We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, despite great staff.”
Review of The Mermaid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mermaid Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Disappointed, despite great staff.”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The staff and the service were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. However the double room was tiny and seriously overpriced, there wasn't enough room to unpack properly and the bathroom was minute, difficult to take a shower.
The breakfast was very average and the bar was too small to accommodate all the prople who wanted to use it.
The hotel is charming and full of history but not up to the 5 star prices,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffljms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    251
    96
    41
    26
See reviews for
108
586
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a pituresque town. The service is excellent nothing is too much trouble, but the rooms are very small and for the location, very expensive. Breakfast was nothing special and all in all we got what we expect in a B&B or a nice pub, but paid 5 star prices for a room we could hardly unpack in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsffl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We went for a long weekend to celebrate a birthday. I was disappointed and found the room and restaurant over priced and over rated... Service was poor, food was poor and the room was tatty.
Rye is a beautiful old town in a lovely area and a nice place to visit, if we return, we will stay somewhere else and maybe have a bar meal on the terrace which looked a much better idea.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Needed a break after a gruelling audit. DB&B for 2 nights at end of September. Beautiful room, food and bar. Staff all brilliant. Recommended.
Bar area particularly nice prior to dinner. Food very good and Rye as a place is a joy. We have been a few times already and will be returning

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and go for an historical 4 poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were staying elsewhere in Rye and booked to have dinner there. On arrival we were told that as we had booked for 8.30 it was too late for us to have a drink in the bar.
I had crab croquettes as a starter. This dish comprised 2 thin tubes of what tasted like deep fried breadcrumbed potato with no taste of crab at all. When I complained the head waiter agreed that there should have been more crab in the dish!
For our main course we both had monk fish which was dry and overcooked; there were no vegetable accompaniments other than a few wisps of salad strewn over the plate and a vague piping of what could have been potato.
For pudding I had what purported to be chestnut and chocolate mousse but which had no taste of chestnut at all. I pointed this out to the head waiter.
Long before we had finished eating the staff had started laying the tables for breakfast, ignoring us and failing to pour our wine.
Despite our complaints, when the bill came no allowance had been made, although, when pressed, a reduction was agreed. It was still far too expensive for the abysmal quality of the food, most of which, I suspect, had not even been prepared on the premises.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LJE155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Delightful, atmospheric old inn in Rye, a historic town and Cinque port in East Sussex. Cosy wood panelled lounges (residents only) with open fires (gas rather than log, alas, but still attractive) and a small, well stocked bar (also open to non-residents).

We stayed here one night for a rare, romantic break and weren't disappointed. Certainly it's not cheap, and for the money you could stay somewhere much smarter, with larger, better equipped rooms. However, if you're after somewhere truly unique and fancy a step back in time, the Mermaid Inn's a fantastic choice.

Our room was quite modest in size, with a shower rather than a bath, but had heaps of character, a four poster bed (modern, but comfortable) and a large, old stone fireplace.

It also had a kettle which made very strange-tasting tea (maybe it was new and hadn't been rinsed before being put in the room) and some cheap-looking prints of paintings contemporary with the decor (perhaps the owners might think about swapping the pictures for better quality reproductions!!).

The breakfast - served in the linen-fold dining room - included fresh croissants, pain au chocolat and fruit salad, with a choice of hot options including a full English Breakfast, eggs Benedict and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Pleasant, amusing staff.

Room Tip: Ask about the individual rooms they have available. As they're all different, and I chose the M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyLunchtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We just had a brilliant short break with friends. The hotel was comfortable and relaxing, the staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant was outstanding – interesting menu, superbly presented. Our room was perfect. The 4 poster bed did not just look pretty, it was amazingly comfortable and in the bathroom the plumbing was efficient and modern.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid Inn

Property: The Mermaid Inn
Address: Mermaid Street, Rye TN31 7EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mermaid Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally, dating from 1156, the Mermaid was rebuilt in 1420, much as it still stands today, as the principal Inn of Rye. The Mermaid now caters for those who appreciate tradition and charm, coupled with the modern facilities required by today's guest. So, from a picturesque cobbled street; step back in time to experience the unique atmosphere of one of England's oldest and loveliest Inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mermaid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mermaid Hotel Rye
Mermaid Hotel Rye
Mermaid Inn Rye
Mermaid Rye
The Mermaid Inn Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing