We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and Chilled”

Giants Fireplace Bar at The Mermaid Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Nightlife in Rye
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy and Chilled”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This was the first place we headed for on a recent break from London and we were not disappointed. We chose a seat close to the huge open fire and warmed up from being out in the rain with our favourite tipples. Bar staff were friendly and talkative, locals kept themselves to themselves, which we didn't mind but in the evening when we returned we were upset to be interrupted by guests from the hotel who were on business. We travelled to Rye to get away from the hussle and bussle only to be confronted by rich business men (mostly) flaunting their cash, which was quite vulgar. This however is no fault of the bar/hotel itself and cannot be helped. We will return as always and enjoy the well poured drinks, wonderful open fire and it's surroundings.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trav123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    4
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“atmospheric and lovely fire”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Went into the Mermaid for a drink and a sandwich. Good sandwich. Lovely open fire. A very atmospheric pub and I would love to stay there but not alone

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beware of the seagulls! Good array of Spirits behind the bar.”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Had two drinks in August outside on the terrace. We were impressed by the staff scaring away any flighty birds who decided to visit. If I was a seagull, I'd rate it lowly for welcoming guests. But I'm not a seagull so it scores highly!
Good array of spirits behind the bar. Will visit again for drinks.

Helpful?
Thank btsmith_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon champage”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We visited this beautiful inn with our 3 month old son , staff are very helpfull and welcoming seeing has we had our baby with us , we ordered a glass of champagne each and sat and relaxed in the lovely lounge bar , comfortable and relaxing .
Would love to stay the night but scared of the ghosts and the price !
A lovely treat .

Helpful?
Thank catz2Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“An Ancient Inn Oozing with Character”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I loved the setting: Rye itself and Mermaid Street, the site of the Inn. We had a meal in the restaurant but a drink in the bar beforehand. There is a wonderful old fireplace in the bar which is absolutely enormous. The street outside is cobbled and all the houses have character. The Mermaid is like stepping into history - back into the fifteenth century! I had a feeling that the walls must have history to tell - maybe of smugglers. The dining room was wood-panelled and atmospheric. My partner ordered a beer and it was brought in a pewter tankard. I just love Rye and the Mermaid. They are fine examples of the marvellous historical places and buildings we have in this country. I can recommend without reservation.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PFNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giants Fireplace Bar at The Mermaid Inn also viewed

 
Rye, East Sussex
Winchelsea, Rye
 

Been to Giants Fireplace Bar at The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing