We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ness W
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Nice breakaway!
Review of The Mermaid Inn
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Sept 2023via mobile
Lovely place with lots of charm and quirkiness !! Floors aren’t straight and doors are small or on angles.
This Inn has lots of character with great furnishings.
Our room was lovely with a four poster bed.
A kettle with tea /coffee are in the rooms.
The staff were excellent very friendly and very helpful.
We eat in the bar by the open fire which was lovely as it was chilly outside. It worth trying the fish and chips was great and well worth the money.
Limited space in the car park, but car park not far away if full.
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: If car park full there’s one down the hill. Also if disabled spots have gone there’s some spaces...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£285
  • Expedia.com
    £285
  • Hotels.com
    £262
  • Agoda.com
    £285
2.6 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
£205
No fees just great deals
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
3.3 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £153
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £151
  • eDreams
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £136
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £120
  • Hotels.com
2.4 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Nine rooms available to book
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £141
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £120
  • Priceline
2.3 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Rye
Reviews (1,886)
Filter reviews
1,886 results
Traveller rating
1,184
450
162
51
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,184
450
162
51
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building steeped in history creaky floorboards four poster car park elizabethan room step back in time huge fireplace nooks and crannies venison historic hotel roaring fire cobbled street sloping floors low ceilings lovely old hotel lots of character
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 1,886 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2023

The building is unique in its age and character. It looks fabulously aged and has many unique features like the huge inglenook fire place in the bar. The staff are attentive and careful their many aged clients don’t take a tumble on the many twisting stairs and steps. Breakfast was excellent. The shower in our room was mildly pathetic and one can have conversation stopped by the sound of flushing toilets behind thin cladding. The restaurant and bar prices were high. One night was enough to say we had visited Rye. A very high class tourist trap.

Room tip: Arrive early and use the Mermaid car park.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Slick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2023

Thank you for your review. It is very difficult to respond to a review with an Oxymoron in its' title. Which half is true.......

Rebuilt in 1420 The Mermaid is certainly a unique building, Grade II Listed, and welcoming travellers for over 600 years. We have staff who strive everyday to be friendly and attentive to all our guests.

Then sadly we do drift into the trap of lazy assumptions......about our guests being aged and ready to take a tumble....when in fact we have a great variety of guests of all ages.

Bar prices are high.....a pint of Harveys is £4.80......that is why many locals frequent our Bar. Maybe a scrutiny of our wine list would have shown the great value that can be discovered in our wince Cellar. Maybe a more than cursory glance of both our Restaurant and Bar Menus compared to others in the town.......may lead to a difference in opinion.

After 30 years of loving stewardship we seek that The Mermaid is a place that welcomes all travellers and will continue to do so for many years. Rather than a trap,,,,,The Mermaid is a place where many guests willingly share our love for a beautiful buildingthat creates so many memories for so many people......from across the world.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2023

Best fish and chips in the country. All staff were polite and helpful, asked if our meal was OK and informed us that all produce is sourced locally or made on the premises. If you visit Rye pop in and check for yourselves.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kazmelneilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2023

Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the Head Chef and his team.

We hope we may welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2023

Staff so ..
accommodating,
Breakfasts so good.
Car parking can be a problem but we were ok.
Centrally located you could walk everywhere.
No good if disabled
Drinks in courtyard pleasant if good weather

Room tip: Sensible walking shoes needed
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HolidayaholicEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2023

Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the staff.

We hope we can welcome you again...........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2023 via mobile

Have wanted for visit for a long while but never made it. It exceeded expectations such a lovely place to stay. All staff friendly , beautiful room with a comfy bed, excellent food and reasonably priced champagne! Will be returning with our parents as we know they will love it too

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hannahlindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2023

Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2023

We had the warmest of welcomes from the staff who managed to squeeze us into the car park, even though we had fully expected to have to park nearby.

Beautiful building with lots of spaces to sit with a drink and the food looked good. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout.

Our room was comfortable. A little warm but to be expected in a historic building like this. There was a fan that helped to cool it down (and a second provided if needed) and of course the windows could be opened - however this was a little noisy with what sounded liked an early delivery and the seagulls.

The bathroom was a good size and I had a lovely bath with the products provided. Nice selection of teas in the room too.

Due to the nature of this building, you could faintly hear people in the rooms next door and hear people walking past our door etc and creaks of the floor etc but i don't think this can be helped in such a place.

The cooked and contiental breakfast was average but didn't detract from what was a comfortable stay in a beautiful building right in the centre of this beautiful town.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Solataire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2023

Thank you for your review. Rebuilt in 1420 The Mermaid is a unique building, once seen, never forgotten. A place to step out of the modern world and stop and relax.

We hope we may welcome you again to this "beautiful building".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews