We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Old Borough Arms Hotel(Rye)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strand House(Winchelsea)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Winchelsea(Winchelsea)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,552)
Filter reviews
1,552 results
Traveller rating
869
414
168
64
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
869
414
168
64
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roomchateaubriandshop next doorren productshigh streetlovely hotelstation car parkjunior suiteroll top bathpoached pearcattle marketboutique hotelwedding partyscallopswine listlamblovely room
Filter
Updating list...
955 - 960 of 1,552 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed over for a night and had a thoroughly brilliant stay, lovely rooms, and very helpful and welcoming staff. Breakfast is a feast, just take your time and relax. Thoroughly recommend this place. Very central location so you can easily wander around Rye.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your experience at The George In Rye and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind comments have been gratefully received and it has been my pleasure to pass them on to the staff. As many of our longstanding guests would only be too pleased to tell you, this is certainly the hotel to visit when one wants to treat oneself and indulge in luxury. Rooms are beautifully designed with retro touches and luxe details including Frette linen, Tivoli radios, and REN toiletries. I am so glad that The George In Rye lived up to your expectations. Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed four nights, so got to know the hotel quite well. The George is in great need of renovation and investment. It looks extremely tired:- flaking paint on windows and door sills, threadbare mats, filthy hall carpets, and rotten woodwork were all too visible.
Our bedroom was disappointing both in its design and condition. It is 20 years since I last saw 5amp plugs in a hotel bedroom, the blind was badly frayed, and the en suite well overdue for refurbishment. Its grubby cream painted wooden panels seemed decades old and looked badly out of place in a boutique hotel. The loo seat couldn’t be raised without holding it up, the bathroom lighting was dim in the extreme, and the basin was very badly cracked.
The lounge tables were un-wiped and marked with the remnants of previous customers’ drinks, and the lounge sideboard had traces of paper stuck to its surface.
The lack of on-site parking would be a problem for many customers, since the recommended car park was some distance away.
On the plus side, the hotel is well positioned in the High Street, the staff are helpful and attentive, and the food is excellent although expensive. There is no table d’hote dinner menu.

Room Tip: Many rooms are in adjacent annexes. Noise from above/below could be a problem
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time and trouble to comment on your experience upon checking out thus enabling us to maintain and, where necessary, improve upon the services we deliver to our guests. Further to your comments, I would like to send my sincere apologies for the problems that you experienced. Clearly your visit did not live up to your expectations of The George. I have spoken to the team about the points that you raised. We have taken on board your feedback and I understand the disappointment this has caused you on such a special time away. You may rest assured that I have responded to your comments concerned and I trust that on your next visit, you will notice a vast improvement. Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Had such a lovely one night stay at this hotel for our second wedding anniversary. Room was beautiful, full of pretty and practical little touches. Amazing bathroom with roll top bath. Had lunch in the restaurant, gourmet fish and chips, WOW! Restaurant decor and lounge is gorgeous. All the staff were lovely. Cannot recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: No parking onsite but car park 2mins drive is £1.50 for 24 hours. Painless!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyWilson705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Such lovely feedback and we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to review your visit to The George in Rye. We receive so much amazing and terrific feedback from guests upon checking out and then a very small fraction of this will ever reach Trip advisor and so we are grateful. This passionate team here will be delighted to hear your comment when I speak to them and I can tell you that it does help and they work so hard day to day to meet every guest expectation no matter how different from one to the next. And it’s so wonderful to know that now the George In Rye is that little bit more special to you. As Henry James, American author who lived nearby nearby wrote “Experience is never limited, and is never complete,” he must have meant The George In Rye!
Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the George Hotel in a Rye for one night. The hotel is centrally located and very tastefully decorated with high quality fixtures and fittings. The entrance hall and reception are welcoming and very boutique style. Reception and hotel staff charming.

The hotel is very old and our room was on the first floor across the courtyard to the rear. The room was very spacious for 2 people with a huge bed and comfy seating area. The only criticism I have, is that the bathroom looked a little tired in comparison with the rest of the room and there were some grubby marks on the carpet and bedding. The hotel was prompt to change the bedding for us, so I have no complaints there.

We dined in the restaurant where the choice of local cuisine was excellent. The food is of a very high standard as is the wine selection and reasonably priced for a boutique hotel. The hotel were happy to accommodate our request to have desert and wine in our room and were also happy to set up a tab for us.

Breakfast is wonderful with an excellent selection of both continental and cooked breakfast options. Eggs Benedict - delicious!!!

The hotel really is quirky and tastefully laid out.

Would not hesitate to return for a romantic treat or with friends looking for a luxurious and restful weekend.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Many thanks for taking a moment to review your stay with us and I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit, and it was most gratifying to learn that our staff behaved in their customary manner, displaying both friendliness and courteousness. It has given me great pleasure to pass on your comments to all those concerned. If you have not already done so, please send us your contact details and we will keep you up to date on some special last minute discounted rates that may be available and as a Dragon member you can enjoy a discount of 10% in The George Grill or George Tap Bar and you receive your very own Dragon member card!
Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the George, somewhere that holds very fond memories for us but sadly on this visit we left with mixed feelings. It still ticks all the boxes looks wise but the service at breakfast despite being quiet was slow and reactive - we had to ask to be served twice and the table wasn't cleared without prompting. Housekeeping standards were also lacking where a heavily bird fouled window which greeted us upon arrival was left untouched, toiletries weren't topped up and one of the robes had a pocket falling off - not what you'd expect in a luxury room. Reception staff were helpful and the bar buzzing but overall it wasn't the special stay that we'd come to expect from this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJHCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
I thank you very much indeed for your constructive comments. The George in Rye is a quintessential English Hotel and I am sure will remain so for many years to come. Your comment has been most helpful and I am grateful for you pointing them to me and I hope you will be kind enough to let me know when you are next visiting the hotel so that I will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in person and see that you do have a pleasant stay. Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews