We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£152
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
Breakfast included
Agoda.com
£152
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Vio.com
£152
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Hannahlindsay

Lives up to expectations

Review of The Mermaid Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Aug 2023via mobile
Have wanted for visit for a long while but never made it. It exceeded expectations such a lovely place to stay. All staff friendly , beautiful room with a comfy bed, excellent food and reasonably priced champagne! Will be returning with our parents as we know they will love it too
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review
Responded 1 Sept 2023
Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£192
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £173
  • Hotels.com
    £143
  • Agoda.com
    £192
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£95
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £95
  • Expedia.com
    £95
  • Agoda.com
    £95
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£155
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    £155
  • Agoda.com
    £155
  • Skyscanner.com
    £155
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
£148
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £164
  • Expedia.com
    £164
  • Official Site
    £135
0.2 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£124
  • Hotels.com
    £105
  • Agoda.com
    £94
  • Expedia.com
    £105
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£143
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £143
  • Vio.com
    £143
0.3 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£102
  • Hotels.com
    £92
  • Expedia.com
    £92
  • Agoda.com
    £102
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Tripadvisor
£104
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £104
2.4 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £116
  • Expedia.com
    £119
3.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Rye
Reviews (1,893)
Filter reviews
1,893 results
Traveller rating
1,190
451
162
51
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,190
451
162
51
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building steeped in history creaky floorboards four poster car park elizabethan room step back in time huge fireplace nooks and crannies venison historic hotel roaring fire cobbled street sloping floors low ceilings lovely old hotel lots of character
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 1,893 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2023

We had the warmest of welcomes from the staff who managed to squeeze us into the car park, even though we had fully expected to have to park nearby.

Beautiful building with lots of spaces to sit with a drink and the food looked good. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout.

Our room was comfortable. A little warm but to be expected in a historic building like this. There was a fan that helped to cool it down (and a second provided if needed) and of course the windows could be opened - however this was a little noisy with what sounded liked an early delivery and the seagulls.

The bathroom was a good size and I had a lovely bath with the products provided. Nice selection of teas in the room too.

Due to the nature of this building, you could faintly hear people in the rooms next door and hear people walking past our door etc and creaks of the floor etc but i don't think this can be helped in such a place.

The cooked and contiental breakfast was average but didn't detract from what was a comfortable stay in a beautiful building right in the centre of this beautiful town.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Solataire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2023

Thank you for your review. Rebuilt in 1420 The Mermaid is a unique building, once seen, never forgotten. A place to step out of the modern world and stop and relax.

We hope we may welcome you again to this "beautiful building".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2023 via mobile

Rye is a remarkable town. If you love old towns that somehow dodged the developer’s plague of the sixties then Rye is the place for you. And if you want to stay in a hotel that happened to have been rebuilt in 1420, then The Mermaid Inn is the place for you.
Like a medieval galleon that has run aground in the centre of town, The Mermaid has to be visited at least once.
Our room was lovely and extensively half-timbered and the floor sloped every which way. The en suite was excellent and the only thing I would suggest would be to level the beds, for a non-rolling night’s sleep!
Breakfast was excellent and the young woman at the reception was very helpful with regards to parking our car.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paulbennett0460
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Thank you for your review. The Mermaid and Rye are like stepping back in time, a unique experience.

We will share your fulsome praise with the staff.

We hope we may welcome you again to The Mermaid, where the construction of the building was from old ship timbers......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2023

This is a fascinating historic building in a perfect location in Rye. The room was comfortable, quiet and well equipped although with a persistent musty smell. Service at breakfast depends on the individual member of staff who is assigned to your table, and some of them are better than others - after showing us to a table, ours forgot to return to take our breakfast order and eventually we had to get up to find another member of staff.

Date of stay: July 2023
Thank Adiner227
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Thank you for your review. Rebuilt in 1420, The Mermaid is a truly historic building with 600 years of stories.

We note your observation regarding breakfast and we will share with the Breakfast Manager. We can only apologise that your experience of service at The Mermaid was so different to so many of our reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2023

Expect wonky rooms, four poster beds and bric a brac everywhere. You cannot manufacture the atmosphere that this medieval building has. Our room had all of those things and it was great - we thought that we might hear other guests climbing the stairs and walking the corridors but we slept really well. However you have to expect some creaking in a building like this. The staff were excellent, uniformly friendly and helpful. It felt like a place where people are happy to work there. There are loads of nooks and crannies where you can sit with a drink from the bar, plus a courtyard area too. Parking is limited and if you can get in you might have to leave your car keys so the staff can shuffle cars around to let people in and out. But thats purely down to the location, cannot be helped. The breakfast options are varied but the cooked breakfast was fairly average in my opinion. However, its all about the building and this is a fabulous place to stay in Rye and a great base for exploring the town and the surrounding area.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank davidlL4418UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2023

Thank you for your review. The Mermaid is "a Great Place to Stay", without a straight line in sight.

We will share your fulsome praise with the staff.

We hope we may welcome you again to the 600 year old Mermaid Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2023

Haunted they say , well we had a few rumbles in the night which seemed to come from the roof as we was in a top room of this oldie worldie little gem of a place . Maybe the sounds really came from our stomach after eating an amazing meal in the Mermaid restaurant. ... It's cost , delightful, great company and very hospitable staff. A little pricey I'd say , however it's a one off , location was idikic enabling us to wonder around the old harbour town visiting Antique halls and shops .before venturing home . We would return one day . I think Christmas time here would be perfect for us . Thank you for a lovely stay .

Room tip: Little pricey for what you get for your money , but you are paying for the history of this little gem and location.
Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank P5674OOmimia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2023

Thank you for your review. So glad to read you had a lovely stay. The Mermaid is a unique building so it is "a Little Gem of Rye", once seen, never forgotten. We will share your praise with the staff.

The Mermaid is indeed a perfect place to enjoy at Christmas time......please be aware we are already busy at Christmas.

We look forward to welcoming you again to The Mermaid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews