We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here on our minimoon for 2 nights. The room (Number 44) was lovely, with a tub in the window! The service was amazing. The restaurant overcooked my steak and they were so accommodating and cooked a new one and took our drinks off of the bill. The room did get warm and there was no air conditioning, but we coped with the windows open and a fan - it was around 26 degrees outside so the heat was to be expected. Rye is beautiful, and we took a trip 2 miles down the road to Camber Sands beach which is great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear 'Sarah P'
Congratulations on your recent nuptials! Room 44 is indeed a gorgeous room. We're sorry to hear about your steak, but glad to hear that it was rectified immediately and to your satisfaction.
We are very lucky to be so close to the vast, sandy beach at Camber and were glad to hear you made the short trip whilst you were here. Please come and see us again.
With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel friendly staff.
Our room was no. 18 nearly top of the house
Spacious clean very comfy bed.
Only draw back no lift and no one offered to carry our luggage for us, up 3 mini flights of stairs bit of a slog really.
Breakfast cooked on demand was very good indeed
Would stay agin without a doubt although will ask for a lower floored room next time

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank robert o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear 'robert o'
Thank you for your kinds words and we're delighted you liked your room and breakfast. We're sorry that nobody offered help with your bags on this occasion, but please be assured there is always someone around to help with guests' luggage should they need it. We look forward to your return visit.
With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We promised as we left after our short stay that we'd write a few words here. Better late...
We wanted a quiet room where we could sleep till we woke up, rather than BE woken up by our early-riser two-year-old. And this couldn't have fitted the bill better.
From the moment we were shown to our room, we felt genuinely welcome. But it got better. We weren't sure the room would be quiet enough, and without demur, they moved us. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was not only excellent value, we enjoyed it more than the meal we'd eaten at a wedding supper in a prestige London hotel two days earlier.
Breakfast, too, was just right - poached pears and a full English to set you up for the day.
My partner had been before and she'd been full of praise. She was right.

Room Tip: Hotel has been extended over the years, so rooms in the newer part less prone to people noise, but b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Corradino57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear 'doncorradino'

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave your lovely feedback. We're so pleased that we hit the mark with your room, service, dinner and breakfast. Do come back and see us again soon!

With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent our wedding night in room 1, the best suite in the hotel and were very impressed with attention to detail!! Just not enough coffee tea etc in room and room service was a little slow. Breakfast could be improved by a slightly larger choice of food..... But all very good and impressive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyTuckwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear 'TracyTuckwell'

Thank you for leaving your valuable feedback and congratulations on your recent marriage! Room 1 is certainly a favourite with our brides and we're so pleased you loved it too. We've taken your other comments on board. Please visit us again soon.

Kind regards
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have been going to Rye on a regular basis but have not stayed at the George, instead going for the smaller boutique hotels such as Hayden's. We booked a few days before hand for a Sunday night stay. The weather was bad so our plans for the Sunday afternoon were curtailed and as such we called the hotel to see if they could let us have our room early. Really helpful staff and by 1pm we were shown our room which was a good size, lovely bed, clean and really well furnished with a large bay window that had a steel bath.

We had dinner that night at the Grill, which was excellent - Oysters with Spanish Sausage for starters and Chateaubriand for main. Breakfast the next morning was also very good with fresh kippers - always feel guilty about eating them because of the smell but never guilty enough not to have them.

Really impressed with the hotel, room, price, food, all of which were all of a high standard and would go back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steve_rem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear 'Steve_Rem'
We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Rye and that we were able to accommodate your request for an early check-in. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!
With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed in The Gorge last month for one night only.
Our room & bathroom were clean, bed comfortable and bedding fresh, ''tea pigs tea'' was a lovely touch I also liked an idea of having kettle and tea & coffee in one of the cupboard. Breakfast was excellent, staff very pleasant and I rally like that they didn't wear proper ''waiter uniform'', it make me us really relaxed at breakfast, nice, ''easy'' atmosphere & delicious food.
Will definitely comeback again one day.

Room Tip: eggs florentine - excellent breakfast choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear 'AgaB'

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave your feedback. We are so pleased that you had a good night with us and that you enjoyed breakfast and appreciated the informal ambience in The Grill. Please do come back and see us again soon!

Kind regards
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the George as part of her wedding present to me after reading about it on a number of wedding blogs as a lovely romantic hotel. The hotel is in a great location in the middle of Rye high street, close to the castle and the church on the top of the hill. It is a nicely decorated, comfortable hotel with a good bar....very important! We ate in the restaurant, and the food was great with decent portions in a nice atmosphere. The beds are lovely and comfortable and the amenities in the room are great as well as the furniture. The staff are also lovely and very polite. It's great on face value.

The problems we encountered seem to be the same as a number of other reviews here and other guests at the hotel that we overheard when checking out:

Firstly the restaurant...the service is very slow-we had a 7.45 table booked and finally ordered starters and a bottle of wine 8.20...we managed to get the bottle 10/15 mins later. This seems to be the story of the restaurant, whether it is evening or breakfast...you have to ask several people for something, several times!! We saw this happen at both tables around us in the evening and the table next to us at breakfast. It doesn't seem to be understaffed, and once you have eaten, there seem to be enough staff willing to come and take the plates or ask you how your meal was (a question we answered three times to three different people). However if you want something brought to the table, you will have to allow ages for it come!!! There was also a chap dressed in blue that likes to walk around and speak about rye, or ask about your meal etc....ask him for a bottle of wine or another bottle of water and he will send someone else over instead (eventually) who will then bring you what you ordered (later in the evening!!)...my wife joked that maybe this is why you only pay 7.5% discretionary tip as opposed to the standard 10 or 12.5%!! The redeeming feature is that the food comes quickly and tastes good!!

Secondly, the rooms are very warm-we had windows open and the fan going and it was still hot. I appreciate it is summer (it was mid teens) but the whole hotel is warm. Plus, if you stay in room 5 and you have the window open or closed, you can hear everything outside-from other guests talking about Primrose Hill and ordering another bottle of "champers", to staff outside at 7am moving tables and chairs in preparation for breakfast and talking to one another about doing the 7am to 3pm shift the whole of next week.

Thirdly, we stayed there for one night and had two separate instances of staff walking into the room for a turndown, or, at 10am on the day we left, to ask us to check out (an hour early??!!). Whilst both people were very polite etc, you don't just walk into a guest's room!! And don't tell me to check out as you want to clean it!

Fourthly, not a fault of the hotel, but there is no parking outside. Sure, there are bays outside where you can park if you are incredibly lucky, but, far more likely, you are driving to the car park by the station and lugging all your luggage up the hill to the hotel.

So, a nice hotel that leaves you feeling that it is overhyped and slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear 'PaulM'

Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback on your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the food in The Grill and the general ambience of the hotel.

We were very sorry to hear about the service issues in The Grill and that you were disturbed in your room. This is unacceptable and we have forwarded your comments and have taken this up with the relevant staff at the hotel. We have sent you a private email and would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you personally.

Unfortunately, due to our location in the centre of a medieval town, there is no car parking on site. However we do suggest to all our guests arriving by car that they pull up directly outside the hotel to load and unload their bags before continuing on to one of the car parks in the town which are all within a 5 minute walk.

We very much hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,446 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £123 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing