We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape from London”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great escape from London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed over for a night and had a thoroughly brilliant stay, lovely rooms, and very helpful and welcoming staff. Breakfast is a feast, just take your time and relax. Thoroughly recommend this place. Very central location so you can easily wander around Rye.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your experience at The George In Rye and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind comments have been gratefully received and it has been my pleasure to pass them on to the staff. As many of our longstanding guests would only be too pleased to tell you, this is certainly the hotel to visit when one wants to treat oneself and indulge in luxury. Rooms are beautifully designed with retro touches and luxe details including Frette linen, Tivoli radios, and REN toiletries. I am so glad that The George In Rye lived up to your expectations. Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    354
    143
    58
    34
See reviews for
132
929
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed four nights, so got to know the hotel quite well. The George is in great need of renovation and investment. It looks extremely tired:- flaking paint on windows and door sills, threadbare mats, filthy hall carpets, and rotten woodwork were all too visible.
Our bedroom was disappointing both in its design and condition. It is 20 years since I last saw 5amp plugs in a hotel bedroom, the blind was badly frayed, and the en suite well overdue for refurbishment. Its grubby cream painted wooden panels seemed decades old and looked badly out of place in a boutique hotel. The loo seat couldn’t be raised without holding it up, the bathroom lighting was dim in the extreme, and the basin was very badly cracked.
The lounge tables were un-wiped and marked with the remnants of previous customers’ drinks, and the lounge sideboard had traces of paper stuck to its surface.
The lack of on-site parking would be a problem for many customers, since the recommended car park was some distance away.
On the plus side, the hotel is well positioned in the High Street, the staff are helpful and attentive, and the food is excellent although expensive. There is no table d’hote dinner menu.

Room Tip: Many rooms are in adjacent annexes. Noise from above/below could be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time and trouble to comment on your experience upon checking out thus enabling us to maintain and, where necessary, improve upon the services we deliver to our guests. Further to your comments, I would like to send my sincere apologies for the problems that you experienced. Clearly your visit did not live up to your expectations of The George. I have spoken to the team about the points that you raised. We have taken on board your feedback and I understand the disappointment this has caused you on such a special time away. You may rest assured that I have responded to your comments concerned and I trust that on your next visit, you will notice a vast improvement. Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Had such a lovely one night stay at this hotel for our second wedding anniversary. Room was beautiful, full of pretty and practical little touches. Amazing bathroom with roll top bath. Had lunch in the restaurant, gourmet fish and chips, WOW! Restaurant decor and lounge is gorgeous. All the staff were lovely. Cannot recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: No parking onsite but car park 2mins drive is £1.50 for 24 hours. Painless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyWilson705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Such lovely feedback and we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to review your visit to The George in Rye. We receive so much amazing and terrific feedback from guests upon checking out and then a very small fraction of this will ever reach Trip advisor and so we are grateful. This passionate team here will be delighted to hear your comment when I speak to them and I can tell you that it does help and they work so hard day to day to meet every guest expectation no matter how different from one to the next. And it’s so wonderful to know that now the George In Rye is that little bit more special to you. As Henry James, American author who lived nearby nearby wrote “Experience is never limited, and is never complete,” he must have meant The George In Rye!
Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the George Hotel in a Rye for one night. The hotel is centrally located and very tastefully decorated with high quality fixtures and fittings. The entrance hall and reception are welcoming and very boutique style. Reception and hotel staff charming.

The hotel is very old and our room was on the first floor across the courtyard to the rear. The room was very spacious for 2 people with a huge bed and comfy seating area. The only criticism I have, is that the bathroom looked a little tired in comparison with the rest of the room and there were some grubby marks on the carpet and bedding. The hotel was prompt to change the bedding for us, so I have no complaints there.

We dined in the restaurant where the choice of local cuisine was excellent. The food is of a very high standard as is the wine selection and reasonably priced for a boutique hotel. The hotel were happy to accommodate our request to have desert and wine in our room and were also happy to set up a tab for us.

Breakfast is wonderful with an excellent selection of both continental and cooked breakfast options. Eggs Benedict - delicious!!!

The hotel really is quirky and tastefully laid out.

Would not hesitate to return for a romantic treat or with friends looking for a luxurious and restful weekend.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Many thanks for taking a moment to review your stay with us and I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit, and it was most gratifying to learn that our staff behaved in their customary manner, displaying both friendliness and courteousness. It has given me great pleasure to pass on your comments to all those concerned. If you have not already done so, please send us your contact details and we will keep you up to date on some special last minute discounted rates that may be available and as a Dragon member you can enjoy a discount of 10% in The George Grill or George Tap Bar and you receive your very own Dragon member card!
Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the George, somewhere that holds very fond memories for us but sadly on this visit we left with mixed feelings. It still ticks all the boxes looks wise but the service at breakfast despite being quiet was slow and reactive - we had to ask to be served twice and the table wasn't cleared without prompting. Housekeeping standards were also lacking where a heavily bird fouled window which greeted us upon arrival was left untouched, toiletries weren't topped up and one of the robes had a pocket falling off - not what you'd expect in a luxury room. Reception staff were helpful and the bar buzzing but overall it wasn't the special stay that we'd come to expect from this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJHCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
I thank you very much indeed for your constructive comments. The George in Rye is a quintessential English Hotel and I am sure will remain so for many years to come. Your comment has been most helpful and I am grateful for you pointing them to me and I hope you will be kind enough to let me know when you are next visiting the hotel so that I will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in person and see that you do have a pleasant stay. Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

OVERVIEW
We spent one night here as a couple with our six month old baby. Overall, we had a really lovely stay. There are pros and cons (more of the former than the latter). First of all, the location is wonderful if you are just slinging a weekend bag as we used to do, but with a baby and all the usual paraphernalia (try as one might to pare it down as much as possible) it was a bit of a nuisance that there is no car parking and we had to park at the train station and try and load the pram up and walk to the hotel. Parking cost about £6 so was not too bad. The hotel is right in the middle of the high street and is a charming spot. Staff were very accommodating about letting us leave four pram by reception during our stay and offered to help us to our room etc. However, when we arrived we were told by the Operations Manager that due to a power cut there was no running water so we could freshen up or use the loo etc. It was not their fault at all and while it was a bit of a nuisance having no running water/bathroom until about 6pm, the Manager and staff kept us well informed, offered us a complimentary drink and brought water up in champagne buckets so we could at least sort out the steriliser, which was much appreciated. So, a bad start, but well handled by management really and it all turned out fine by bath time!

ROOM
We went for a luxury room (number 15). It was right at the top of the hotel and quiet. It was well appointed for a one or two night stay with a lovely rain shower and good water pressure and a decent bath with REN products in the bathroom, which was small but fine. It had rather 'naff' flooring in the bathroom, but not a big deal. The bed was very comfy with lovely linens and we were given a perfectly good travel cot for our six month old. Tea and coffee facilities in the room all good and a decent though not very powerful hairdryer. A television that worked fine (you'd be amazed how many don't even in good hotels!) and a plush sofa to sink into too. I suspect it is worth getting a luxury room in this hotel. The decor looks funky now, but could date in a couple of years time. The communal areas in the hotel are a bit more 'old school' in a good way - all very comfortable and inviting. Vintage feel, but I reckon a few more touches and this could be a five star rather than a four, in my opinion. I'll say what in a minute (busy body that I am!).

RESTAURANT
Absolutely delicious three course meal served by helpful and pleasant staff who were very attentive to us without being OTT and kind to our little baby who had a lovely Stokke Tripp-Trapp highchair to sit in (bonus - they're good for smaller babies who are just starting out in highchairs). All fresh and tasty food. The only thing that let an otherwise exemplary meal down was the salted caramel ice cream that accompanied our desserts, which genuinely tasted like the Chef's hand had slipped when adding salt - so so salty that I couldn't eat more than a spoonful and I have a very salty tooth! Anyway, a minor thing as The Grill at the George is excellent with a varied and thoughtful menu.

What would make this 5 stars for me??
+ if the towels and bath robes were a bit more luxurious and there was an evening turn down that included a bathroom refresh
+ getting more than 1 x shower gel etc for a stay for two adults - okay, okay I love REN and don't wanna share :-)
+ a fridge in the room (but they will give you fresh milk on request)
+ a slightly better selection of fruit at breakfast and a better cooked English breakfast - tasty but did not have all the elements
+ an iPod docking station in the room

Room Tip: Room 15 is quiet and quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very quirky rooms and corridors, in this very old building in the old part of town. Spent two nights there, our room didn't really have enough spaces to store two people's clothes for that time, although it was otherwise well appointed. Reception staff were helpful. Given the location of the hotel, right in the middle of the old town, the hotel has no parking available and their recommendation was to park in the station car park 10 minutes walk away.

The restaurant is more bistro than fine dining and the staff seemed inexperienced, but helpful. I ordered a rib eye steak cooked 'rare' which came well done, but it was changed without problem. No one seemed to have any really knowledge about wine, which was strange given that the list was quite spread geographically. Only butter, no non dairy spreads available, odd in this day and age. Juices for breakfast all seemed from a bottle, rather than fresh, but a good choice of cooked and other food available. Fun place to try, but quite expensive

Room Tip: If you chose a room at the top of the hotel there is a lot of noise from seagulls early in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Thank you so much for taking a moment to comment on your experience at The George in Rye and I am very sorry to hear of your issues on your last visit. I have passed on your comments to the restaurant manager. I am pleased to say that we do have amazing feedback daily on the cuisine, menu, and service and so this does come as a surprise to hear your comments which we are very much saddened to hear however we will do our utmost to improve upon your own experience as consistency in the catering industry is paramount and we know we can do it so watch this space. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience and please do not hesitate to contact me on your next visit to see that you do enjoy your visit!
Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Property: The George in Rye
Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing