We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return again and again!”
Review of The Mermaid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mermaid Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you want a genuine, historical, quirky and magical place to stay then come here! This wonderful building was made all the more special by the people within from the lovely receptionists right through to bar and waiting staff and the excellent Chef. Its a great place to stay if you want to visit historical houses and gardens with many National Trust places within easy reach - we stayed for two days and it wasn't nearly long enough but we'll come back at a different time of year. The restaurant is pricey but the food is great and you can always choose to eat from the bar menu one night. If you have a large car or 4 wheel drive find a car park nearby because you'll find it hard to negotiate the narrow cobbled streets and you might not make it into the car park. If you have mobility difficulties or any problem with stairs this may not be the place for you to stay but if you're nearby visit it for a meal anyway, it's a must visit.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs you must ask for a room that's easy to get to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AuntieMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My partner booked this Hotel for our first weekend away together.
Four poster room & a lovely location.
The room was very very hot n stuffy
Think it may have been above the kitchen we had to have the fire escape door open all the time we were there! Except at night we had to close it & put the fan on but it was still hot.
Quite a lot of discomfort for a £200 a night room.
Luckily the breakfast was great & the bar was lovely the town itself was great to explore.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Browneyedgirl_3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stopped by for lunch last week. This is an amazing and historic venue jam packed with history, and I can't remember the age of the original site, but probably Tudor. Interesting local Sussex and Kent beers and Ciders available. Decent pub grub, generous portions and a wide selection! Definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank D_JAR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Fabulous period hotel, full of charm and character. Great service, excellent food, what more can you ask. Bar and courtyard area seemed to be very popular with locals and visitors alike. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Just stopped for a drink and some dinner(lunch)....mussels, panceta ,cream and chips....food about £14 pounds...only light bites....lovely food and excellent surroundings....originally built 1156ad....!! Recommend.!_

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank garethbonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I took my husband to saty at The Mermaid nearly 2 years ago as you can see from my previous review. I had a lovely letter back from the hotel agreeing with what I had said about the facilities in the rooms etc and that they were aware of it and it was under review for a make over..................well it was still the same.

Dont get me wrong the room was amazing. Its the tea and coffee facilities, no de-caf tea, no sweetners etc and the bathroom should have robes and flannels.

I paid £10 extra for a lobster thermador which was not a lobster thermador, it had no sauce and was very dry, and you didnt get the claws with all of that lovely meat in them even though they gave you the correct implement to get it out with!!!!

My husbands steak was over cooked too, what is the point of asking how you would like it cooked if they all come out medium well.

Breakfast is chaotic, we had to ask for toast twice which we never got at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jules2330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Called in to the Mermaid bar for a nostalgic drink, and found no change to the decor since our honeymoon in 1981 - as may be expected for a character inn.
The two barmen were initially too busy arguing about who should make the coffee for diners to take our drinks order. Amusing, but not the service that we expected from the Mermaid.
The young barman then engaged in animated conversation with other guests, possibly an aspiring comedian?
An interesting visit, but we're not tempted to return for dinner or hotel stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank esbe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.2 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,420 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid Inn

Address: Mermaid Street, Rye TN31 7EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: £48 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mermaid Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally, dating from 1156, the Mermaid was rebuilt in 1420, much as it still stands today, as the principal Inn of Rye. The Mermaid now caters for those who appreciate tradition and charm, coupled with the modern facilities required by today's guest. So, from a picturesque cobbled street; step back in time to experience the unique atmosphere of one of England's oldest and loveliest Inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mermaid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mermaid Hotel Rye
Mermaid Hotel Rye
Mermaid Inn Rye
Mermaid Rye
The Mermaid Inn Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing