We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced”
Review of The Mermaid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mermaid Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Having stayed here before i thought i would treat the hubby for his 50th birthday and booked one of the 4 poster rooms. The room was fine, the food as always amazing as are the staff but...................the tea and coffee facilities were appalling, for £220 a night I would have expected at the very least hot chocolate and herbal teas on the tray not just tea and coffee. Also the bathroom nice bits were lacking, only shampoo and bubble bath. Very very over priced for what you got. Also delivers to the the hotel on a staurday morning at 6.30am was a big no no.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules2330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
There are newer reviews for The Mermaid Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed for just the one night (unfortunately) as an anniversary treat and both thought it was great. The room was beautiful, breakfast excellent and freshly cooked (I can't believe some of the reviews on here), we didn't have a "proper" meal but had a bar snacks meal which was really good value, filling and tasty. Staff were efficient and very helpful (breakfast guy a bit chilly perhaps). A couple of very minor downs - better lighting in our room would have been welcome, as would more than two easily accessible powerpoints - using a charging phone from the bed involved some stretching and the wife couldn't use her plug-in hair thingy in front of the mirror. All in all though - gorgeous.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerw117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Mermaid Hotel Rye. If you love history you will love this hotel (re-built in 1420) reeks of history, we stayed in the Honeymoon suite which was vast. The whole hotel is very welcoming with blazing log fires in the lounges and bar. The food and service in the restaurant was first class. Please do not be put off by previous reviews, this is an old hotel but everything we found to be first class. It is central so easy to see all Rye which is a very quaint place with many antique shops. We would definitely go back and would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here with a large group and so saw lots of bedrooms. All individual and set in a lovely older building. Not for the infirm. Had a problem with sleep due to noisy neighbours but was pleased to be offered a reduction. The management seemed genuinely interested in feedback so hopefully bitss and pieces, while available if you ask ,are provided automaticaly in the room eg. selection of teas, basket of toiletries.

Room Tip: my tip is watch the service charges. Weate and drank at hte hotel the first night and generously ti...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AldershotChestnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I have stayed in many a hotel in my (let's say thirtyish plus, shall we?) years and this is absolutely my favourite. Certain things will be appreciated by all: outstanding service, charming and picturesque interiors, extremely comfortable rooms, and reasonable (for what you're getting; I am not saying this is budget) pricing. If you love Tudor architecture, medieval period buildings, British history, and a good ghost story, you might even like it as well as I did.
The Mermaid was built hundreds of years ago; it was actually rebuilt pretty much as is in 1420, which makes its pristine condition all the more astounding. If you want to time travel, this is the only way to do it that I know of; visit this fifteenth century inn that appears to have been built yesterday. I'm not saying the staff dresses in costume, although that would be appreciated (by myself anyway) but the creaky corridors and walk-in fireplace and sloping ceilings will leave you feeling breathless under the weight of layers of time.
My room had windows just above the mermaid sign itself with the perfect view of the cobbled Mermaid Street, rivalled only by nearby Church Street as the World's Most Enchanted Lane. The en suite was lovely (this is the 'bathroom' in England, you might want to be certain when searching out hotels that your room is en suite!) and the room cosy and charming. Rather than have the restaurant supper, which was a bit pricey and required Proper Dress, I rang up room service and relished in a delectable meal for around 10 pounds in my pyjamas.
I love this place so much I think I would happily do some cleaning duties for free, just to spend more time there!

Room Tip: The Elizabethan Room is the Suite Above All Suites and must be reserved at least a year in advance...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The Mermaid exceeded our expectations. It is a beautiful place, an amazing trip into history. We stayed in Dr. Syn's Bedchamber, where the Queen Mother stayed a few years back. It has a hidden door behind a bookcase. The Inn's pub is exceptional, with its giant fireplace and friendly service. The beer is also exceptional; I had some very, very excellent pints of Harvey's Sussex Best Bitter. When ordered in the restaurant, by the way, it is served in a silver mug. A wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Dr. Syn's Bedchamber is outstanding!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micropete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We have stayed at the Mermaid before, the first time being for the first few days of our honeymoon thirty years ago and so we returned, this time with our children and their partners.
The building is beautiful but the rooms were a big let down and of a very poor standard indeed. The bathrooms have not been renovated for many years. The grouting was either yellow, cracked or missing entirely, the shower was old and tatty, the flooring was dirty and the tiles were cracked in places. The toiletries provided seemed cheap. The curtains in the bedroom had been cut to size but had not been hemmed.
I love old furniture and the room did have some lovely pieces which have been well used but some were reproduction and were chipped in places.
The room was quite clean but had cobwebs and a dusty mirror and the duvet cover had a hole in it.
The bed was comfortable and we slept well.
We had dinner in the restaurant and this was nice but expensive.
Breakfast was ok but I do not expect a hotel charging this price to run out of things on the menu.
The Mermaid is a 3* hotel but charges (as another review put it) an eyewatering price and does not provide the quality which I expected for that amount of money.
We went on to have a lovely lunch in Webbe's Fish Cafe in Rye which I can recommend.
A disappointing stay. Yes, I am sure that the building is expensive to maintain but personally, as an English person I am embarassed that a hotel in my country should charge so much for such poor quality.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. If you want to see the beautiful building have a drink in the bar intsead and...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HilaryBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,358 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid Inn

Address: Mermaid Street, Rye TN31 7EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £49 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mermaid Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally, dating from 1156, the Mermaid was rebuilt in 1420, much as it still stands today, as the principal Inn of Rye. The Mermaid now caters for those who appreciate tradition and charm, coupled with the modern facilities required by today's guest. So, from a picturesque cobbled street; step back in time to experience the unique atmosphere of one of England's oldest and loveliest Inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mermaid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mermaid Hotel Rye
Mermaid Hotel Rye
Mermaid Inn Rye
Mermaid Rye
The Mermaid Inn Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing