurant staff. The attention to detail was very good and I appreciated having a hot water bottle and ground coffee provided without having to ask. We loved the decor of our room (number 43) and the bathroom was relaxing. The decor of the whole hotel was eclectic and creative without being cluttered or brash.

Overall, we had a lovely time relaxing at this cosy and unique hotel. I'd definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wurzel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here using a Travelzoo offer, and it was outstanding value for money. The room allocated was luxurious, and had everything we needed including robes, smellies, and a lovely wooden box containing coffee/cafetiere - and biscuits. Every member of staff we encountered were most helpful and very polite. The food in the restaurant was delicious, we both had the local lamb with chocolate tart to follow - and a glass of wine. Breakfast choices were wide, the buffet and fresh juices were a lovely start, and I can really recommend the Eggs Benedict, there were many other choices including everything from smoke salmon, the usual English breakfast - to boiled egg and soldiers! You could park outside temporarily to unload and parking was nearby for £1.50 for all night. Amazing place.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue request Room 30 - it opens out onto the courtyard and there is side access al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozzie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Property: The George in Rye
Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing