We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and excellent service”
Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and excellent service”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We attended a wedding at the George and also stayed here. Very impressed throughout by the hotel, the room and the service we received.

Reception were extremely friendly and accommodating re various requests eg printing out a speech for the wedding! The room was lovely, nicely decorated, extremely clean. The food was great - room service lunch, dinner at the wedding and breakfast the following morning.

The bar staff were very friendly. Lovely communal spaces with a nice bar area and separate small lounge with fire place.

It is a boutique hotel and the building is quite 'quirky' - this is evident in the rooms, the size, shapes and styles of the rooms are all different with their own individual character. We stayed in room 4 - it was very compact (this was one of the lowest priced 'queen' options). The bed was quite soft. A friend was in room 9 - this was more spacious. It was a very hot day and the rooms did seem a little stuffy at times. The ballroom for the wedding was beautifully air-conditioned!

Room Tip: It is a boutique hotel and the building is quite 'quirky' - this is evident in the rooms, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkerSLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear 'WalkerSLJ'
We're so glad you enjoyed the wedding, the food and good service from all our staff. The Hotel is an old coaching inn and dates back from 1575 so the rooms are all of different shapes and sizes. We hope that you'll come back and spend time with us again!
With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    355
    142
    58
    34
See reviews for
134
936
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We'd decided to make the most of another sunny day and drive down to Rye. On impulse we decided to stay overnight, and I called The George and was told there were only superior rooms and suites available at a minimum cost of £175 (inc breakfast). I checked online, where the cheapest room available was a "queen" at £135 inclusive so I booked it. On arrival, we were offered two rooms, both charming: one in the roof and the other on the first floor facing onto Lion Street. We chose the second which had a large bathroom with roll top bath and a separate shower cubicle, perfect for us both as I don't like baths. In the evening, we ate in the restaurant which was moderately busy, mainly with an elderly clientele. My crab starter was fresh, attractively presented and delicious. My partner's squid was fried, also very fresh and very good. We both had seafood: lemon sole and lobster. The fish came with roasted new potatoes (which aren't suited to roasting) and the lobster with chips which were soggy. We shared a soufflé which had curdled, for which we were not charged, nor was one of the glasses of Sauternes that we'd chosen to have with it. Next morning, the Full English Breakfast was very good: our fried and poached eggs were cooked perfectly (sounds easy but isn't). The coffee served in a cafetiere was weak and awful so we asked for cappuccinos and lattes arrived but the milk was burnt so we left them. The service throughout our short stay was charming, like the hotel, and helpful. England needs more hotels like The George.

Room Tip: Room 6 faces onto Lion Street which can be noisy when loading/unloading takes place during the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StormDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear 'HotChipsUK'
We are pleased that we were able to accommodate you and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to leave your feedback.
With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I was brought to the George as a surprise for my birthday by my girlfriend. Emma had called ahead to find out about parking, and was told there was none. Usually this would have been an issue, but in a town like rye, there's no shortage of car parks. Once we'd parked and made our way back to the hotel, we were signed in by a very friendly and attentive member of staff and show to our room. We were in the penguin room which was lovely, hundreds of books in the room, lovely decor, and a really nice bathroom. The George is a great place to base yourself as it's so central to everywhere. All in all, a fantastic hotel, with great staff in a beautiful town, what's not to like??

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear 'Dave Q'
We're delighted that you had a lovely stay with us for your birthday! It's good to hear that the lack of parking on site wasn't an issue. As you say there are numerous car parks in Rye within very close proximity, the closest of which is just £1.50 for 24 hours. Please come back and see us again very soon!.
With kind regards
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We loved our suite. But it was the furthest one from the main building, and my husband is disabled, so make sure you check when booking if you have any problems with distance or steps.
Saying that we loved out suite. Beautiful big bed, beautiful linens. Everything thought of. We had a victorian bath and a huge walk in shower.
We ate in the Fish Restaurant at the George, it having been recommended. This was the only disappointement of our stay. Staff were young and giggly, and all the smiles for the customers were distinctly lacking in real warmth and were rather fake.
The meal was very nice though.
The breakfast in the morning was lovely, help yourself buffet, but so much to choose from.
I would go again to stay, but I would't eat in the restaurant. Wasn't that impressed with the bar staff either, so would go outside of the hotel if I wanted to have a nice drink somewhere.

Room Tip: I think all the suites are very individual and different. There is one with it's own courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear 'BettyS'
We're glad that you loved your suite and that you enjoyed your meal. Please come and visit us again.
With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My father and I stayed at another hotel in Rye but had a lovely drink or three in the George and it was a lovely place to while away a couple of hours. The staff were pleasant and provided the dog with his own bowl of water, we were able to bring him into the bar, and it was just a really great afternoon. I love Hendricks and it was the house gin which was pleasing and although not cheap for a round for the two of us (bitter and my g & t were £9.50-so London prices) it had a lovely ambiance and was beautifully decorated. Would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear 'leestubb'
We very much appreciate your taking the time to leave some feedback on your afternoon with us. We're delighted that the three of you were well looked after and that you had a pleasant afternoon. Please come and stay with us next time!
With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My parents paid for a one night stay for my girlfriend and I as a Christmas present. We had the the afternoon cream tea included which was wonderful, sitting next to the fire in big comfy arm chairs while it was wet and windy outside. We also had the breakfast in the morning, room service and delicious food, it was amazing.

The room was very cosy at the back of the hotel on the 1st floor. The bed was probably the best aspect of the stay, it was huge and we've never slept in a more comfy bed. Brilliant place to stay to get away for a couple of days. Situated right in the heart of Rye, which is a beautiful old town, you can't ask for much more. Would love to go and stay at The George again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benj182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear 'Benj182'
Thank you for your glowing review! We're so pleased that you had a wonderful time. Please do come and see us again and perhaps the sun will come out for you next time!
Kind regards
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The George Hotel Rye is a remarkable English 16th Century coaching inn situated in the ancient walled town of Rye. If you want flat floors and air conditioning this is not the hotel for you. It’s an owner operated business and as far away from a chain hotel as can be achieved. I have stayed there five times in recent years. Service from the numerous members of the team is always good.
You will be staying in an historic old building, so every bedroom is unique, the staircases can be steep and narrow, so accept the offer to have your luggage taken to your room. The furniture is different in each bedroom. The place is kept in a high state of repair. Watch out for low ceilings of ancient and remarkable hard oak. The decor and the furnishings are top notch if a little bit eccentric. Baths can be capacious.
There are numerous small Pay Display car parks available in the town but you will need to walk for at least five minutes. Expect Wedding Parties at the weekend.
The spacious restaurant can be busy during the summer and its worth making a reservation at the time of booking. Standard is sound but not “fine dining” and the wine list is good but defiantly not extensive. Breakfast is wholesome. The bar extends out into a sunny walled patio full of plants and flowers and is ideal for summer lunch or drinks.
For the energetic there are numerous walks starting in the town to for example Camber Castle and Winchelsea.
If after all this you are still determined to find something to complain about, the sea gulls can be noisy first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeinRye, General Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear 'Marc S'
Thank you for your frank and complimentary review - we couldn't have said it better ourselves! It's always especially nice to hear this kind of feedback from our regular guests. Please come and see us again soon!
With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Property: The George in Rye
Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing