We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£250
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Breakfast included
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Nick D
Derby, United Kingdom
Charming Hotel But Look Out For The Cobbles
Review of The Mermaid Inn
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Sept 2023
Charming hotel with not a straight edge in the place. Stayed there for a weekend with family recently. We were in Room 19 which was characterful to say the least, it certainly kept you nimble avoiding the beams. Bit disappointed the ghost didn't make an appearance!
Very helpful and friendly staff, Sam was excellent in ironing out any mishaps we encountered and the breakfast was excellent.
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£142
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £106
  • Expedia.com
    £128
  • Official Site
    £105
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£155
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
£131
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £100
  • Agoda.com
    £88
  • Expedia.com
    £100
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£121
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £121
  • Agoda.com
    £92
  • Hotels.com
    £111
2.4 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Nine rooms available to book
Booking.com
£140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    £110
  • Hotels.com
    £140
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Room 4 (dog friendly!)
Booking.com
£120
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £120
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
2.3 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£195
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    £153
  • Hotels.com
    £177
3.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £168
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£397
  • Hotels.com
    £357
  • Vio.com
    £344
  • Expedia.com
    £397
2.6 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Rye
Reviews (1,886)
Filter reviews
1,886 results
Traveller rating
1,184
450
162
51
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,184
450
162
51
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building steeped in history creaky floorboards four poster car park elizabethan room step back in time huge fireplace nooks and crannies venison historic hotel roaring fire cobbled street sloping floors low ceilings lovely old hotel lots of character
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 1,886 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2023

The hotel was fabulous, room was amazing staff attentive,l. The food in the restaurant was amazing.
The whole team made us feel very special and welcome for our 40 th wedding anniversary.
Thankyou so much

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the staff, and especially with the Head Chef and his team.

Congratulations on your special anniversary. The Mermaid is a perfect place to create memories.

We hope we may help you create memories again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2023 via mobile

What a fascinating & amazing hotel- totally full to bursting with history dating back to the 1400’s- even then it was rebuilt (the original building had been there for 150 years previously!)
Exceptional service from all the well trained, pleasant staff. Lovely comfy bed. Good sized (big!) towels! Delightful touches- such as the room names being detailed in the visitor folder. (Loved all the staff being mentioned there too- great idea)

Such a delightful setting in the town too, surrounded by other historic treasures including Lamb House, St Mary’s Church, Rye Castle & the Town museum- well set out & informative. You can’t help but get interested in all the smuggler tales too!

Room tip: Tight parking at the hotel but plenty of nearby car parks. Beautiful wonky building- mind your step & duck your head! Flat shoes for cobbles
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank I7442ICnikkiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2023

Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with all the staff concerned. We will also share your kind words with the owners who through thirty years of loving stewardship, have ensured The Mermaid has retained all of her historic charms.

We hope we may welcome you again to this "amazing hotel".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2023 via mobile

Very friendly staff .. drinks reasonably priced… comfortable room though avoid room 25 as all you can hear is fridges and stinks of cooking … I probably wouldn’t return to be honest but wasn’t a terrible experience. And managed to park so that was a bonus 👍🏻

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trek42181443345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

Thank you for your review. We will share your praise with the staff, who always strive for friendly attentive service.

Regarding the noise / smells in Room 25 we can only presume you suffered the noise and smells of our neighbours, as we are at the heart of the medieval citadel of Rye. Our apologies for your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2023 via mobile

Lovely place with lots of charm and quirkiness !! Floors aren’t straight and doors are small or on angles.
This Inn has lots of character with great furnishings.
Our room was lovely with a four poster bed.
A kettle with tea /coffee are in the rooms.
The staff were excellent very friendly and very helpful.
We eat in the bar by the open fire which was lovely as it was chilly outside. It worth trying the fish and chips was great and well worth the money.
Limited space in the car park, but car park not far away if full.

Room tip: If car park full there’s one down the hill. Also if disabled spots have gone there’s some spaces around the corner not far at all.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 541nessw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2023

Thank you for your review. We will share your praise with the staff. The Mermaid and Rye offers a perfect place to escape to a unique building and town.

The Mermaid sits at the heart of the medieval citadel of Rye, and due to 30 years of loving stewardship, The Mermaid has retained all of her historic charms.

We hope we may welcome to a future "Breakaway" at The Mermaid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2023

The building is unique in its age and character. It looks fabulously aged and has many unique features like the huge inglenook fire place in the bar. The staff are attentive and careful their many aged clients don’t take a tumble on the many twisting stairs and steps. Breakfast was excellent. The shower in our room was mildly pathetic and one can have conversation stopped by the sound of flushing toilets behind thin cladding. The restaurant and bar prices were high. One night was enough to say we had visited Rye. A very high class tourist trap.

Room tip: Arrive early and use the Mermaid car park.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Slick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2023

Thank you for your review. It is very difficult to respond to a review with an Oxymoron in its' title. Which half is true.......

Rebuilt in 1420 The Mermaid is certainly a unique building, Grade II Listed, and welcoming travellers for over 600 years. We have staff who strive everyday to be friendly and attentive to all our guests.

Then sadly we do drift into the trap of lazy assumptions......about our guests being aged and ready to take a tumble....when in fact we have a great variety of guests of all ages.

Bar prices are high.....a pint of Harveys is £4.80......that is why many locals frequent our Bar. Maybe a scrutiny of our wine list would have shown the great value that can be discovered in our wince Cellar. Maybe a more than cursory glance of both our Restaurant and Bar Menus compared to others in the town.......may lead to a difference in opinion.

After 30 years of loving stewardship we seek that The Mermaid is a place that welcomes all travellers and will continue to do so for many years. Rather than a trap,,,,,The Mermaid is a place where many guests willingly share our love for a beautiful buildingthat creates so many memories for so many people......from across the world.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews