We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”
Review of White Vine House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Vine House
Ranked #12 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Me and couple of friends stayed at this fantastic hotel over the weekend and we were not disappointed one bit !! Javed and every member of his staff made us feel so accommodating !! The rooms were very large size in comparison to other hotels I have stayed at and have everything in it you could possibly want from iron to hairdryer and also little nibbles and treats and refreshments which was just a nice sentiment ! Breakfast was fantastic having many choices on the menu and really filled you up ! I would definately go back and stay there and wished I had stayed for longer !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 667AngelaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    42
    12
    12
    3
See reviews for
70
161
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is our second time at the White Vine and we absolutely love it, Javed always looks after us and makes you feel welcome. The hotel is worth every penny (especially the breakfast you get) I cant recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I recently stayed in the family suite with my wife and two daughters. I thought it was expensive until we arrived there. The room was very large and on the second floor, where it was nice and quiet. There was a very comfortable extra-large bed and a bed for each of our girls. Having two en-suite showers was a great help in getting everyone downstairs for breakfast on time!

The room was also equipped with iPod docks and enough televisions that our children could watch a film in their part of the room without disturbing us.

Breakfast was delicious with a great range to choose from. No big surprise that the girls especially enjoyed the pancakes with nutella! The hotel was very clean and the service from Javed and Judith was excellent, getting the perfect mix of being friendly, flexible and running the place in a professional manner. I had to have some documents printed and they did this without charging me. The free wi-fi worked well and was appreciated.

I enjoyed a good dinner in the restaurant (the Ambrette) with just my wife, as we were able to see our girls in the room thanks to the video monitors that were kindly provided (free of charge!). 
I’ve been in a lot of the large hotel chains but it was a very nice surprise to have this kind of service and all the extras included. No extra charge for using the credit card either. I have already booked another night there! As you guess from the review, we love the place!

Room Tip: for families definitely room 5. however if you get a chance without the kids then I'd say room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My friend and I like to treat ourselves to a weekend away now and again and this was our 3rd one and probably the most disappointing in terms of accommodation. We had very high hopes for this "hotel" having read many of the other reviews and in view of the cost. I'll start with the positives:
Great location, right on Rye High Street so fantastic for being able to mooch around the pretty little town of Rye and leave our cars in the very reasonable all day car park just down the road.
Javed and Judith were both very friendly and welcoming hosts.
The super king size bed in our room was very comfortable.
The toiletries provided in the bathrooms were nice and a selection of biscuits, chocolate bars and drink options were appreciated
Breakfast was excellent - nice choices on menu and what we had was very tasty and nicely cooked
Now for the negatives:
The "hotel" was accessed via the entrance into the restaurant and indeed a lot of focus seems to be on the restaurant with a table in the lobby area displaying all their awards etc. In this lobby there were some leather sofas so I presume it is meant to be some sort of lounge area for guests but it seemed to be the "back of house" area for the restaurant and was not private or at all appealing to sit in, really a wasted space. We had room 6 which was up the top of the house, although we appreciate it is an old house the area leading up to our room was very unattractive and unappealing with a boxed off area, dodgy wires and paintwork and a general air of neglect. Having been shown into the room one of the first things I noticed was a big yukky stain on the white sheets on the single beds. Mmmmm. Fortunately the super king size bed looked clean and big enough so that we could share it comfortably. There were 2 shower rooms, although some effort had been made to make these look "posh" the one room was quite small and dingy (which probably explained the glazed door which allowed in light but also ensured whoever was using that shower had no privacy). The other shower room was slightly nicer but overall the rooms had again an air of neglect, furniture was quite dusty and the "leather" sofa was not very appealing to sit on being squeezed into a tight corner. Furniture didn't match, the wrought iron theme of the beds and bedside tables fought with light wood mirrors, dark wood table for the tea-coffee making facilities and a pine wardrobe. There were no drawers anywhere in the room either. The bowl of milk cartons had biscuits and chocolate in which was a nice touch, but also some dust and bits and pieces - we had to wonder whether the room had actually been serviced since the previous people left it. Now none of this would have particularly bothered us had we been paying a reasonable room rate (although I do think cleanliness should be a given no matter what you're paying) but when you are paying £160 a night, yes £160 a night then I expect luxury, opulence and a cut above the average which this place really was not. I can only guess that because the room had 3 TV's, some IPOD docks and 2 shower rooms it was perceived as luxury, but to be honest I don't really go on holiday to watch TV! We had to re-read the reviews and we just could not understand why other people have found this place so amazing, the most honest and accurate review seems to be by the guy who says that this is really a restaurant with rooms.
When chatting with Javed as we booked out though we discovered he is possibly thinking of chucking it in and moving on so it may just be that he no longer has the interest and passion for this place that he once had, it certainly seems as though the restaurant is the main business here and the rooms are an incidental add on. Very disappointing as we had such high hopes from the reviews and from the price we paid :(

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Taffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in room 3 - it was a very reasonable cost for the standard of the room -incredibly comfy bed (gorgeous four-poster) and beautiful roll-top bath - and a lovely breakfast (excellent choice and quality, and catered to preferences). Javed, the owner, was very helpful and friendly. It was a special event (babymoon prior to little arrival in September) and our stay at this hotel made it even more special. We both thoroughly recommend. And the associated restaurant on the ground floor, Ambrette, is also well-worth a visit - sure it won't be long until it's Michelin starred! Was a real gem and we're both so pleased we chose it, and will definitely be returning.
Alex and Dean, stayed 9/11/2013

Room Tip: We stayed in number 3 - but all looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexBonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in room 6 and couldn't recommend it highly enough. We were travelling with our 2 year old and were made very welcome.
Room 6 was very large with twin beds and a large double.
There were lovely little touches in the rooms - chocolate, biscuits, dried fruit and fresh coffee.
The breakfast suited us perfectly and everything was cooked to order.
We walked from Rye to Camber sands along the cycle/walking path and our daughter really enjoyed getting up close to the sheep.

Thank you so much to Javed for making our stay so enjoyable

Room Tip: Room 6 is excellent with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thailandoct06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Do not be fooled by the classic Engish architecture and photos of the four poster bed, this is essentially a few rooms above an Indian Restuarant in Rye High Street. If you like Indian food, and in particular the smell of Indian cooking then that shouldn't be a problem, but if you don't, then it is a major issue because even if you decide to eat somewhere else (and I would definitely recommend that you do ) the smell of curry and spices seeps into everything; furnishings, bed linen, and of course your own clothes. On the plus side our bedroom was large and comfortable, and the breakfast and dining rooms are tastefully decorated. Also Javed who runs the B&B is clearly passionate about the place, works hard and delivers excellent customer service. The breakfast provided by Javed was also very, very good. But the dinner in the leased restuarant (out of his control I think) was just dire. It's trying too hard to be contemporary but no amount of funky, rectangular tablewear can disguise the fact that the fusion, food combinations just don't work and what you are left with is basically salty, over spiced, multi-coloured blobs of sludge. We were also charged £45 for a bottle of Le Fou Pinot Noir which retails at £7.50 - a complete rip-off. So a real mixed review. The hotel has nice rooms and a congenial host but it has no bar, no car parking (you have to park outside in the High Street and keep moving your car to avoid a ticket) and is on a busy road which is very noisy, even at 2.00 and 3.00 in the morning. But it is the restuarant which really lets it down. If you like Indian cuisine then it's probably an okay place to stay but if you don't then avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.0 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 39 in Rye
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hayden's
Hayden's
#5 of 39 in Rye
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Vine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Vine House

Property: White Vine House
Address: White Vine House 24 High Street, Rye TN31 7JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — White Vine House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the ancient Cinque Port town of Rye, the White Vine House's origins go back to the 13th century. We offer four double and two family rooms, each individually styled with meticulous attention to details. Flat panel TVs, Wi-Fi, fluffy towels and organic toiletries are only a few of the careful considerations. Come enjoy the friendly, relaxing atmosphere as can only be found at a family-run establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your White Vine House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Vine House Hotel Rye
White Vine House Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing