We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£250
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Breakfast included
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Slick D
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
A very high class tourist trap
Review of The Mermaid Inn
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Sept 2023
The building is unique in its age and character. It looks fabulously aged and has many unique features like the huge inglenook fire place in the bar. The staff are attentive and careful their many aged clients don’t take a tumble on the many twisting stairs and steps. Breakfast was excellent. The shower in our room was mildly pathetic and one can have conversation stopped by the sound of flushing toilets behind thin cladding. The restaurant and bar prices were high. One night was enough to say we had visited Rye. A very high class tourist trap.
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: Arrive early and use the Mermaid car park.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£244
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£218
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £199
  • Hotels.com
    £188
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    £155
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
£131
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £100
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£143
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £143
  • Vio.com
0.3 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£110
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    £110
  • eDreams
    £110
0.7 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£121
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    £102
  • Priceline
2.4 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£285
  • Expedia.com
    £285
  • Hotels.com
    £262
  • Priceline
2.6 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£144
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    £144
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £144
1.0 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £131
  • Expedia.com
    £136
3.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Rye
Reviews (1,886)
Filter reviews
1,886 results
Traveller rating
1,184
450
162
51
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,184
450
162
51
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building steeped in history creaky floorboards four poster car park elizabethan room step back in time huge fireplace nooks and crannies venison historic hotel roaring fire cobbled street sloping floors low ceilings lovely old hotel lots of character
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 1,886 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2023

Best fish and chips in the country. All staff were polite and helpful, asked if our meal was OK and informed us that all produce is sourced locally or made on the premises. If you visit Rye pop in and check for yourselves.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kazmelneilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2023

Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the Head Chef and his team.

We hope we may welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2023

Staff so ..
accommodating,
Breakfasts so good.
Car parking can be a problem but we were ok.
Centrally located you could walk everywhere.
No good if disabled
Drinks in courtyard pleasant if good weather

Room tip: Sensible walking shoes needed
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HolidayaholicEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2023

Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the staff.

We hope we can welcome you again...........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2023 via mobile

Have wanted for visit for a long while but never made it. It exceeded expectations such a lovely place to stay. All staff friendly , beautiful room with a comfy bed, excellent food and reasonably priced champagne! Will be returning with our parents as we know they will love it too

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hannahlindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2023

Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2023

We had the warmest of welcomes from the staff who managed to squeeze us into the car park, even though we had fully expected to have to park nearby.

Beautiful building with lots of spaces to sit with a drink and the food looked good. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout.

Our room was comfortable. A little warm but to be expected in a historic building like this. There was a fan that helped to cool it down (and a second provided if needed) and of course the windows could be opened - however this was a little noisy with what sounded liked an early delivery and the seagulls.

The bathroom was a good size and I had a lovely bath with the products provided. Nice selection of teas in the room too.

Due to the nature of this building, you could faintly hear people in the rooms next door and hear people walking past our door etc and creaks of the floor etc but i don't think this can be helped in such a place.

The cooked and contiental breakfast was average but didn't detract from what was a comfortable stay in a beautiful building right in the centre of this beautiful town.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Solataire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2023

Thank you for your review. Rebuilt in 1420 The Mermaid is a unique building, once seen, never forgotten. A place to step out of the modern world and stop and relax.

We hope we may welcome you again to this "beautiful building".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2023 via mobile

Rye is a remarkable town. If you love old towns that somehow dodged the developer’s plague of the sixties then Rye is the place for you. And if you want to stay in a hotel that happened to have been rebuilt in 1420, then The Mermaid Inn is the place for you.
Like a medieval galleon that has run aground in the centre of town, The Mermaid has to be visited at least once.
Our room was lovely and extensively half-timbered and the floor sloped every which way. The en suite was excellent and the only thing I would suggest would be to level the beds, for a non-rolling night’s sleep!
Breakfast was excellent and the young woman at the reception was very helpful with regards to parking our car.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paulbennett0460
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Thank you for your review. The Mermaid and Rye are like stepping back in time, a unique experience.

We will share your fulsome praise with the staff.

We hope we may welcome you again to The Mermaid, where the construction of the building was from old ship timbers......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews