We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£152
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
Breakfast included
Agoda.com
£152
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Vio.com
£152
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Roam797308

Highly recommend

Review of The Mermaid Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Apr 2024
Fabulous Sunday lunch, highly recommend the Pork Belly, very generous portions, Friends had the Beef which again couldn’t be faulted, lovely desert menu, all served in lovely surroundings, good wine selection at reasonable prices.
Staff very professional and attentive.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review
Responded 17 Apr 2024
Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the Head Chef, Restaurant Manager and their teams.

The Restaurant at The Mermaid is a unique setting, providing a wonderful backdrop to meet friends and family.

We hope we may welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£192
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £173
  • Hotels.com
    £143
  • Agoda.com
    £192
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£95
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £95
  • Expedia.com
    £95
  • Agoda.com
    £95
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£155
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £155
  • Vio.com
    £155
  • Priceline
    £155
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
£148
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £164
  • Hotels.com
    £164
  • Official Site
    £135
0.2 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£124
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • Agoda.com
    £94
  • Hotels.com
    £105
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£143
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £143
  • Vio.com
    £143
0.3 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£102
  • Hotels.com
    £92
  • Expedia.com
    £92
  • Agoda.com
    £102
0.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Booking.com
£121
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £121
  • Agoda.com
    £94
  • Expedia.com
    £104
2.4 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    £130
  • ZenHotels.com
    £129
0.7 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£119
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £119
  • Vio.com
    £107
  • Hotels.com
    £109
3.1 miles from The Mermaid Inn
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Rye
Reviews (1,893)
Filter reviews
1,893 results
Traveller rating
1,190
451
162
51
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,190
451
162
51
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building steeped in history creaky floorboards four poster car park elizabethan room step back in time huge fireplace nooks and crannies venison historic hotel roaring fire cobbled street sloping floors low ceilings lovely old hotel lots of character
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,893 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2024

Don’t stay here if you want modern, souless, plastic hotel with unresponsive robotic staff !
This is a stunning hotel , steeped in history with quirky rooms , creaky floorboards , wonky walls , old beams and so much more . It is romantic, cosy , excellent caring staff who go out of their way to make your stay very special.
The food is great , the owner Judith is on site to deal with any problems in the unlikely event they should arise .
Reception staff very friendly and go the extra mile to help with every aspect of your stay . They have great knowledge of the local area and can suggest various things to do !
We absolutely loved our stay at this amazing hotel , it is so rare to find such a gem.
We can highly recommend this wonderful Inn .

Room tip: Arrive early as limited parking , access a bit restricted for a large car.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allysonrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2024

Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the staff.

It is always so exciting to read a review that captures the esence of a stay at The Mermaid. She is a unique building, that thanks to 31 years of stewardship by the present owners has ensured all of her historic charms have been retained and enhanced.

We hope we may welcome you again to this "Gem of a Hotel."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

We booked last minute for a Sunday roast. It was delicious. Couldn’t fault the food. Home made butter was lovely and a nice touch. The service was good, really friendly and chatty but professional.. especially as I consider myself an awkward customer asking for extra gravy and sauces etc
The pub itself is really old with loads of character and the dining setting matched that. Really enjoyable experience

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Boffy186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the Head Chef and with the Restaurant Manager and their teams.

Rebuilt in 1420, The Mermaid is a unique building, providing a special setting to spend time with family and friends.

We hope we may welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2024

Just Horrible, the hotel is dusty, unpleasant with dirty carpets, the bar smells and the outdoor area is a car park. Couldn’t see what the hype was about. Unpleasant staff, over priced drinks. Not nice. Would recommend the Ypres instead, waste of money and time

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

You do question the motivation of a post like this..........by someone who claimed to have visited in June 2023, and without a shred of a credible comment.........why do Trip Advisor think it is an appropriate review?

Meanwhile last week on Facebook a guest posted this.....

"Just enjoyed a fabulous stay over Easter at The Mermaid,which my ancestors owned back in the day!
Thank you for the tour Judith.
I came all the way from Australia for a visit and The Mermaid did not disappoint! Thank you for keeping the authenticity of the building, the ambience, the service & the dining experience was wonderful… 🧜🏿‍♀️"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2024

We didn't stay here but had an evening meal/drinks. Ths place is amazing and full of character as you would expect. Bar area was small and busy so be prepared. Evening meal - service was slow at times in my opinion so if you're in a rush or have somewhere else to go, maybe unsuitable. It didn't bother us. The food was amazing! This place is in the centre of Rye so a great location to explore. We also did the tour which was informative and enjoyable. Great experience and definitely worth a visit.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sidders67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2024

Enjoyed a lovely roast on Easter Sunday. Staff were friendly. The beef was great. The starters has a good selection too. Their complementary home made bread was special. All in all Very good value for money. The setting/history of the building is a must see.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OllieH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews