We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and dinner”
Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and dinner”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for only one night and enjoyed a very pleasant stay. We were upgraded to a junior suite (room 32) which was a nice surprise and it turned out that George Clooney had stayed in that room filming The Monuments Men...more interested my wife than me! Matt Damon stayed at room 31 apparently too. These rooms are more like self contained villas and separate buildings. Room was large, well furnished more like a home than a hotel room, and the bathroom was large with excellent rain style shower. We also had dinner there and I can say that it was one of the best we have had in a long time. Food was beautifully cooked and presented, and the taste was.......perfect. If you stay here, you must have dinner at The George one evening. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AWBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear 'AWBrisbane'
We were so pleased to read about your experience with us, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We hope to welcome you (and George and Matt) back to The George soon.
With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    355
    142
    58
    34
See reviews for
133
937
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A warm welcome, with the biggest smile in Rye from Anneliis at reception. Our room, no.8 was very light and spacious although the blinds needed to be drawn for privacy. The roll-top bath set in an alcove was something of a novelty and the bed blissfully comfortable. We asked for and were given a quiet room. We ate Sunday lunch elsewhere in town and only needed a snack in the evening but were well served at the bar, the mezze plate was tasty and reasonably priced. The position of 'The George' in the centre of town is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneAustinBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear 'JaneAustinBath'

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that it met (and hopefully exceeded) your expectations. Please do come and visit us again soon.

With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The George in Rye is a 16th century coach inn converted into a boutique hotel. The rooms are plush with chic mirrored furniture, offering views across the cobbled streets and antique shops below. There’s also a remarkable Georgian ballroom and a sunny enclosed courtyard. The restaurant is superb!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LocalLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear 'LocalLadies'

Thanks so much for taking a few moments to review your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you found The Grill to be superb and have passed your comments on to our staff.

We hope to see you again soon!

With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed for a Saturday night and enjoyed delicious food and great service in the retro restaurant both for dinner and breakfast. Lovely to relax at breakfast time and read the papers without being hassled.

Niggling negatives - the loo paper had almost run out in our suite because it had not been restocked, we were short on toiletries and there was a small dirty area on the floor around the toilet which had been missed.

Apart from that the junior suite was well decorated, comfortable and quiet, away from the bustle of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 351Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear '351Karen'

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review - we have taken all your feedback on board.
Delighted to hear you enjoyed the food and great service!

With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Friendly welcome, beautifully decorated, not the cheapest place - but that's ok, I knew that when I went in....! We had a tasty meal, quick service, but felt I had too many staff 'waiting' on my table, making us feel rushed - could of justified the 7.5% service charge if I had one person I got to know and had a conversation with.

Would recommend going here, but there's also some other great places too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear 'Fran885'

Thank you for taking the time to visit Tripadvisor. We have taken all your feedback on board and we are sorry that you felt rushed during your meal.

We hope that you'll come back and see us another time.

With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Cleanliness

Poor! The previous occupant had long dark hair and favoured showers. The radiator was thick with dust, which the manager seemed to think was ok. The list went on; even the toilet seat hadn’t been wiped.

Room

We stayed in a 'luxury' grade room, however there is a wealth of difference between what is advertised on the website and the reality when you get there. We thought we had been booked into the wrong room and rang reception to check!

Bearing in mind the room rate of £225 a reasonable level of luxury was anticipated, which was not delivered. We asked the manager to come to the room and he didn't really seem to understand what the problem was and was quite dismissive (although I now note that other guests have made similar comments on TA). He explained the difference in what is shown on the website and our room as what you get in a 'boutique' hotel as all of the rooms were different; that may be true to a degree however you really can’t shout about roll top baths in huge bathrooms and individually designed rooms with F&B wallpaper and sofas on your website and then compare a smaller, dingier and very beige room with four pieces of lino making up the bathroom floor (which is the same incidentally as the other beige room next door).

It’s not just about the design, the quality of the finish was not consistent with a luxury boutique hotel.

If we weren’t attending an event in Rye we actually wouldn’t have stayed, we were offered a discounted rate which brought the room to the price point of a mid level room, which we felt was reasonable for the size and presentation of the room.

Breakfast

I asked for vegetarian sausages, the plate arrived with meat ones. Disappeared back to the kitchen and plate reappears a minute later without the sausages, but with a puddle of sausage fat. The sausages would come later I was told. I don’t think it’s uncommon for vegetarians to not want a plate of food swimming in meat fat. My partner had soft-boiled eggs – the albumen was completely raw. Not just a bit loose – transparent and runny raw.

This hotel is just claiming it’s something it really isn’t.

Some of the staff were friendly enough though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lqts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Lqts

We were sorry to hear of your experience. We have sent you a private email via Tripadvisor and would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you personally as we were not made aware of any problems during your stay. Please contact us on operations@thegeorgeinrye.com or call James on 01797 222114. We hope to hear from you soon.

With kind regards
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Old world charm in quaint Cinque Port town. The clean room was cosy but very comfortable with a well appointed ensuite and a comfortable, warm bed. The hotel is well organised with plenty of friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast is superb, served in the retro splendour of the dining room, with plenty of choice. We would definitely stay here again for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calmascustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Property: The George in Rye
Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing