We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Model way to view Rye”

Rye Heritage Centre
Ranked #5 of 40 things to do in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A perfect way to discover Rye.The Rye Heritage Centre and Information Centre provides an ideal introduction to the town bringing together the story of Rye set within the famous Rye Town Model sound and light show. Historic and Ghost Audio Walking Tours are available for hire, with guided ghost tours available on selected dates during the winter months.The Heritage Centre is host to a fantastic working collection of Old Pier amusement machines, and has a variety of gifts, books and maps.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Model way to view Rye”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The heritage centre features a model of historic Rye and you can experience the history with a display of lights, sounds, music and narration. The seats were a bit hard, and the sound variable [but then I am getting quite deaf]. It was nevertheless an enteriaining way to learn about Rye and plan what I wanted to see. Also there was a wide range of information, maps etc available and things to entertain the kids - so well worth a visit - and its close to a car park, food shops, pubs and the riverside Strand.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    83
    18
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overview of Rye's history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We really enjoyed the town model and the commentary about the history of the town.It gave us a chance not only to understand the history of the town but to get our bearings in terms of what we'd like to concentrate on during our brief visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Staff weren't that interested BUT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

So, the staff weren't interested in what they were doing if i'm honest, it was like oh i have a job i dont have to bother. They spoke in a monotone voice but as a person who loves history it didnt really phase me.
We paid a few pounds to go into a 45 minute show (which isnt really appropriate for children if im honest so maybe for families with older children)
We paid to get a few headsets for the rye walk, they aren't cheap but the walk was AMAZING it took us through the old town up past really old sweet shops and a beautiful church, traditional tea shops and then we stopped at the very top of rye at a castle... boy was it beautiful! breathtaking!
The arcades were fun for little kids but maybe the old fashioned one with the old fashioned doll was scary...
Lots of history, breath taking sites and exercise while you are learning about the amazing history of Rye :3
im going again soon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestFoodReviewLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love the arcades”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Great little place to look at all the old style arcades £1 will get you 7 big pennies for you to use. It's great to see the difference from what we have now. The gift shop is nice but what youd get in most shops. There is a talk show thing that goes on but we didn't watch that. 2nd time being here and we still loved the machines

Helpful?
Thank sjayne89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A good insight to the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The model of the town is really worth seeing as it gives you a good overview of the area. The staff were very helpful and we did enjoy the old slot machine collection too

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LenBrownB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rye Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Rye Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing