We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”
Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. We were upgraded on arrival to a junior suite which was lovely. The room was beautiful & immaculate. All the rooms are individual which is fab. The service & care we received are the best. Coming back next year for longer this time

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandimegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear 'mandimegan'
We are delighted that you enjoyed your special celebration with us and so pleased we were in a position to upgrade you. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here on our minimoon for 2 nights. The room (Number 44) was lovely, with a tub in the window! The service was amazing. The restaurant overcooked my steak and they were so accommodating and cooked a new one and took our drinks off of the bill. The room did get warm and there was no air conditioning, but we coped with the windows open and a fan - it was around 26 degrees outside so the heat was to be expected. Rye is beautiful, and we took a trip 2 miles down the road to Camber Sands beach which is great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear 'Sarah P'
Congratulations on your recent nuptials! Room 44 is indeed a gorgeous room. We're sorry to hear about your steak, but glad to hear that it was rectified immediately and to your satisfaction.
We are very lucky to be so close to the vast, sandy beach at Camber and were glad to hear you made the short trip whilst you were here. Please come and see us again.
With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel friendly staff.
Our room was no. 18 nearly top of the house
Spacious clean very comfy bed.
Only draw back no lift and no one offered to carry our luggage for us, up 3 mini flights of stairs bit of a slog really.
Breakfast cooked on demand was very good indeed
Would stay agin without a doubt although will ask for a lower floored room next time

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank robert o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear 'robert o'
Thank you for your kinds words and we're delighted you liked your room and breakfast. We're sorry that nobody offered help with your bags on this occasion, but please be assured there is always someone around to help with guests' luggage should they need it. We look forward to your return visit.
With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We promised as we left after our short stay that we'd write a few words here. Better late...
We wanted a quiet room where we could sleep till we woke up, rather than BE woken up by our early-riser two-year-old. And this couldn't have fitted the bill better.
From the moment we were shown to our room, we felt genuinely welcome. But it got better. We weren't sure the room would be quiet enough, and without demur, they moved us. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was not only excellent value, we enjoyed it more than the meal we'd eaten at a wedding supper in a prestige London hotel two days earlier.
Breakfast, too, was just right - poached pears and a full English to set you up for the day.
My partner had been before and she'd been full of praise. She was right.

Room Tip: Hotel has been extended over the years, so rooms in the newer part less prone to people noise, but b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Corradino57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear 'doncorradino'

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave your lovely feedback. We're so pleased that we hit the mark with your room, service, dinner and breakfast. Do come back and see us again soon!

With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent our wedding night in room 1, the best suite in the hotel and were very impressed with attention to detail!! Just not enough coffee tea etc in room and room service was a little slow. Breakfast could be improved by a slightly larger choice of food..... But all very good and impressive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyTuckwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear 'TracyTuckwell'

Thank you for leaving your valuable feedback and congratulations on your recent marriage! Room 1 is certainly a favourite with our brides and we're so pleased you loved it too. We've taken your other comments on board. Please visit us again soon.

Kind regards
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have been going to Rye on a regular basis but have not stayed at the George, instead going for the smaller boutique hotels such as Hayden's. We booked a few days before hand for a Sunday night stay. The weather was bad so our plans for the Sunday afternoon were curtailed and as such we called the hotel to see if they could let us have our room early. Really helpful staff and by 1pm we were shown our room which was a good size, lovely bed, clean and really well furnished with a large bay window that had a steel bath.

We had dinner that night at the Grill, which was excellent - Oysters with Spanish Sausage for starters and Chateaubriand for main. Breakfast the next morning was also very good with fresh kippers - always feel guilty about eating them because of the smell but never guilty enough not to have them.

Really impressed with the hotel, room, price, food, all of which were all of a high standard and would go back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steve_rem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear 'Steve_Rem'
We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Rye and that we were able to accommodate your request for an early check-in. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!
With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed in The Gorge last month for one night only.
Our room & bathroom were clean, bed comfortable and bedding fresh, ''tea pigs tea'' was a lovely touch I also liked an idea of having kettle and tea & coffee in one of the cupboard. Breakfast was excellent, staff very pleasant and I rally like that they didn't wear proper ''waiter uniform'', it make me us really relaxed at breakfast, nice, ''easy'' atmosphere & delicious food.
Will definitely comeback again one day.

Room Tip: eggs florentine - excellent breakfast choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear 'AgaB'

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave your feedback. We are so pleased that you had a good night with us and that you enjoyed breakfast and appreciated the informal ambience in The Grill. Please do come back and see us again soon!

Kind regards
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,423 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £110 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing