We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you would hope for”
Review of Fletcher's House

Fletcher's House
Ranked #14 of 108 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Had a very tasty tea, good value for money and friendly attentive service
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everything you would hope for”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Yes, our expectations were high for a tea shop in Rye and I am happy to report that The Fletcher's House exceeded them comfortably. Great location just outside the church entrance. Polite service even though it was busy. Excellent Cream Tea with large, warm, fresh scones and a large pot of tea. Best of all gentle CLASSICAL music in the background. Thoroughly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank MartinChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    70
    18
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
210 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot in Rye”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We called in off the cuff for a quick lunch and were really appreciative of the immediate warm welcome and fast efficient service. I had a wonderful generous crab sandwich, with hand picked crab meat, which was served with a salad and potato crisps. My partner had hop sausage which came out as a generous serve of three in onion sauce with a pile of mash and broccoli. It's not flash food but it was fresh and hearty and tasted delicious. We couldn't manage any dessert but the cakes looked good too. This is one of the better tea shops we've eaten in and we'd happily recommend it to others.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great and quaint”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a first-class and unpretentious eating place with a great atmosphere.
The welcome is warm and friendly and the service excellent.
All the food is freshly cooked on site and of very high quality.
A must for morning coffee (delicious cakes), lunch or afternoon tea for anyone visiting Rye.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Having walked into dark Tuscan Kitchen, doors and windows open, smell,of food cooking discovered that they do not open for lunch on a Wednesday walked up hill and found Fletchers.not very busy, warm welcome though. Menus handed out but waitresses came back a little fast for orders. When the food came I had Welsh Rarebit with salad. The Welsh Rarebit was .very nice but most of the salad was a mass of supermarket bagged mixed leaves. Woman at next table sent her scone back twice because there was something wrong with it. Maybe a smaller menu and less is better

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We visited Fletchers House hoping for a light lunch and were not disappointed! I had a gorgeous butternut squash soup served with a homemade savoury scone. It was amazing! My husband had a ham and mustard sandwich which he said was fine, but a sandwich is a sandwich after all! Great service, great value. Really recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Rachelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fletcher's House also viewed

Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to Fletcher's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing