We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best in Rye - more than decent but could be more luxe.”
Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Rye - more than decent but could be more luxe.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We visited Rye on the way to Kent. The George is great because it's located right in the best part of Rye - a beautiful vintage town up on a hill with plenty of cobbled streets. It's a cosy B&B that is refurbished to have a lux vintage feel. There's a great restaurant on the ground level that is fairly popular with locals and guests alike (though I was sorely disappointed when they ran out of Fish & Chips) and it's also a lovely place for the breakfast buffet - great croissants and coffees (ask for a latte).

The room itself was very small but fairly well insulated in terms of noise. They do their best to make it feel homely and the bed was really comfortable and I loved the fact that they had a hot water bottle for use on the bed. Shower products were Ren branded travel bottles which were great and sink space was adequate. There was also a full-length mirror on the door of the toilet which was handy. You can also find the kettle, coffee and tea (tea pigs! great!) in a box in the cupboard.

Downsides were that the TV was pretty tiny, and the toilet did not feel as luxe as it could be. There was no shower arm, and the shower head, though adequate was not exactly a power shower. The bathtub splash door was too short and hence not exactly splash proof. The layout didn't exactly make it easy to access the towels either. Also no bedroom slippers provided though maybe that's the case for most B&Bs.

Overall I'm glad we stayed at The George and the town around it was worth exploring - so beautiful on a sunny day! Despite the cons I'd recommend this place which is probably one of the best already in the area.

Room Tip: I'd request for a larger room next time I visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Such lovely feedback and we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to review your visit to The George in Rye. We receive so much amazing and terrific feedback from guests upon checking out and then a very small fraction of this will ever reach Trip advisor and so we are grateful. This passionate team here will be delighted to hear your comment when I speak to them and I can tell you that it does help and they work so hard day to day to meet every guest expectation no matter how different from one to the next. And it’s so wonderful to know that now the George In Rye is that little bit more special to you. As Henry James, American author who lived nearby nearby wrote “Experience is never limited, and is never complete,” he must have meant The George In Rye!
Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    360
    145
    59
    35
See reviews for
135
946
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We visited the George in Rye as a special birthday treat, although we know Rye quite well have never stayed the night before. The George lived up to all expectations, the location is excellent although Rye is so small almost anywhere in the town would be a good location. Our welcome was warm and although most of the front of house staff were German their accents were as cut-glass English as is possible to imagine. Our room, on the top floor at the rear was one just grade up from the standard room , it was small but beautifully furnished with a four poster bed with a stunning bathroom. When booking in future we will avoid rooms at the rear of the hotel because the kitchen extractor fans run all night and make a rather annoying dull hum and the odours from the kitchen can be quite invasive.
The restaurant was busy and the food and service were excellent although why the chef chose to serve a beautiful Dover sole covered in a strong shrimp sauce and highly flavoured roast potatoes is a puzzle. We did comment to the charming waiter who said that he would convey my thoughts to the chef, we were then offered compliemtary pitits fours and coffee.
This is a justly popular destination and with some small reservations would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the rear because of the noise of the kitchen extractor fan which runs 24 hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Roaming_Pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Fellow Tripadvisor,
WOW! Sounds like you had a super fantastic time here in Rye at The George!! We do see ourselves as a hidden gem that the masses still have not discovered – Antique shopping, cobblestone streets, Sunday papers, a pint of Harvey’s, and a romantic evening in a buzzing atmosphere and the trouble is trying to decide whether to eat in the Bar or Grill! Decisions Decisions! Rye’s most famous resident of the 1920s, E. F. Benson felt the town’s garden parties and bridge evenings made the perfect backdrop for arch rivals Miss Mapp and Lucia, to enter an all singing all dancing acerbic tongued war for social supremacy. So pleased you enjoyed your time here and please come a visit us again soon. Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We wanted a couple of nights away just before Easter and, knowing this part of the country well, we decided on Rye for our base and booked in at the George. We we very glad we did. The hotel is located superbly in the ancient high street and we received a very warm welcome. We booked a luxury room which lived up to its description - very comfy bed, nice seating and superb bathroom wit a roll top bath. You can see all the rooms on the website and choose which one you want if it is available. The hotel has a comfy bar with traditional pub tables and a selection of real ales, and of course any other drink you fancy. Drink prices are not a lot different to pub prices and cheaper than some London pubs. The bar connects to the restaurant in which we dined on both evenings as sadly there is little choice in the area without driving out. But this was hardly a problem, the food was excellent! The local scallops were wonderful and the Romney Marsh lamb is a specialty which was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was first class -hot food cooked beautifully to order, even the bread was home made. We didn't really want to come back to the real world.

Room Tip: Rooms are individually designed - choose on the website (if available)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royslater999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Beautiful hotel, lovely decor, delicious food. The homemade yoghurt served at breakfast was absolutely superb, very quiet room, (reached by its own staircase) that overlooked the rear of the hotel. Pillows were so comfy I went out and bought 2 from the hotels shop! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at The George numerous times over the last 6 years. I have always loved it, great service, beautiful decor, nice little touches. Food has always been good and with excellent service.

But sadly not this time - we were very surprised by the poor quality this visit, compared to our previous stays.

The restaurant was not busy when our table was booked for 8.30 on a Sunday night but the service was really poor. A very long wait for the menus, the wine took about 15 mins to reach the table, no bread and then we noticed the floor under our table really filthy. All in all a disappointing experience. The food was ok but again it just took a really long time - out mains finally arrived at nearly 10pm.

On this visit I really thought the bar should be guests only. I have never thought that before but on this visit from about 4pm until we were sitting there waiting to be seated for dinner there were a group of really loud drunk men sat in the bar, it was really rowdy and there was one member of staff serving and it took ages to be served. This bar used to have a good choice of cocktails and bar snacks but this does not seem the case anymore.

Now onto the room - quite possibly the worst hotel experienced ever! Our room was so cold that you could see your breath on the air. We called room service because we thought the heating was not working and was told that we should use the plug in heater that was in the cupboard- I would not have taken the room if we were told the heating did not work properly and that we would have to use the plug in heater. Sounds whiney but I didn't pay for a superior room to feel freezing cold and to have to regulate the heating myself during the night. Hence we had a few hours sleep and it totally ruined our experience. What was more disappointing was the reaction from the manager the next morning when trying to explain our disappointment about the situation with the heating - it felt like pulling teeth to get recognition from him that this situation is not acceptable from a hotel of any standard. Yes we got a free nights stay ( albeit after haggling at the front desk the next morning in front of other guests checking out ) but it was the attitude from him that has made us not to want to return. All in all we found it sadly disappointing.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Nearlymrsshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the queen room - a small but perfectly sized room , for one night. One of the comfiest beds I've stayed in. Great welcome at reception , really nice members of staff who seem to enjoy what they do.

Has dinner at the grill downstairs , great food but the restaurant was pretty hot to sit in!

Breakfast (included) was great. Has a lovely court yard in the middle of hotel too which was nice.

Would definitely visit again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank binkyboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We chose the George as our perfect weekend escape from London and it definitely delivered all we were after - a luxurious room that was comfortable and spacious with lovely touches (cashmere-covered hot water bottle, bespoke tea and coffee, Ren toiletries). Our dinner in the Grill was superb and our breakfast was equally fantastic. The bar and common rooms have a great local atmosphere, and the location is smack in the middle of town within easy walking distance of the rail station. Staff were very friendly and accommodating (my husband cycled to Rye and they allowed him to lock the bike in their storeroom). Our only negative of the entire stay was that we were kept awake - firstly by a few drunks who camped in the outdoor area. We were assured this is not allowed after 10pm but unfortunately were awoken at midnight, however after a quick call to the front desk they did move on. Sadly, we were still kept awake until 4am by a family with young children in the room above ours... walls/floors seemed very thin. However, I admit we were probably unlucky and the staff did everything to ensure we had a comfortable, restful stay. The rest of our time was so lovely I would still return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aelliott21921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Property: The George in Rye
Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing