We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second Valentine's break here.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Thurston...
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second Valentine's break here.”
Reviewed 22 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Again bottle of presseco and card waiting for us when we turned up. Another great break time to chill and unwind just what the doctor ordered. My girlfriend said this place should be on prescription weather wasn't great but it didn't spoil it, will be here again.

Thank you again
Peter & Karen

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
I like the prescription idea... We certainly notice a change for the better in many guests once they've had a chance to unwind and relax, as like many people we all fill our lives up, and rarely stop. The hot tub and pool certainly are great aids in helping to relax and unwind, but a day at the beach or a wander around the junk shops in the Old Town of Hastings is also a useful tonic. This part of East Sussex has many landscapes and so 'a change of scene' is always guaranteed - if not the weather! (But you did experience the hot tub in the rain - which is probably on someone's bucket list)! See you again sometime soon. Peter & Karen,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Feb 2018
Thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your short midweek break, and managed to play a little volleyball in the indoor pool as well as use the hot tub - ideal if the weather is a little 'changeable'. We hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Debra I
1 review
“Fab stay at Blackthorn”
Reviewed 31 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Had a wonderful but wet weekend at such a lovely property. Great to be away from it all, hot tub was marvellous looking at the stars.All very clean, Peter soo very helpful, we hope to return soon. Just go and enjoy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2018
Many thanks for your sweet review. Yes, the weather was grim wasn't it? I just wish I could fix the weather, but at least with an indoor pool guests can have fun undercover - and plan to get wet! For the interest of future guests: Rye has a beautiful, independent 2 x screen cinema, and St Leonard's has an impressive, shabby chic cinema housed in an art gallery with restaurant attached. Other indoor places I like are The Heritage Centre at Rye's Quay with the old town model and vintage penny machines; and in Hastings old town is The Fishermen's Museum and Shipwreck Museum. Hopefully Debra, you'll be able to enjoy some Sussex sunshine if you return. The area comes alive in summer! Thanks again for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellin...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfection - our best trip together.”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We've just enjoyed an incredible 3 night break at Blackthorn for our anniversary and can't stop talking about it - I want to recommend this place to anyone that will listen! Peter is an excellent host and took really good care of us. Him and Karen have really thought about everything to ensure the most relaxing and enjoyable stay for their guests. The decor is stunning, the kitchen is completely equipped, the bed is so so comfortable, the views across the land are lovely, the log fire is a great cosy touch. What really made it was the private hot tub and swimming pool, you are even supplied with plastic wine glasses to enjoy drinks in the tub - really everything has been thought of!! If you are hesitating about booking Blackthorn DON'T - book it now!!!! Such great value and our best trip together yet - thank you Peter & Karen, sure we will see you soon! :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2017
Thanks 'TravellinMeg' for such a great plug! I think you've covered everything about staying here, with the exception perhaps of our immediate surroundings: we are fortunate to live in a part of East Sussex that is bursting with things to do and places to visit. Ok, in winter there are less places to visit, but there are still a number of beautiful old towns to explore, lots of country pubs with home-cooked food and roaring log fires to enjoy, and endless footpaths heading in all directions to discover, plus three coastlines within 10 miles of Blackthorn stretching from Camber sands to the cliffs at Hastings old town. The cottage is the perfect cosy retreat for winter complete with a bubbling hot tub and heated indoor pool! We look forward to welcoming you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazzy-Baz...
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blackthorn - an amazing gem of a cottage!”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

To be able to review this I need to give it more than 5 stars, it was one of the best... no actually THE best cottage we have found for the two of us to stay in!

The cottage is bright, modern, clean and well-equipped. The garden is beautiful with great views of the countryside.

The host Peter left a brolley in the car park for us after texting us to pre-warn us it was raining and we had forgotten ours, despite the rain he showed us how to use the outdoor hot tub and told us about local places to visit.

The hot tub was amazing, every night after an hour of playing water volleyball in the pool we sat outside in the tub and watched the rain and stars.

The cottage, facilities (pool, hot tub and shower room) and the kind hosts made this a wonderful 25th wedding anniversary getaway and we hope to return next year.

This was a special short stay in an outstanding cottage - thank you both so much!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
Wow Karen, you've brought a tear to my eye with your generous and glowing review! Thank you so much. I'm sorry you had wet weather but you made the most of it with all the things you did, helped along with your positivity! Having the heated indoor pool is a great asset if the weather turns, but even in sunshine it's good to be in there as the sun pours through the south-facing glazed floor-to-ceiling windows and doors. Yes, please try and return, and thanks again for the lovely review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Thanks for your review - short and sweet, but I appreciate your great feedback, and hope to welcome you again soon! As you are looking to buy in the area you will already know what a special part of East Sussex this is with so much on our doorstep: a varied coastline, beautiful villages and historic towns, and many National Trust properties to enjoy, but there is still so much more to see and do if guests can stay longer...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stephen k
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Blackthorn cottage”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic three days at blackthorn. Huge thanks to both Karen & Peter for all the local advice and for being the perfect hosts. Three days of total relaxation in beautiful countryside with the added bonus of our own pool and hot tub. Ideally located for day trips to a lot of Sussex attractions we would totally recommend this holiday. Peter I think you should consider changing blackthorn's name to Elysium cottage. Thanks again hope to see you both again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2017
Many thanks for the glowing review. We hope you're cold has now gone? It certainly didn't stop you enjoying your time here which was a relief. Yes, plenty of places to visit and things to do. This part of (1066) East Sussex is naturally rich in History but also has many fine, country houses with magnificent gardens, expansive sand dunes, dramatic shingle beaches, and stunning cliff tops to enjoy too. Inland is also the picturesque Bodiam Castle, Great Dixter, the Kent and East Sussex Railway, and Kipling's Batemans, to name just a few... You'll just have to come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing