We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy stay”
Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed for a night with friends to do a spot of sightseeing.

We had a double room in the back addition which are rooms in chalet style buildings. Also had a double in the hotel itself. Both rooms were very nice, comfy beds, clean, lovely linen. Tea, coffee etc.

The twin was a bit noisy, not convinced at the adequateness of the floor insulation. I think the back additions are timber frame buildings, so noise travelled. Other than that it was nice, as we had a little patio area to sit in. The double in the hotel was quieter, as its a well built old building.

The breakfast was lovely, great service, good well cooked food. We wished we had eaten there in the evening instead of going out.

We had the best Pimms ever in the hotel bar, the young bartender deserves a medal! The bar is well designed and relaxed.

My friends have stayed there before, and I would return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darcy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear 'Darcy2'
Thank you for taking a moment to leave your feedback. We are so pleased that you had a comfortable night and that you enjoyed your breakfast and your Pimms!. (We have passed your kind comments on to our bartender). We're sorry to hear you found the room a little noisy. We hope you will come back and stay with us again and that you will join us for dinner in The Grill next time.
Kind regards
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband has stayed here many times on business and recently I joined him. The room was lovely, the bed very comfortable, great bathroom, excellent Tea Pig teas in the room and luxurious toiletries by REN (cruelty-free and non-toxic too and we use their products at home anyway so great not to have to bring any). The staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOrchards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear 'The Orchards'

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time with us and very much hope to welcome you again soon. In the meantime we will continue to look after your husband!

With kind regards
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I surprised my boyfriend for his birthday by booking an overnight stay at The George, a fantastic location to explore Rye and a beautiful hotel. The Breakfast included was amazing and set us up for the day!! The staff were all really helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble I would definitely recommend. My only issues were the heat in the room as we were right at the top and also the sloping bathroom floor was a little off putting but of course part of the old building! I had made a point of reiterating several times before the stay that it was my partners birthday but it wasn't even mentioned at check in even a little Happy Birthday on arrival would of been nice just to show they had listened. Finally the shop next door that sells the items in the room is a great idea some great stuff in there to buy and it was amazing to be able to buy the exact smell of Johnathon Ward Room Diffuser and take it home to remind us of our lovely stay!! Thanks everyone at the George we will definitely be back it would be nice however to see a brochure of all the different room designs so you could pick the one you wanted for the room type you pick.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LennyB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear LennyB1
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay. We are delighted that you had a lovely time. We are sorry that you were a little warm in the room - it has been unusually hot recently. We do provide a fan in every room and leave windows open when the temperature soars. Apologies that your partner’s birthday was missed on check-in. We are so glad you like our Shop Next Door – it is rather lovely and has recently been featured on FT.com! We hope to welcome you back very soon.
With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I LOVED our stay here. The rooms were beautifully decorated, the food in the restaurant was wonderful, and the staff throughout were completely topnotch!!! The only complaint we had was that the room was quite hot as we were on the top floor, so even an open widow and fan couldn't cool the room as much as we would have liked. I also loved the store next door..great place.

Room Tip: ask for a lower floor as it might be a littler cooler and easier to access if you don't like sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koro33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Koro 33

We are so pleased that you had a good time with us and delighted to hear that you received top-notch service. We're sorry that you were a little warm in your room - we hope it didn't affect your experience to much. Please come back and see us again!

With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stopped here for lunch, it has a nice feel about the place although it is busy most of the time. Food was good as was the beer. We have said that we would revisit this place the next time we are in Rye.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenBrownB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear 'LenBrown B'

Thank you so much for your feedback - we are delighted you enjoyed your lunch with us.

Please come and see us again soon!

With kind regards
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My friend and i were transferred from The Rye Lodge as it was double booked!! The only thing I can say is lucky us!! Room fantastic and so comfy, breakfast well cooked and fresh tasty ingredients. Staff friendly professional and couldnt do enough. Dinner sat night and was delicious... we loved Rye too. Thank you to the whole team at The George!!!

Room Tip: Book now! It is a lovely hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libra-free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Libra-free
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you had a great time with us and hope to welcome you back to Rye soon.
With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It is always a treat for us to return to the George in Rye. The staff are second to none in the hospitality industry, the rooms each an experience (we've tried many of them but continue to enjoy sampling different ones) and the hotel location is right in the heart of the wonderful little time capsule that is Rye. Each time we return, we are made so welcome and treated as well as Matt Damon / George Clooney were when they stayed there for some of the filming for The Monuments Men. Thanks to all at the George - Dave & Su Wilson - hope to see you all soon!

Room Tip: Just put your preferences to the staff and you'll be pointed in the right direction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Dave & Su

What a lovely review - thank you! We feel very honoured to be one of your all time favourites and we hope that we will welcome you both again very soon!

With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £99 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing